Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

80 series CV joints

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 10, 2002 at 00:00

Derek

Are there any experts out there who can help me with determining if a front CV joint from an 80 series is U/S. A friends 80 series developed a loud ratcheting noise in the front RHS of his diff on full lock in 4wd. As the car had used car warranty through a Toyota dealership, both axles were replaced and the noise went. I now have the old RH front axle stripped and cleaned, and apart from a little marking around the ball race and a bit of end float, can't find anything that would cause such a loud noise. I've been told this is usually the case. Is this true? I would have expected ovality of the balls (no jokes please) or a flogged out race. Any help with tell-tale signs would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Derek.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 2332 Replies: 3
Views: 856 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 8378   Submitted: Monday, Nov 11, 2002 at 00:00

Truckster replied:

Take a run past either a mechanic, Toyota Dealer, or a CV specialist for best answer.

Fairly hard to determine on the net, but sounding like its cactus to me. If you have his old one and it was the one that was replaced, and his noise stopped when it was replaced, I think you answer your own question... here.

YMMV
Reply 1 of 3
AnswerID: 8391   Submitted: Monday, Nov 11, 2002 at 00:00

Goran replied:

Derek, just because you can't see the damage does not meen it is not there. I just replaced front CV on Camry that belongs to my wife and it was the same story. I had the damned thing out twice and could not see any problems with it. I relaced it and the noise stoped permanently. Your CV is cactus mate, dump it.
Reply 2 of 3
AnswerID: 8393   Submitted: Monday, Nov 11, 2002 at 00:00

mudgutz replied:

a little bit of end float in your hand ..translates to big bloody clicking niose under two tonnes of car and 350 plus nm of torque in your mates 80 .........that axle/cv is cactus.......
Reply 3 of 3
FollowupID: 4093   Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 12, 2002 at 00:00

Derek posted:

Thanks everyone for your feedback. This confirms what I've heard about clapped out CV joints. Derek.
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions