Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Swags

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 12:22

Ron

I'm shopping for a new swag. What are some features I should look for and what make do you have and why. To save turning this into a discussion bigger than Ben Hur, please keep info short and sweet.
Ron.
ThreadID: 27747 Replies: 5
Views: 721 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 137417   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 12:42

Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. replied:

Hi Ron ,
A tent-swag is great . You can lie in them with the mesh off your body in hot weather - just tie one end to bull bar and one end to tree .
I have two of these from Ultima and love them . ( www.ultimaswag.com )
Cheers ,
Willie
PS. Even the Boss now prefers one of these to putting up the camper !

Click Image to Enlarge
Grey Gnomad

To be blunt, I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 137439   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 14:40

Member - Luxoluk replied:

Try and get one which keeps the canvas off your bedding and doesn't have any stiching on top where water may pool. Cheers
Half way across the Anne Beadell
Click Image to Enlarge
Illkurlka Roadhouse
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 137440   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 14:46

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Borrow one, try before you buy.

I bought mine used once - saved $350 on new price.

Dude couldn't sleep in it!
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 391128   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 15:09

OLDMAGPIE posted:

swags not made for 'dudes' they fit into kombi vans
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 391136   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 15:55

Disco Td5 posted:

G'day Ron ,
I agree with Truckster - try before you buy of you can - as some people don't feel comfortable in them - and can't get a good nights sleep .
I have used a 'Darche Dome' for a few years now and I think it's great !
The hoop on the head section keeps the canvas off your face and it has a screened vent flap at the head end that you can peg out for ventilation even in wet weather . Great quality canvas , zips and fly screen mesh !
A ground sheet/small tarp is a good idea to protect it from stick/stone damage and also makes it easier to keep it clean when it comes time to roll it up to pack in - or - on top - of the vehicle in the morning .
There are heaps of manufacturers in OZ - so shop around before you hand over the hard earned cash !
Disco Td5 .

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 137466   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 17:16

Bonz (Vic) replied:

I got ones with both top and end openings and also with the little fibreglass poles in the head and foot getting the swag (mostly) off you. Much better and only $150 at Rays

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Day Spa Pedicure Treatment - Ringwood Day Spa Pedicure Treatment - Ringwood
Melbourne - VIC
Indulge in this heavenly day spa treat for your hard working feet and legs!
Massage and Body Brushing - 60 Mins Massage and Body Brushing - 60 Mins
Adelaide - SA
Do you feel like a little mindless inactivity?
Stunt Driving Xperience - Spins and Slides Stunt Driving Xperience - Spins and Slides
Brisbane - QLD
Have you ever seen a great car chase in a movie where the car slides a corner, does a 180 spin, slid
The Mount Wellington Adventure Tour The Mount Wellington Adventure Tour
Hobart - TAS
A "must do" whilst in Hobart.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 137497   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 19:25

Jason B replied:

G'day,

I've found the most important thing is keeping the mozzies off while having air flow around you when it's hot and being able to close it up when it's cold and raining.

I've got two swags, a new one like Bonz (Vic), which is absolutly great, for me and the Wife, and my old trusty single swag which I've had for 15 years - had to get the new one to accommodate the breading wife.

Jason
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions