Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Rancho customer service

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:16

BUSTED100

Hi All,,
A mate of mine had the weld give way on the eye to one of his Rancho shocks. He rang the distributor 4WD.1 or some thing like that, to ask what the go was with the warrenty (4 months old) and before he had a chance to explain what set up he had on his 80 series the guy starts up with what are you a d!cK head or what our product doesn't do that and you had set it up for the wrong application.

Just having a bitch on the behalf of a mate.

Steven
Advertisement
ThreadID: 26030 Replies: 8
Views: 801 FollowUps: 6
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 127736   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:30

Scubaroo replied:

I've just bought gear from 4WD1.BIZ recently over the phone and had fantastic service. Prices were good too. Shame about your mate's experience.
Reply 1 of 8
AnswerID: 127766   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:43

pathfinder replied:

Ranchos seem to be ok for competition use in lightly loaded vehicles with big lifts. They seem to have durability "issues" on laden vehicles used for touring...
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 382406   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:50

Gerhardp1 posted:

Mine don't have durability issues.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382492   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:31

pathfinder posted:

If you have a heavy 4WD that is used for fully-laden touring and the shocks are more than 50K k, then you can consider yourself lucky Gerhard. For these purposes, OME, Koni and maybe Bilstein would be a more durable option...
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127805   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:16

TroopyTracker replied:

G'day,
I too have bought from these guys over the phone afew times and was very happy with price, product and speed of delivery.
Matt
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 127820   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:35

Rock Crawler replied:

Ranchos belong on the vehicles that they were dersighned for . Jeeps , and cars that weigh the same as jeeps

my 2 bucks worth . I havent seen a cruise or Patrol work well with either for touring , even on rock crawling , anything past the top setting makes the vehicle bounce uncontrolably . In the chopped up cars with big lifts they seem to work well

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
Reply 4 of 8
Activities Index
Cooking Tour de Sydney Cooking Tour de Sydney
Sydney - NSW
During this full week in Sydney, you will watch cooking demonstrations, attend lunches and dinners,
Harley Davidson Trike Broadwater Sights Harley Davidson Trike Broadwater Sights
Gold Coast - QLD
Travel in unique style from Surfers Paradise on the back of a Harley Davidson Trike or bike.
Blue Mountains Scenic Day Tour with River Cruise Blue Mountains Scenic Day Tour with River Cru
Blue Mountains - NSW
If you are in Sydney on a short stay, this tour will suit.
Half Day Offshore Fishing Charter Half Day Offshore Fishing Charter
Gold Coast - QLD
Get onboard and go offshore with our half day fishing charter.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 127824   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:48

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Rancho in Castle Hill were FANTASTIC replacing mine when they failed, then replacing them when they failed again, then replacing them again when they failed...

They werent keen the 4th time, as I told them I frew em in the bin. Talk about crap shocks.
Reply 5 of 8
FollowupID: 382446   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:04

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

From reports they're only good for light vehicles, not a truckster patrol.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382447   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:08

Truckster (Vic) posted:

I reckon Cammos QR50 would kill them
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127924   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:37

Member - Algee (NSW) replied:

I was thinking of putting Rancho's on my 2004 Nissan. After reading this lot I think I will look elsewhere.

Algee

Click Image to Enlarge
Redundacy - Yes please!
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 128025   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:55

pling replied:

I have Rancho 9000's on a 2002 Patrol with 2'' lift and are very happy with them.
I have traveled to Cape york, Simpson Desert, Ann Beadell etc and have not had any hassles. They have done over 50,000 k's.

I would buy again!
Reply 7 of 8
FollowupID: 382652   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 02:04

BUSTED100 posted:

Pling
When my mate initially bought the shocks he tells me the sales people were great , it was with the follow up after sales service when he tried to tell them that the weld had given out on the base of the shock that things changed.
Steven
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382685   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:29

Truckster (Vic) posted:

BUSTED100
you cant see the 2 differences in occasion?

1) he was PAYING OUT...
2) THEY were paying out..

of course their attitude would change like a nissan dealer watching a 3.0 come in on a Tabletop towy
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 128117   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:20

BUSTED100 replied:

FAIR CALL.
I'LL PASS THAT ON TO HIM.
STEVEN
Reply 8 of 8

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions