Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

1995 Triton TD are they any good?

Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 13:47

ZTG

I am still looking for a 4x4 that I want to buy, and a mates brother in law is selling a 1995 Triton 2.5 turbo deisel.
I dont know much about the tritons so thought I would get your thoughts.
it is a duel cab ute, 265000 on the clock but I know this guy and he is very thorough with servicing, so not too worried about the high kms.

any imput would be appreciated

Zach
Advertisement
ThreadID: 24420 Replies: 7
Views: 743 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 118765   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 14:12

vitara replied:

Hi ZTG my mate had a pajero diesel manual 2.5 turbo blew 3 head gaskets with in 150.000klms apparently common probs with that motor,had it serviced by the book. Dont know if anyone else has had the same probs or even if this is the same motor as in the triton or maybe his was just a lemon from the start, His was a 94 model . Take Care Vitara I put this in the forum on friday I think it was but I had it as a 97 and a 2.8 Just spoke to him to get my facts write first. Take Care Vitara
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 118778   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 15:43

desert replied:

Head gaskets are a bit of a trouble area. Low range gearing is pitiful and you need a 100 hectare paddock to be able to turn the bastard around. Ok for back road occassional 4x4'ing, but forget about serois mountain climbing, there are better things around for that.
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 118795   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 17:26

Member -Dodger replied:

DON'T
Parked at Boroka Lookout
Click Image to Enlarge
Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.
Regards Dodg.
Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 373979   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 17:32

ZTG posted:

any particular reason?
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 373980   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 17:38

Member -Dodger posted:

Have had 2 mates with them and they had GRIEF big time.
Parked at Boroka Lookout
Click Image to Enlarge
Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.
Regards Dodg.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 373981   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 17:41

ZTG posted:

ok, thanks for the input

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 118810   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 18:31

garrycol replied:

My brother has had a 94 model for about 7 years and has not had any problems - goes and rides pretty well - can pull a big trailer at an acceptable speed.
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Learn To Surf - 2 hours - VIC Learn To Surf - 2 hours - VIC
Great Ocean Road - VIC
There's only one way to get started with surfing and that's to get in the water!
4 Hour Cruise For 20 people on Sydney Harbour 4 Hour Cruise For 20 people on Sydney Harbour
Sydney - NSW
How about treating yourself to cruising the beautiful Sydney Harbour with an experienced skipper, fr
Aussie Rules Footy - With a local host Aussie Rules Footy - With a local host
Melbourne - VIC
Experience the unique Australian game of football with a local host to explain the rules, bumps &
Ballooning & Vineyard Breakfast - Brisbane Ballooning & Vineyard Breakfast - Brisbane
Brisbane - QLD
Experience the romance & wonder of ballooning & afterwards enjoy champagne & a delicious
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 118848   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:39

hilux bert replied:

forget it! how bout a nive '00 x-cab hilux. 2.7p. full bar work. excellent condition. really nice guy selling it.
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 118855   Submitted: Monday, Jul 04, 2005 at 21:49

Eric Experience. replied:

Zach.
The 2.5 triton is a basic honest machine. It handles the onroad driving the best of that model utes. it does struggle abit on rough ground but is reliable and comfortable. I have 5 4x4 vehicles the triton is the one I drive the most. Eric.
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 118947   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 05, 2005 at 15:28

G.T. replied:

I purchased a 1994 TD 2.5 model in 1997. It had 35000km when purchased , traded it in at 159000km. It was abit gutless on long hills eg Mooney Mooney north of Sydney. I found the seats too hard on a long trip , getting a numb bum in the process. Had to get the glow plugs replaced at 100000 km , they were $100.00 each. Took the dealer at Waitara a week to get them, no offer of overnight service. I was`nt overly impressed. No other troubles, just the routine services.
It did not see a lot of off road work however, mainly blacktop Km`s
Regards G.T.
Reply 7 of 7