AnswerID: 142098 Submitted: Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 09:23
Member - Roachie (SA)
replied:
Mate,
I've got mine exiting from under the bonnet on the passenger's side, between the mudguard and the other bit that goes along/across under the windscreen. Then it goes up the A pillar, hidden by the
snorkel, and continues along the rain gutter to the bottom of the front roof-rack mount. I have used a length of split tubing to keep it all wrapped in. There is:
air hose for air horns
pos and neg wires for air horns solenoid (neg is earthed to roof rack as well)
power wire for the rear-facing lights (which are erathed to the roof rack too).
However, more recently I have fitted a reverse camera and ran the cable for it out through the rubber "hose" that takes wires from the body to the small cargo door. I cut a slit in that "hose" and brought the cable out through it, eventually sealing the slit up with sealant. That cable then goes up the inside area of the back door and up to the roof rack. I actually drilled and pop-rivetted the cable in about 4 spots, using small nylon cable holders I got from auto-pro.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience! |
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 395720 Submitted:
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 11:09
Member - Roachie (SA) posted:
Dust has not proven to be any problem at all, I have it angeled down so i can see the rear step and towbar (makes coupling up to trailer MUCH easier). We did a trip across Simpson and many other dusty tracks, dust never an issue.
As for theft, hasn't been a problem yet either.....I doubt anybody would bother....there's heaps of other more expensive gear they could cut-off/unbolt. The whole set-up was only $300- so I reckon the camera part is about $130- worth.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience! |
FollowUp 2 of 2