Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Plastic Jerry Cans

Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

Moggs

Has anyone experienced any problems carrying 20ltr plastic jerry cans (such as the rheem ones) horizontally on a roof rack ie. leaking seals etc. Not sure whether this is a stupid question as maybe this is the only way to carry them up top?? Anyone have thoughts on multiple 10ltr v's 1/2 as many 20ltr cans?
ThreadID: 2594 Replies: 6
Views: 463 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 9656   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

ray91 replied:

I have used them before, they swell up, expand a lot left in the sun and you have to remove the caps to let the pressure out several times a day otherwise they burst (Rheem black ones). Ray
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 4997   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

Moggs posted:

ray91 - would you use them again, or would you recommend another brand?
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 5002   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

Axel + Karen posted:

Yep, had the same problem, now use steel.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 5005   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

Moggs posted:

Axel + Karen - By changing to steel jerries - does this remove the need to vent the cans completely and the associated expansion problems??
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 9666   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

ray91 replied:

yes the steel cans dont blow up like ballons.
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 9668   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

ROX replied:

Are we talking fuel or water or both?
Reply 3 of 6
FollowupID: 5006   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

Moggs posted:

Unleaded Petrol - looking for alternate storage to long range tank.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 9676   Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 00:00

bruce.h replied:

Gday Moggs
probably not a good idea to carry such heavey items on your roof as it increases your centre of gravity making your 4x4 less stable to drive, better off puting in a second tank if you can fit it,also if it is plastic i would check on the legality of carring fuel in plastic containers
Regards Bruce
Reply 4 of 6
Activities Index
Greater Brisbane Hot Air Balloon Flight Greater Brisbane Hot Air Balloon Flight
Brisbane - QLD
Have you ever wanted to experience ballooning over the Greater Brisbane region and surrounds?
Ayurvedic Massage - Sydney Ayurvedic Massage - Sydney
Sydney - NSW
Lie back, relax and enjoy our luxurious Ayurvedic massage.
Kayaking, Snorkelling & Dolphin Watching Tour Kayaking, Snorkelling & Dolphin Watching Tour
Gold Coast - QLD
KAYAKING, SNORKELING, DOLPHINS, ABORIGINAL CULTURE. Several tours in one.
Victorian High Country 4WD Tour Victorian High Country 4WD Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Jump aboard our luxury 4 wheel drive vehicle and journey with us through the rich farming country of
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 9777   Submitted: Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 00:00

felix replied:

i used to carry leaded fuel in black plastic jerry can and, yes,it did expand but i found that filling it up to its recommended level meant it never burst. in fact i have never had one burst but maybe i was just lucky.
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 9792   Submitted: Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 00:00

Member - Keith replied:

Mate, Consider 10ltr stored upright (I use the Rheems) rather than the 20ltr stored on their side. Reason: lower profile, no worries about leaking caps and easier to handle. Because my truck is on LPG, I need the extra unleaded fuel for some trips. I carry these (5x10ltr) on the roof rack in a specially constructed metal tray...never, never in the cabin! Sure the centre of gravity is affected, but I always use the roof rack fuel as soon as possible on a trip. Hope this info helps. And by the way, as indicated in previous replies, the containers do expand in the heat if not full....and contract in the cold....so easy off the cap if the containers are stored empty.
Reply 6 of 6

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website