Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Car air horns in Melbourne??

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 17:46

Rowen

howdy Folks,

Just a quick question. Does anyone know where in Melbs to get the really rippa car air horns? u know the ones that play 'the godfather','dukes of hazzard' or that 'harooga' sound?

Cheers in advance

Ro.

Advertisement
ThreadID: 26989 Replies: 7
Views: 2818 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 133011   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 17:57

S&N replied:

hi rowen, autobahn used to have the harooga one, give them a call!
Reply 1 of 7
FollowupID: 387329   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 10:18

madcow posted:

Actually called a "claxton" horn. Some vintage cars came out with them std. Used to have one years ago along with a "Wolf Whistle" that operated off the intake vacuum as well as musical trumpets. Have a look on Ebay.

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 133036   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 19:46

Member - Blue (VIC) replied:

Have been told(when I was pulled over by a cop about ten years ago) that musical air horns are illegal in Vic.

Click Image to Enlarge
Puritanism: The haunting fear that someone, somewhere may be happy.
Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 387259   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:33

pjd posted:

they are only illegal to use them not to own them
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 387348   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:13

Member - Blue (VIC) posted:

Not much point in having them then.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 133044   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:48

Rigor replied:

Just a nitpicking point the "harooga " horn is correctly called a Klaxon.

Dave L.
Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 387289   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 22:21

simple posted:

i thought a klaxon was the kind of alarm that you wind up. makes a siren noise. like the old ones on fire stations to let the townsfolk/firies know there's a fire.
i may be wrong
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 387304   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 23:55

cokeaddict posted:

Rigor is right,
I still have my Original "claxton" horn setup in shed. Still got the huge push in and hold button too (the longer u hold it, the longer the "haroooga" would play. Bought it in 1975 and still works today. Best sound i ever heard. DONT ASK..its not for sale.
Ange :-)
I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 133045   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:52

Truckster (Vic) replied:

The red plastic klaxon they sell at supercheap/autobarn etc is crap.. had one and it died in 6 mths of offroading.

Been lookin for a real one for about 2 yrs :( most are 6Volt.

Why would you want the Dukes of Hazzard for god sake?

Also try Ebay, regularly get them on there...
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Learn to Surf - 3 Day Great Ocean Road Surf Tour Learn to Surf - 3 Day Great Ocean Road Surf T
Melbourne - VIC
Surfing lessons and a tour of the Great Ocean Road are just two of the great components that make up
Luxury All-Day Private Sailing Cruise Luxury All-Day Private Sailing Cruise
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Escape aboard a luxury 40ft.
Sky Diving Addiction Package - 20 Jumps! Sky Diving Addiction Package - 20 Jumps!
Brisbane - QLD
If you would like to learn to become a skydiver and receive your A Licence, come and do the Accelera
Lobethal Harley Cruise from the city Lobethal Harley Cruise from the city
Adelaide - SA
On the back of a roaring Harley spend your time winding around sweeping bends through Adelaide's gor
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 133100   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 08:36

Beast Of Bodmin replied:

I just bought a 2ft truck horn for the cruiser. Any ideas on where to get a small air tank (3 to 5 litres) and air fittings, electric solenoid etc in Nth East Melb area.

Where are the truck wreckers in Melb area, I've looked in Yell Pages etc and cannot find any. I'm sure that would be a place for an air tank.

Beast Of Bodmin
Reply 5 of 7
FollowupID: 387341   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 11:50

Truckster (Vic) posted:

truck wreckers in dande, or up fawkner way.

autobarn sells an airhorn kit with airtank etc.. you just have to use servo thing to inflat it, or could convert to compressor simply
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 133114   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:50

banjodog replied:

musical air horns - plenty here
Reply 6 of 7
FollowupID: 387349   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:17

Member - Blue (VIC) posted:

The multi sound one with PA looks great... Imagine being able to tell some goose doing 70kph to get the hell out of the right hand lane of the Monash freeway... I encounter this most days on the way to work.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 133237   Submitted: Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:28

Nick R replied:

just a change of tack, anyone know the law on volume? can I fit truck horns to my LC60??? maybe even train horns????
Might rattle some bolts loose on the old girl!!!
NickR
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website