Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

HF Frequencies

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 21:41

Jim-Bob

G'day All
I've just purchased a secondhand Codan 8525 HF radio with a Multi Tapped whip antenna by Terlin Outbacker.
This is the list of frequencies on the antenna, could anyone please advise me of who the frequencies are for, e.g. R.F.D.S., VKS737 or "HF Radio Club".
3995 -4010/30 -5105/35/45 -5300/60 -5410 -7899 -11487 -14662.
I am sure that 3995 is VKS737 and 5410 is RFDS in Alice Springs but as far as the rest go I don't know.
Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in addvance.
Safe travells.
Jim-Bob.
ThreadID: 23547 Replies: 2
Views: 808 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 114163   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 22:29

DMECH replied:

jim f/doc 4010 vkj pt headland/vnz pt auguster/vjy darwin
4030 f/d vkl pt. headland 5105?? 5135?? 5145?? 5300 f/d derby/cairns
5360 f/d kalgoorlie 5410?? 7899??11487?? 14662??
freq. on my codan are 4010 4030 4045 5360 6880 5300 [5455 vks737-1]
2020 [ 8022 vks737-2] [ 14977 vks-4]
most flying doc. chanels arn't much use any more
chanels to go for [most used ] are vks 8022 [ main one] and 5455 vks737

on our trips we only used 8022 mainly and 5045 ocasionly
could getout to perth from top end QLD. no problems hope this some help

ps i use terlin m/tap 4 taps cover vks ect except 14677 and 4010 4030 5360 5300

Reply 1 of 2
AnswerID: 114164   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2005 at 22:31

Tim HJ61 (WA) replied:

Hi Jim-Bob,

In the users files section of the Codan group http://groups.yahoo.com/group/codan_outback_radio/VKS737 website is helpful and naturally you have to be a member to use their service.

There an amatuer HF club that makes antennas too http://www.qsl.net/vk3frc/club_projects.htm and I've just ordered one to suit all the VKS frequencies to replace my portable dipole which I got realise was just a bit of a pain to set up just to say hello to someone.

Tim

Click Image to Enlarge
12H-T on 100% WVO
Reply 2 of 2
FollowupID: 373110   Submitted: Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 22:14

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

Tim, Please ensure you use a spring with this antenna. I recently had a hairline facture in the wire of one of these antennas which rendered it useless until repaired. It was factured a couple of inches from the base, any easy repair but I got caught short in the bush without the necessary equipment. I assume the facture was caused by the extreme whipping around on rough tracks, the wire is very thin. Silly me has a spring but never bothered to use it.

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 373111   Submitted: Monday, Jun 27, 2005 at 22:18

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

That's a fracture.....struth I did it twice...hahahaha....to much coka cola

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 373148   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 28, 2005 at 09:57

Tim HJ61 (WA) posted:

Thanks Ray,

Have spring fitted. Not planning to keep antenna mounted and will attach it for a sked. Heading of this morning for Warburton, Alice and the Simpson Rig Road. :-)

Tim

Click Image to Enlarge
12H-T on 100% WVO
FollowUp 3 of 3

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions