Diesel Vehicles Freezing in the Snow

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:17
ThreadID: 25506 Views:7665 Replies:17 FollowUps:18
Go Auto news has published an article re the alarming amount of new diesel vehicles that have had to be towed off the snow mountains recently due to the diesel in their tanks being frozen. There has also been much discussion re the solution and the cause of the problem, the diesel fuel in Australia, the use of an Alpine Blend that may contain heater oil etc etc . I read this article back to front and heard everybodys storys , what is the practical solution..?? It occurred with both European and Japanese vehicles and gum contained in the diesel was often the blame. It was costing $200-300 to tow the vehicles off the mountain and theb mechanics were having to de-freeze the vehicles with large inudstrial heaters and often having to replace filters etc.

What is the recommended approach/solution to this problem...?

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:24

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:24
Move to WA, there is no snow here. LOL.

When I lived in the ACT and we went up to the snow line we used to put in the Alpine blend and never had problem.
AnswerID: 124633

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:37

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:37
It was below zero one night in Perth recently and that is low enough to have wax problems with diesel !
FollowupID: 379587

Reply By: OtherBrother - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:33

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:33
TerraFirma,

Check out the info provided here on BP Web site , particularly the "Winter Diesel Problem Summary" document.

AnswerID: 124636

Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:43

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 16:43
as you can tell from teh Rig Pic.. i like the snow. my car is petrol so i don't have the problem.. but comments as follows >>
as mentioned above, the use of 'alpine' diesel helps alot with the 'non-freezing' of diesel in tanks...
i think the problem only occurs when the cars are left in the snow overnight or for longer periods (say 2-3 days) of time.. which allows both the snow to come in contact with the fuel tank.. getting it colder quicker.. and hence hepliong the freezing cycle...
soution 1 - use alpine diesel
solution 2 - move to WA as mentioned above
solution 3 - buy a petrol 4by
solution 4 - don't leave your car 'in' the snow for long periods of time (atleast start it every afternoon)
solution 5 - if visiting perisher blue in nsw.. drive your car to bullocks flat and catch the skitube !..
AnswerID: 124639

Reply By: See You - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:26

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:26
diesel can gel in 15 minutes if it is cold enough outside. It is caused by the fuel getting cold and turning to gel. It very rarely occurrs in the fuel tank itself. It usually only occurs in the fuel lines between the tank and the engine due to the thin volume.

The solution is really simple. just fill up with Alpine diesel just before you get to the entry to the resort. You will need to have about 75% of the tank Alpine diesel so travel on a near empty tank and fill up at the last town.

I am sure that a lot of diesels are gelling up in Victoria at the moment as it is snowing down to sea level.
AnswerID: 124654

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:40

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:40
Yep,I've got photo's of snow in Tarralgon today!

But I'm a firm believer in the other solution,

Move to WA.

Acutally no, we don't want all you buggers crowding us out, stay in the snow! ;-)
FollowupID: 379540

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:44

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:44
Exactly!

Get to the nearest town (Cooma, Berridale or Jindabyne for the NSW skiers) and fill up on Alpine diesel. Make sure you do a fair number of kilometers to get it through the fuel lines.

If tou run a common-rail diesel like I do - then it's DOUBLY important to make sure you do this, as injector pressures are up around the 23,000psi mark and they don't appreciate sludge for breakfast the next morning.
FollowupID: 379542

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:10

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:10
Wow those pressures are high Chrispy? I assume you are talking about an EFI diesel? Never had much to do with them but most conventional (mechanical) diesels run between 2000 - 5000 psi (130 - 400 bar)
FollowupID: 379684

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:49

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:49
Fisho -

These are the new common-rail diesel injector pressures - and mine, being "second generation" are now quite low at 1,586 bar. The 3rd gen pressures are up around the 26,000psi (1,793 bar) mark.

Take a CRD for a spin - you'll swear it was a petrol motor - and a good one at that.

FollowupID: 379690

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 23:02

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 23:02
Havent really taken much notice of that technology as I have never had to work on them. What I was getting at more was that common rail does not necessarily mean electronic, and I hadnt come across any mechanical pump using those sorts of pressures.
FollowupID: 379728

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:52

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:52
Plenty of snow about in Tassie today.
An old Rodeo I used to have gelled up the fuel in a small inline fuel filter I had in it but not from snow but one of Tassie's great Frosts.Vehicle was parked under a tree and about 5min on way to work she conked out.Went bac in my lunch break , fired it up and away I went
AnswerID: 124661

Reply By: herkman - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:54

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 18:54
Mercedes Benz, in the operators handbook for the ML270. lists the amount of keresene that should be added to avoid this problem.

In Europe this is their solution to the problem.

Col Tigwell
AnswerID: 124662

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 19:06

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 19:06
Yep - same goes in my Jeep manual. Same engine! :)
FollowupID: 379547

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 19:53

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 19:53
I'll second that. Iveco in their (truck) manual in Europe says up to 50%kerosene in diesel depending on temperature. I forgot the exact proportions, but 50% was like for -35 degC or so - I'd keep to max 20% kerosene for ski trips here.

When kerosene was not available we used petrol (10% or so).

Better still, you could find bottles of additives at most petrol stations - pour it in the tank, do another 30km to mix it and fill the fuel lines, and that's it.

Very cold mornings and "untreated" diesel: wood fire under the tank - I've seen it done on trucks, would NOT recommend though. Plus heating up the filters with steam, hot water etc.

I don't have these kind of problems any more though - here in Cairns;-)))
FollowupID: 379552

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:06

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:06
Many years ago Toyota sold a diesel additive that "converted" summer mix diesel into winter mix, among other benefits. Not sure if it's still available.
When I left for the snowy I'd add it in the prescribed amounts. My 2H Troopy spent many a week in Perisher Valley (yes, it was winter) with both tanks quarter full of diesel bought in Newcastle without problems.

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 124676

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 22:10

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 22:10
Was in Suoercheap yesterday, they had brochures on the fornt coutner from Shell, one of the bottles of you-beaut stuff for sale was an additive which is designed, "to help cold weather starting and running"

May be of use, other than that add about 5% unleaded to the tank

Rolande
FollowupID: 379724

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:28

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:28
Surely there must be a simple fix to this that is used in Europe.

Europe has an extremely high % of diesel vehicles and a large portion of Europe is under snow for months on end. Do they use different fuel? What is in it that makes it work?

The thought of adding kero or petrol (they are much more volatile than diesel) would worry me if I owned a diesel. You would be changing the chemical make up of the fuel. But what would I know? Just thoughts.
AnswerID: 124682

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:44

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:44
What can I add to my split air con unit as it's freezing up as I type lol

Leroy
AnswerID: 124689

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:53

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 20:53
Petrol or kero should brighten up your night ..... :-)
FollowupID: 379577

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:04

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 21:04
this might scare one or two of you, but in England you'd see truckers light a little fire under the truck. The more cautious would carry a little parrafin heater.
AnswerID: 124691

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:27

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:27
Chilly night in Perth tonight - it's 9 degrees...... Might have to turn the heater on.

I remember seeing a TV show about a guy going to all the extreme places in the world. The trip to the coldest place meant they lit a fire and heated not only the fuel tank but the diff, axle bearings, any moving part, with a flaming torch. I 'think' it was an air cooled diesel engined vehicle they were driving. Seemed to 'fire' up okay with all of this. Battery must have been pretty good too.

Tim
AnswerID: 124710

Reply By: Trekkie - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:59

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:59
Karl, Goeff M & Tim
Stop telling all the Easterners about our secret state
If they all come over here we will not be able to go bush without being inundated by them

Keep it to ourselves
AnswerID: 124720

Reply By: arthurking83 - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 23:47

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 23:47
Yeah! all diesel owners should move to WA (the ski season is very short though!)

Why would you have reservations about adding kero to diesel, especially if Mercedes recommend it!

Another solution would be................Don't go into the alps during the snow season!
How easy is that?
AnswerID: 124727

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:40

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 18:40
Short ski season !?? c-ap ! all year round [water ski that is ] LOL.
FollowupID: 379686

Reply By: peterll - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 02:13

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 02:13
Had to smile at this thread. Being an ex-pat now living in Canada I couldn't understand what the fuss about diesel was all about.

Our new home is in that part of Canada where the average winter temps are minus 25 C. and on a few days we get a little chillier at minus 40 - 50 C. With that and the altitude of some 2000m I have yet to see a diesel vehicle having problems with fuel

Diesle 4bys are very common here. I never thought about some of the problems mentioned. I might run down to the local Petro Can (petrol station) and ask them just what is in the fuel sold here in winter.

How I wish Toyota would let me import an LC or even a Troopie. Some deal they have globally about moving new vehicles from one country to another grrr.

But we get to come home each year and wander around the desert so I suppose things aren't that bad.
AnswerID: 124728

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 08:02

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 08:02
when you come home peter make sure you leave the 0 to -25> there!

If you bought a toyota here Toyata couldnt stop you from taking it back?
FollowupID: 379618

Follow Up By: See You - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 13:29

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 13:29
You wil find that in Canada they run the same fuel all year. Its just their "version" of diesel. Different chemical make up than in Aus
FollowupID: 379765

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 08:21

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 08:21
had the same problem with a cascade refrigeration system making 7 ton of liquid S02 (sulpher dioxide). The wax in the oil solidified in the low temp -70c evaporator which would block the refrigeration circuit...simple solution changed to an compressor oil that didnt have any wax

never even bothered to think it could happen to diesel......but I'm amazed that we (austrailia) have different diesel fuels to combat this for those areas that are affected by this condition.....wouldnt it make more sense to have ONE fuel (one refinement process) that could handle the worst expected conditions to prevail anywhere in OZ?

Is this learning curve left to trail and error?..... or are we told to never drive this car to mt hotham this when purchasing a diesel vehicle in say Darwin? if your not told by manufacturer that is a condition that can arise then i'd be asking for tow and defrost fees
AnswerID: 124738

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 12:07

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 12:07
Re same fuel/refining process: I think it's a bit like with oils: a very thin one for extremely low outside temperatures won't do your engine too much good at +40 degC (I have never seen engine oils with viscosity index 60 in europe - never higher than 40). Diesel with a lot of kero burns perfectly well at -10, but may burn holes in your pistons when it's +40. That's how I understand it, I might be wrong.
FollowupID: 379635

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 09:58

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 09:58
I'm from Broken Hill and diesel freezing is not much of a problem here, although we do get the occasional 0 or -1 overnight

In the October hols I am planning to take the kids to Mt Buller for a look at the snow. I know that the bulk of the snow season will be over by then but do I have to worry about this (GU 4.2TD).

We will be staying at Pinnacle Valley which is just near the entrance to the National Park. Probably won't take the car up to the ski fields as the resort offers a shuttle bus, but the car could well sit still for 5 days.

Lastly, where can I get this Alpine Diesel, we will probably travel along the Murray then head south to Mansfield from Echuca.

AnswerID: 124746

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 10:53

Thursday, Aug 11, 2005 at 10:53
You'll get Alpine diesel at Mansfield. Prob wise to fill up there just incase we have a little cold snap like the one last feb. I saw few vehicles being towed back down the mountain - the weather took everyone by surprise!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 379629

Follow Up By: See You - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 13:31

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 13:31
Leeroy are you at Buller??? What is it like there??? I may bring the hummer down for a play in the snow.
FollowupID: 379766

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:04

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 15:04
I'm at Falls Creek. Heaps of snow. Twice as much as Buller.

Leroy
FollowupID: 379772

Reply By: peterll - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 14:42

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 14:42
ah yes well Nudenut ... it seems that most of the big manufacturers have a global deal about selling different models in other countries... You can buy an LC here (Canada) but it will be second hand and 15 years old !! Funny how you can buy other Toyotas but not a troopie or an LC (new)

They have Nissan Pathfinders but no Patrol

The F150 V8 4x4 is kind of impressive but only carries half a tonne.

Then they have some really weird rules for importing any vehicle.. to begin it has to be registered for at least 6 months in the country of origin. ...then it has to meet emission standards.. and then it has to meet another standard..and so on.

Should have heard the phone conversation when chatting with Canada Customs about an idea to import a HSV Maloo ute (they had no idea what I was on about)..well you would have thought I was going to send GM out of business !! :)

oh and you are right Seeyou !!

.. I asked at the local gas station umm garage ..whatever.. diesel is diesel all the same, all year round here.. although they do add stuff to the petrol in our part of Canada in winter.

AnswerID: 124928

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 16:50

Friday, Aug 12, 2005 at 16:50
you may well see a ss version of a storm there soon a mate is looking at a build up of one think he lives in black rock now .
FollowupID: 379791