Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

8l/100km in a Nissan!!..................................

Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:11

Willem

Did a quick 1800km return run down in to the deep south(Victoria) over the past week and clocked up 8l/100km in the Xtrail sitting on SA and and Vic speed limits. With fuel prices they way they are it was a good result. The Xtrail normally does 10lt/100km but this time we did have a bit of a tail wind. :o)
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

ThreadID: 26075 Replies: 5
Views: 1042 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 127968   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:18

Member - Duncs replied:

Show off.
Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 382597   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:04

Willem posted:

Hahahahaha

How are you, Duncs. Just started drizzling here this a evening. Will be passing through your place just before Xmas and will call in.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382707   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:50

Member - Duncs posted:

G'day Willem.

We got a couple of drops late yesterday(Friday) it started raining here about 3am Saturday morn and has rained pretty well since then.

Should be home for Christmas, look forward to seeing you. Hope to head east just after New Year for the usual sya g'day to the family thing.

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127970   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:34

Member - John C (QLD) replied:

I can do that too sitting on a 100km/hr with a 60km/hr tail wind!

In very early days BWK (before wife and kids), got 80mpg out of a 1600 beetle going the 120k from Brisbane to the north coast.

Sat 2m behind a greyhound bus.:-)

Seriously - good on you Willem.

Lets start a new fuel economy challenge for everyone that doesn't involve how big that rock, or hill, or deep that river is that has to be crossed.

Anything is fair go as long as you are honest about the tweaks you used to do it. Oh, better make that legal as well?

Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
In touring mode, the way it should be.
Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 382598   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:06

Willem posted:

John, are you sure you weren't attached to the bus?....lol
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 127972   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:56

Member - Marquis F (NSW) replied:

So... The turbo diesel does that most of the time ;)
( Which is not bad for a 2500kg wagon )
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 382599   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:07

Willem posted:

Is it stationary?
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 128020   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:29

Flash replied:

Good Willem....
but how's 12.95 l/100klms towing a 2.5tonne (and a bit...) caravan over 3,500klms of mostly bitumen road in April. (probably 150 kays of good dirt)
I know some people will think not possible, say I was sitting on 60 clicks etc- but the fact is that's what I got sitting on typically 85km/h. (It's a VERY aerodynamic van! )

Good ol' GQ Patrol! I was travelling in company with a 100 series, a GU and an 80 series (all diesel). We all filled up at the same time and my mates were all amazed! Oh, and BTW I was NOT tailgating!
I'm happy!
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 382667   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:11

Willem posted:

Yeah I used to get 25l/100km towing my 27footer with the old G60(petrol) but that was when the fuel price was 75c/l. It would really hurt with the present fuel prices...lol

Careful driving can lead to good economy. Cruise Control helps too. The weather can also play an important part.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382733   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:26

Flash posted:

Yeh, don't think we'll ever see 75cpl again, sadly.

BTW the GQ TD42 is not standard, Turbo, 3" exhaust and a few other mods, but I reckon it's brilliant. My mate in his high tech (and expensive) 100 series used about 25% more diesel than mine, towing a smaller (but admittedly less aerodynamic) van!
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Outback and Atherton Tablelands Experience Outback and Atherton Tablelands Experience
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Witness the diverse landscapes of Tropical North Queensland, crossing rich tropical rainforests and
Lunch On-Board an Elegant Horse Drawn Restaurant Lunch On-Board an Elegant Horse Drawn Restaur
Sydney - NSW
Travel Australia's third oldest town as you enjoy Gourmet a la carte Lunch served whilst traveling O
Kayak Hire in Sydney Kayak Hire in Sydney's Paddling Paradise!
Sydney - NSW
Bundeena in southern Sydney, bordered by Royal National Park, stunning stretches of un-crowded beach
Whale Watching From Above Whale Watching From Above
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Whale watching flights are 30 to 40 minutes long.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 128126   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:59

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses replied:

Probably due to the alcohol injection Bro and Judith's light foot driving Southward ;-o). Glad you got back to hometown Peterborough safely......
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
Reply 5 of 5
FollowupID: 382736   Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:37

Willem posted:

No no no no nooooooooooooo. This happened before the fateful event and I lay the blame squarely at your feet. The aftermath I can take the blame for....lol
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1