Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Buying a troopy

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 18:06

Sal

I am looking for a bit of help in buying a troopy. I am interested in a 88-90 model troopy (preferably will be diesel). What are some things that I should look for (faults, common problems like rust in certain areas, oil leaks etc) for these particular models? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
ThreadID: 23537 Replies: 5
Views: 763 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 114116   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 18:47

J.T. replied:

Have had a troopy for five years and its been no trouble since weve had it.Would reccomend gearbox be test driven from cold to check gear changes and clutch shudder.Check hubs and tranfer case operate ok.{on grass or sand}For diesel check service history and perhaps a compression test.Have a look at as many troopys as you can to get a good idea of whats out there.I think on earlier models they crack near the windscreen side supports.good luck
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 114139   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 21:18

Member - mikeyandmary (NSW) replied:

Check for rust EVERYWHERE!!! We used to have an 85 petrol troopy, beautiful vehicle but rust was a problem. The most important places to check are the roof, especially around the gutter area and the panels behind the rear wheels.

BTW... get a diesel. Even with diesel being more expensive per litre, you will save heaps on fuel costs.
Have fun... Stay safe...
Michael and Mary
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 114149   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 21:48

Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) replied:

go to the top of the forum page and at the top is the search function at the left side of the bar is the search post number type in 19336 and push the go button direcly below it. Here you will find my answer to the exact same question. Although it refers to a 1hz all the same checks apply to the earlier 2h powerd ones expect to pay between 6 and 10 for on of that vintage. For 10 you would be expecting something in very good nick with a lot of extras such as duel battery, roo bar aftermarketr suspension winch etc etc. I tried o cut and paste my answer from this post but you cant do it for some reason
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 114207   Submitted: Friday, Jun 03, 2005 at 10:21

Troopy Travellers (NSW) replied:

Hi Sal. I have a 4l petrol 1989 troopy & very happy with it. Send me an email to: troopyz@hotmail.com if you would like me to tell you all about my troopy.
Sparky

Click Image to Enlarge
Where to go and what to see next........?
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Kangaroo Island Cruise Kangaroo Island Cruise
Adelaide - SA
Sea voyage the Backstairs Passage from spectacular Cape Jervis to this sailing shipwreck island, hom
Melbourne Sports Tour with Eureka Sky Deck Melbourne Sports Tour with Eureka Sky Deck
Melbourne - VIC
Explore Melbourne, The Sports Capital of Australia.
Facial Treatment - 60 Minutes Facial Treatment - 60 Minutes
Canberra - INT
'Face' it, this is a great gift and everyone 'nose' that we're not just being 'cheeky'!
Mountain Bike Guided Cycling Tour For Four Mountain Bike Guided Cycling Tour For Four
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Get closer to nature on an exhilarating mountain bike tour of some of the most incredible natural bu
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 114312   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 04, 2005 at 07:48

Peter 2 replied:

If you can afford it go for a 90 model or later with the 1HZ 4.2 litre, having had both an 87 and a 90 the later engine is better.
The later models are also reinforced in the A pillars which are prone to breaking right off if the vehicle has been used with a roofrack on rough roads. Look for water leaks in the footwells, if any moisture walk away. Another give away is signs of movement between the windscreen rubber and the surrounding metal.
Madigan Line 07
Click Image to Enlarge
1988 M1026 Humvee
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website