Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

OT - Wind up the POMs

Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 09:23

Member - Ivan (ACT)

Yes I know this is childish, but if we didn't get so much fun out of winding up the English we would stop doing it, wouldn't we?

It's that time of the year again for Australians to play havoc with an online vote. This time around its being conducted by the London Development Agency who want the public to name the new bridge which will lead up to The new Wembley Stadium.

Go onto this link and vote for the name of the new Wembley Pedestrian Bridge to be "The John Eales Bridge"

Link is here

Pass this on to everyone!!

Do your best!

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
100 Series LandCruiser V8 (2005)
Advertisement
ThreadID: 20953 Replies: 9
Views: 804 FollowUps: 8
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 101092   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 10:25

Member - Karl replied:

I put my vote in for John Eales and I have passed this on.
My new scoop
Click Image to Enlarge
Everyone is entitled to my opinion!!
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 359231   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 18:28

Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. posted:

Yup ,
I did it too,
Willie

Click Image to Enlarge
Grey Gnomad

To be blunt, I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 101122   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 13:43

greydemon replied:

Love it!

Vote registered, link passed on.
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 359162   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 18:51

Member - Russell B (SA) posted:

Will "skippy" - "not british" fit the bill.

And I haven't even been drinking either.

Silly POMS

Russell
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 101128   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:05

Utemad replied:

I got this email too. Funniest email I've received in a long time.
Reply 3 of 9
FollowupID: 359124   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:10

Member - Ivan (ACT) posted:

Mate, the funniest thing! - is it's fair dinkum ;-)

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 359130   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:48

Utemad posted:

I know. I voted and forwarded the email :-)

Would be funny if this gets a mention on their website when the votes are tallied.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 101131   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:33

Member - Bradley replied:

Voted for, pot stirred :-))

Click Image to Enlarge
On the lookout for 98 onwards v6 auto jack.
Reply 4 of 9
FollowupID: 359131   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 14:56

Member - Alan posted:

I voted to call it Jonny's Bridge cos he shoved it up the Aussies at the World Cup!
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Sea Kayak half day - Melbourne (Williamstown) Sea Kayak half day - Melbourne (Williamstown)
Melbourne - VIC
Special 10% off - Get a taste for what sea kayaking is all about without having to travel out of Mel
14,000ft Tandem Skydive - Byron Bay 14,000ft Tandem Skydive - Byron Bay
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
See Byron Bay from 14,000ft whilst experiencing the feel of freefall in a skydiving tandem jump high
Solo Skydiving - Brisbane Solo Skydiving - Brisbane
Brisbane - QLD
Skydive and feel the ultimate feeling of going solo as you jump out of your plane and freefall from
Hunter Vintage Winetasters Tour Hunter Vintage Winetasters Tour
Hunter Valley - NSW
Journey by mini coach or 4WD through the peaceful Watagan Mountains, looking out for wildlife, to th
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 101187   Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 22:57

Chaba replied:

Ivan,

Reluctantly voted for it... although "Tana Umanga Bridge" (yeh yeh, expat Kiwi, love sheep and all that stuff) was my personal choice, but then I wouldn't feel comfortable asking you the the following question...

I'm driving the same rig as your good self and was looking at some Tough Dog suspension. Did you look at this gear before making your decision???

Chaba.
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 359190   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 05:56

Mate,

Never looked at Toughdog... - tried OME for six months, and then rode in GO_OFFROAD's 90 series. (Lovells/Bilsteins)

After that, I didn't want to try anything else (because they would have been an 'unknown', whereas the L&B were a 'known' quantity.

Very happy

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 101199   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 09:09

timglobal replied:

I have tentatively named it Rugby World Cup 2003, since references to the Bledisloe, Tri-Nations or Calcutta Cup would be as pointless to Wembley as they are to the ARU.

For Oz comedy value, I'd suggest Campo would be a far funnier name for it. Also, Wembley is the home of soccer, not rugby so the whole gag will be lost on their intellect anyway.

That should stir the pot in the other direction.

ROTFL

Tim

ps - What weighs two tonnes, lives in N Sydney and echoes with its emptiness...

...the ARU trophy cabinet
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 101200   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 09:17

Patrolman Pat replied:

Now now you colonial types. Leave our bridge alone or we might send Camilla to live over here to get even.
Reply 7 of 9
AnswerID: 101219   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 14:40

Steve replied:

you can get every ocker in the world to send in John Eales' name but not many people would know who he is. England winning the World Cup may have lifted Rugby's profile over there but a real "footballer" (as opposed to an egg-chaser) is more likely to get the accolade. Rugby is and always will be a minority sport compared with football
Reply 8 of 9
FollowupID: 359217   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 16:15

You had me confused where you talk about football - but then I realised you mean soccer ;-)

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 101286   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 06:36

Steve replied:

nah, I mean the game you play with your feet, hence "football".
Reply 9 of 9
FollowupID: 359359   Submitted: Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 09:52

Brian posted:

What about all the flatheaded continental and old Dart types who have had the misfortune to head that wet soccer ball ??!!! Can hardly call it pure football
Go St Kilda Saints
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website