Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

replacement engine

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:28

jonesy

G'day all blown a 2.4 2lt import motor in 86 hilux was wondering what a cheap alternative would be it's only used for work and weekend play does any know if it would be possible to put a 202holden motor with either the 5sp hilux box or complete with the 4sp holden auto box???? any ideas?? or should i just sell the bloody thing????
ThreadID: 27797 Replies: 4
Views: 706 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 137647   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:54

stevesub replied:

My step-son bought a HiLux 1988 that had a petrol motor - but the petrol motor had be put in to replace the blown diesel motor. Gearing is a bit up the creek but it goes OK and he is happy with it.

Easiest way to put another motor in is to get the same as what you had - no engine mount/gearbox/ driveshaft/ transmission, etc problems. Putting a 6 cyl in will also mean that the sump may need modifying, bigger radiator, maybe upgraded brakes and suspension, etc - the list goes on and on. Broken diffs, compliance problems will also be problems once it is finished - no way.

Keep it simple, especially for an old truck.

Stevesub
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 391392   Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:22

jonesy posted:

THANKS OLD mate i like the kiss theroy story of my life whats seems to be a good idea at the time isint . thanks for ya advice
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 137705   Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:26

Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) replied:

get a price an a comodore v6 conversion - plenty of places do them and you should be able to get a drive in drive out quote FWIW sell it mucking about costs money and looking back you might wish you had just burned it
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 391393   Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:23

jonesy posted:

hey good thinking knew i should of kept that insurance policy
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 137715   Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 06:35

keny replied:

jonesey

i have 2 repowers the one that will interest you is an 88 twin cab navara repowered with commodore v6 is very reliable i can provide details and happy snaps if interested
Reply 3 of 4
AnswerID: 137834   Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:15

Tanka replied:

Try here:
http://www.industrialdiesel.net/industrial%20engines/8V92%20TAB/8V92TAB.htm

Should move the hilux for you.

Tanka.
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
Port Stephens, Nelson Bay Dunes & Dolphins Port Stephens, Nelson Bay Dunes & Dolphins
Lower Nth Coast / Newcastle - NSW
Discover the beautiful North Coast region of Port Stephens.
Exclusive Jet Boat Charter Exclusive Jet Boat Charter
Gold Coast - QLD
Experience the buzz of an extreme jetboat ride for you and up to 13 friends.
Team Building Cooking Class For Up To 15 People Team Building Cooking Class For Up To 15 Peop
Sydney - NSW
The perfect idea for your next work team building event!
Victorian High Country 4WD Tour Victorian High Country 4WD Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Jump aboard our luxury 4 wheel drive vehicle and journey with us through the rich farming country of
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website