Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Big Red Blunder

Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 00:45

Elle

So there comes a time when you must know a story...for good or bad.

Five or so days ago someone oops a red Sahara....it is hanging by one axel, in mud at a 45deg on a 100 meter cliff on the top of Big Red. As I looked over this maddness it made me think twice about 5k'n a blind hill wet...someone please tell me the story of how this happened if it is known...if anythink thing it has to be one FUNNY AS HELL story!!!! LMFAO!
Advertisement
ThreadID: 26054 Replies: 8
Views: 1256 FollowUps: 9
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 127857   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 01:11

Member - 'Lucy' replied:

Mud! on the top of Big Red????????????

Are you sure this was the site of the said calamity.

If so, I would love to see a pic or two of it.
It's not pretty
Click Image to Enlarge
Marriage, One mans insane desire to feed and clothe another mans daughter

Reply 1 of 8
FollowupID: 382475   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 01:17

Elle posted:

and some vid :P
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382476   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 03:00

Elle posted:

Check our mail...Red eats another one!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127859   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 01:16

Elle replied:

I gota pic!!!!!!!!!!...:)
Reply 2 of 8
AnswerID: 127861   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 03:12

dropbear replied:

WHERE CAN WE GET THE PHOTO'S?
Reply 3 of 8
FollowupID: 382477   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 05:47

Elle posted:

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382478   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 05:51

Elle posted:

ooops....sorry...try this,

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b236/photofunk/UP.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b236/photofunk/TooFunny.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b236/photofunk/Down.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b236/photofunk/LottoGuy.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b236/photofunk/Ugly.jpg
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127864   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 06:52

Member - Ivan (ACT) replied:

OK.. Not THE Big Red (at least the one everyone else is thinking) - where is this one?

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
100 Series LandCruiser V8 (2005)
Reply 4 of 8
Activities Index
Guided Mountain Biking Adventure Manly Dam Guided Mountain Biking Adventure Manly Dam
Sydney - NSW
Join us for a challenging guided mountain bike ride around Manly Dam.
2 Day Beginner Surf course - Seven Mile Beach 2 Day Beginner Surf course - Seven Mile Beach
South Coast - NSW
Experience 2 action packed days with this exciting beginner surf course.
Learn to Kayak Course in Sydney Learn to Kayak Course in Sydney
Sydney - NSW
This is the perfect start if you have little or no kayaking experience.
V8 Race Car Drive Day - 8 Laps V8 Race Car Drive Day - 8 Laps
Brisbane - QLD
Experience an exhilarating driving event where you get to drive a V8 race car on a high-speed Clubma
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 127882   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:56

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

Where is it?
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 127888   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 09:47

Rigor replied:

Looks a bit like the CREB track north of Cairns...

Dave L.
Reply 6 of 8
FollowupID: 382509   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 11:39

Terrylay posted:

I agree with the idea that it looks like the CREB track.
I remember it well - and I tackled it in the dry! I would hate to have a go in the wet. The clay was slippery enough with the morning dew on it.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 127942   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:49

Elle replied:

Yep its the CREB. Where is the other "big red"? North QLD is the only area I know.
Reply 7 of 8
FollowupID: 382574   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:21

Member - Scrubba (NSW) posted:

Elle,
Ther're talkin 'bout the sand dune on the Birdsville side of the Simpson Desert.
Scrub 'n Brush one day,
scrub 'n brush the next!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382650   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 00:13

Elle posted:

TY...Scrubba
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127948   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:04

Member - John (Vic) replied:

Is that what a Nth Queenslander call a hard track?????

Come to Gembrook or Toolangi down here in Vic and we will show you a good time.
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

Reply 8 of 8
FollowupID: 382578   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:50

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) posted:

No..... that's our main highway to the tip! The tracks aren't NEARLY as easy as that one matey!!! ;-)
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382649   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 00:12

Elle posted:

Had 5CM of rain 6 hours before i took the track....It was prob the most challenging track (and being safe) i've seen in some time........Please tell me about the Toolangi....
FollowUp 2 of 2

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website