Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

SILVERSTONE MT-117 EXTREME TYRES

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 18:07

Timbobaroobob

Has anyone used/abused a set of these new tyres from silverstone yet, i am very interested about getting a set for my 80 series.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 20939 Replies: 4
Views: 11025 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 101028   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 20:00

Member - Raymond replied:

Timbobaroobo
My son run MT117 on his GQ and they are awesome off road and behave surprisingly well on Road for what are Mud tyres. On how long they will last we do not know. The MT117 extreme's are much less aggressive
Ray
Reply 1 of 4
AnswerID: 101147   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 17:16

BenSpoon replied:

If you are in perth, go check out the tyre bloke around the corner, but in the same building as Michelles Sacs. Hes running them on his 80 and is stoked with them, saying they are excellent for rock and mud work and quieter and more predictable on road than BF Muds.
Apparently their only drama is they dig down really well in sand.

(for the record, he sells BFs and the full range of offroad brands, so he had nothing to gain from the plug he gave them)
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 359170   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 20:07

Timbobaroobob posted:

Is he running the mt117 extreme or the mt117 sports? the sports are more like bfg mudders. the extremes look similar to simex jungle trekkers or centipedes, so they are quite aggressive
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 359456   Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 10:10

BenSpoon posted:

They didnt look too similar to BF muds- they had larger spaces between tread blocks and the blocks themselves were larger- thats what made them stand out from any other tyre on a 4by.

Having just checked the website they are the 117 sports- certainly more aggressive than muds.
117 sport

If you do get yourself a pair, let us know how they go- after hearing they had 3-ply side walls im keen on a set myself.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 101177   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 20:58

GO_OFFROAD replied:

The tread pattern works well, but the sidewall may be only marginally stronger than a Cooper or BF, but for the price, compared to other extreme tyres, they seem to be the goods.

We are the Geelong/Western Vic dist for these particular tyres.
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 359304   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:52

desert posted:

What sizes do they come in for 16" rims?
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 359313   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:02

GO_OFFROAD posted:

35 x 10.5 and 35 x 11.5
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 101276   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 22:23

Big Woody replied:

Hey Timbobaroobob,

I have just worn out a set of the Silverstone MT-117 Extremes on my GQ Patrol and they have done 50,000 km's which I don't think is too bad. Good tyre off-road and no problems on wet bitumen either.
Good luck,

Brett
Reply 4 of 4
FollowupID: 359302   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 19:51

Timbobaroobob posted:

cool, thanks for the info mate. i only plan to use them as a second set anyway for weekend trips/bashes in the bush, rocks and mud and whatever else i can get into down here in tassie.i am getting the 35x10.5R16s for about $230 each, good price i reckon as they reckon $330 retail or something. helps to know the tyre bloke
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Flight- 40 minute Sky Blazer Flight- 40 minute Sky Blazer
Hunter Valley - NSW
40 minute flight in a Pitts Special beginning with a cruise over the Lower Hunter Valley followed by
Skywalk Experience Skywalk Experience
Sydney - NSW
Experience stunning views for miles as you climb to the top of Sydney Tower, the tallest building in
Bay Watch on a Harley Davidson® - NSW Bay Watch on a Harley Davidson® - NSW
Sydney - NSW
This is arguably the best way to spend 60 minutes in Sydney.
Highlander Food Trail Tour Highlander Food Trail Tour
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
A day of sightseeing with Food Trail Tours explores the varied landscapes and what local food &
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website