Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

"Disposable" Ice Block maker - GLAD product

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 13:52

Oz Explorer

Years ago there was a product - I think Glad made it- that you could make small ice blocks (suitable to use in drinks). They were sheets of plastic with pockets in them. I think you filled up each bag in 1 section and chucked them in the freezer. You'de break the plastic to get the ice blocks out.
I personally didn't use them so am not sure of above.
But they would be so handy camping.
I haven't been able to find them in my local supermarket. Does anyone know if you can still buy them?
Advertisement
ThreadID: 25280 Replies: 5
Views: 600 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 123345   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 14:13

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) replied:

Glad to help

Friends had some on a recent trip and they were great...just need a freezer now!

Yes - Luke's got a bigger one than me
Click Image to Enlarge
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 378422   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 15:57

porl posted:

Are they re-useable ? I looked at some a while ago but you had to break open the plastic to get to the cubes and so couldn't re-use which seemed such a waste of plastic.
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 378425   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 16:45

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) posted:

You chuck them away after use...but they are guaranteed to last 100000 years in landfill.. LOL Probably you can recycle them.

Yes - Luke's got a bigger one than me
Click Image to Enlarge
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 378429   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 17:05

Nudenut posted:

you mean they'll last longer than willem?

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 378444   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:54

scott111 posted:

Bunnings in Perth have them
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 123347   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 14:29

Oz Explorer replied:

Thanks for the info. We're in the country and either I'm blind or our local supermarket doesn't supply them. May have to look futher afield!
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 123371   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 16:41

Member - Athol (NSW) replied:

I use them all the time great for the bourbon and because they are flexable they take up little room in the freezer, the missus gets them at Woolies I think. Oh, I've got a 60lt eva-kool fridge feezer.

Athol
I'm not getting old,
There's no future in it !!
Athol.

Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 123373   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 16:50

Member - Robyn J (QLD) replied:

We use them when travelling. Great for the scotch. We were able to get them in a number of places in WA as I had to replace them during our 3month trip.
Jenkie
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Noosa Everglades Discovery BBQ Lunch Cruise Noosa Everglades Discovery BBQ Lunch Cruise
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Experience a full day tour cruising the beautiful Noosa River, Lakes and Everglades and explore the
Abseiling - 4 hours Abseiling - 4 hours
Blue Mountains - NSW
Learn to abseil right in the heart of the spectacular Blue Mountains.
12 Lap WRX Rally Experience + 1 hot lap - QLD 12 Lap WRX Rally Experience + 1 hot lap - QLD
Brisbane - QLD
Find out what rally driving is all about as you take a Subaru WRX for a 12 lap spin around our rally
Beginner Belly Dancing Classes - 10 weeks Beginner Belly Dancing Classes - 10 weeks
Adelaide - SA
Leave the cares of the world outside as you learn to shimmy and sway to the hypnotic beat of Middle-
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 123404   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:47

Member - Blue (VIC) replied:

I got mine at Coles, Knox City Shopping Centre... Single use only, recycleable though.

Click Image to Enlarge
Puritanism: The haunting fear that someone, somewhere may be happy.
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website