Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Catalogue sale, new Engel 40lt FYI

Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:29

Wisey (NSW)

If your after a new Engel 40lt complete with transit bag, inverter, small basket plus cap and stubby holder $1200. Boots great outdoors NSW stores only.

I have no affiliation with this business or engel.

ThreadID: 28626 Replies: 4
Views: 2415 FollowUps: 15
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 142493   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:23

crewser replied:

Whats the inverter for,?
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 396017   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:29

Johnny boy posted:

Yeah!!???
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 396041   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:17

Wisey (NSW) posted:

Part of the package!! Don't imagine it would be to run the fridge. It has the brand name on it, no wattage size on it by looking @ the pic. Maybe an inducement.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 142513   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:24

monkey68 replied:

Yes Great package saved a couple hundred dollars if buying everything later, so i brought one for the wife for xmas, hope she will like, if she doesnt i can find someone who can use.
Anyway the inverter is a 150watt to use with 240v appliance ie laptop /platstation to keep the kids quite.
Reply 2 of 4
AnswerID: 142529   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:06

Member - Jeff M (WA) replied:

That's not a deal! I got one of those cheapo supercreapy 42L compressor fridge/freazers for $299 the other day, They had one setup with a deep cycle battery on the shop floor so I switched her on and it's sides were cold within seconds and it's supposed to get down to 1c in 2 hours and the digital thermostat goes down to -16c, so for me WOOHOO! ;-)

But yeah, if you got $1200 and are into engels, it's probally a great deal...

Click Image to Enlarge
#1 - I'm not telling :-)
#2 Yellowdine National Park
#3 Powerline Trek - Saywers Valley
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 396053   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:12

gramps posted:

Blasphemy! Heretic!

Mentioning Engel and Supercreapy in the same post. You'll burn bro :)))
FollowUp 1 of 12
FollowupID: 396055   Submitted: Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 21:22

Member - Trevor R (QLD) posted:

Jeff,

Are you talking about one's from super cheap? the reason I ask is I have a mate who is looking for an elcheapo 2nd hand but this may be a better and cheaper again option.
I'm from the other side (of the country) but if it was from a national dealer I am sure the price would apply here as well.

Thanks Trevor.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
FollowUp 2 of 12
FollowupID: 396086   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 07:52

Banjo 1 posted:

Yebbut the Engel will still be running ok next year.

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
FollowUp 3 of 12
FollowupID: 396109   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:48

Member - Jeff M (WA) posted:

Yeah I doubt they would have any left as I went in the morning the sale started (last thursday) at about 10:30am and the store I went to had already sold out. I drove to another store and they had 4 left when I got there but they called them before I left the first store and they reckon'd they had 7!

Click Image to Enlarge
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
FollowUp 4 of 12
FollowupID: 396110   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:50

Banjo for $600 yeah wouldn'nt have been prepared to take that risk, but for $300, I reckon even if it does pack it in next year it's still cheaper than renting an engel for that period and seeings as I can't afford to by an engel, I reckon that's alright in my books. And who knows, it may be a little ripper and go for years.

Click Image to Enlarge
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
FollowUp 5 of 12
FollowupID: 396115   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 09:59

Thanks Jeff,

Worth the 30c phone call anyway, never know your luck in the big smoke hey.

Trevor.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 6 of 12
FollowupID: 396120   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:07

Banjo 1 posted:

Point taken Jeff - its a not a bad idea for that outlay, compared to renting as you say. Give it a good blast during the warranty period..... as you say, if it survives that it might never stop !

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
FollowUp 7 of 12
FollowupID: 396129   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 10:44

Yeah the family trips should be a walk in the park for it, but if it survives even one "boys" trip out, it'll be a good sign! LOL

Click Image to Enlarge
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
FollowUp 8 of 12
FollowupID: 396144   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:04

Thanks Jeff,

My local super cheap still has them in stock but the mongrels want to charge us $399 over here ;-(( . Still a good buy I would think so Have left a meesage on my mates phone and may go and pick one up tomorrow if he wants.

Cheers Trevor.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 9 of 12
FollowupID: 396145   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:07

That's so ironic, I remeber when they first brought those fridges out and you eastern states guys had a $100 cheaper price than us, the excuse was the old freight one. Now they $100 cheaper here!! Work that one out would ya!?

Click Image to Enlarge
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
FollowUp 10 of 12
FollowupID: 396156   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:24

Wisey (NSW) posted:

Sounds good Jeff. I hope you get many a cold bevy' out of it for a long time to come (12mths, TIC- Tounge in cheek) As long as it meets YOUR needs :)))))
Give us some feedback from a trip, I'm curious?
CHEERS
FollowUp 11 of 12
FollowupID: 396173   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 18:10

OLDMAGPIE posted:

i rang up belmont the day the catalogue came out & the salesgirl told me they werent the compressor type ------ bitch
FollowUp 12 of 12
AnswerID: 142626   Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 14:26

Yarn replied:

I recieved another Catalogue from Kangaroo Tent City (NSW Only) offering the Engel 40lt for $999 (No Accessories).

Reply 4 of 4
FollowupID: 396261   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:28

monkey68 posted:

Price is not everthing, you will buy bag and other accessories later so i thought package was a lot better from Boots 4 me
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Byron Bay Day Tour Byron Bay Day Tour
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Head from Brisbane to the world famous surfing town of Byron Bay!
Canberra Canberra's, Hop on - Hop off, Explorer Bus
Canberra - INT
The hop on hop off Explorer Bus travels to most major Canberra Attractions including the Lodge, the
Beginner Surfing Course (3.5 hours) Beginner Surfing Course (3.5 hours)
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Learn to surf in the best waves on Byron Bay's Beaches. Small groups.
Tall Ship Sailing Sunset Cruise Tall Ship Sailing Sunset Cruise
Townsville Region - QLD
What a perfect way to end the day with a peaceful sunset cruise on our magnificent tall ship.
Book Now - Things To Do