Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

hf confused

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 20:22

samsgoneagain

hello i have a codan 8528. and i am a bit daunted at the whole hf radio network/operation system. can anyone tell me what the difference is between a beacon call and a sellcall. and how do i know if the person i am trying to reach is on the same frequency. and should i be able to tlak to someone in adelaide if i am in darwin.i am a vks747 member but i havnt quite worked out why yet.........
Advertisement
ThreadID: 29296 Replies: 9
Views: 696 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 146246   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 20:53

Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) replied:

Cant answer all your questions but as to knowing if someone is on the same channel as you - You cant but if you sell call them you should get return pips if they have recieved your sell call.
Last break i was testing my HF out and conditions were very varied from picking up Perth easily and people as far away as Melbourne faintly to not recieving a thing
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 1 of 9
AnswerID: 146249   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 21:09

The Explorer replied:

From VKS website FAQs http://www.vks737.on.net/

Selcalls?
Selcall is a system of uniquely identifying particular radio sets (including those at base stations). When two radios have selcall fitted, they can 'alert' each other without alerting other radios on channel, in range. The upshot of this is that you can advise particular base stations or private users that you want to communicate. It should be noted that once on air, all other users on channel can monitor your traffic (unless 'scrambler" technology is employed in an advanced radio).
Selcall capability also allows you to work directly with telephone interconnects at our bases, thereby making contact possible (conditions permitting) with key network staff and authorities listed in your user manual.

Beacons call ?
Beacon is simar to selcall, but its only a 'test' selcall. That is, you send out a beacon signal to a particular selcall number, and if that radio is in range, you will hear a revertive signal. The responding radio's user will be unaware that you have tested their radio with the beacon call. A satisfactory revertive tells you that it may be worth trying to establish a voice or data call. In other words you can use beacon calls to help choose the best frequency (i.e. the channel that has best return signal) to make contact with.

W138
Carnabys Black Cockatoo
Click Image to Enlarge
“I was horror–struck to find my poor overseer lying on the ground, weltering in his blood and in the last agonies of death” E Eyre 29 April 1841

Reply 2 of 9
AnswerID: 146254   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 21:37

Member - David 0 replied:

Good info above.
As for reaching a particular destination eg Adelaide to Darwin, it depends.
HF relies on the signal "boucing" from the ionosphere to ground and can therefore skip right over the top of some places. Time of frequency, time of day, distance and solar activity are the main varables. Read up all you can on the VKS737 website. The operators are fantastic. At this time of year they are not too busy, and may even welcome your call, so why not give one of them a call during the sched and test your radio out.
A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do.
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 146256   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 21:45

Member - Ed. C. replied:

There is a very informative booklet titled
"HF Radio for Travellers! a guide to HF Radio" Authors Chris & Michael Aulich....
available from this site (Exploroz shop) for $14.00....

I don't have a HF (yet!), but if/when I do, this booklet will be very handy indeed!!

Regards, Ed. C.

Click Image to Enlarge
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand............
Not necessarily mechanic!!"
Reply 4 of 9
FollowupID: 399803   Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 01:06

Martyn (WA) posted:

I do and it's worth it's weight in gold, especially when trip s are sometimes a fair distance apart, good as a refresher. Doesn't take up to much space either.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Golf 18 Holes @ Royal Pines Resort Golf 18 Holes @ Royal Pines Resort
Gold Coast - QLD
Enjoy a game of golf at the magnificent Royal Pines Resort.
Surfing Lessons - Beginners 2 hours Surfing Lessons - Beginners 2 hours
Gold Coast - QLD
If you''re new to surfing, these beginner lessons are jam-packed full of fun, with easy basic manoeu
Cooktown 1 Day 4WD Adventure Cooktown 1 Day 4WD Adventure
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
If you are into Australian history, botany, adventure, getting away from it all, seeing the rainfore
Half Day Wine Tour Half Day Wine Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Our half day tour is perfect for those who want to visit a few wineries but are unable to spend the
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 146277   Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 06:17

Peter 2 replied:

HF signals usually travel better nth/sth than east/west.
Madigan Line 07
Click Image to Enlarge
1988 M1026 Humvee
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 399856   Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 17:00

Member - Luxoluk posted:

I wonder whether turning your vehicle 90 degrees would help LOL.
Half way across the Anne Beadell
Click Image to Enlarge
Illkurlka Roadhouse
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 146280   Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 06:35

Footloose replied:

It can be a bit confusing for first timers. But its not so hard. Sit back and destress over it all by taking a peek here. No speakada radio, mate.
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 146305   Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 11:02

Tim HJ61 (WA) replied:

Yep samsgoneagain,

All a bit daunting to start with and before you've used it. But once you've tuned in to the scheds a couple of times, and been brave enough to shout into that handpiece thingy, the world all seems a lot less confusing. Believe me, and many others on the forum, we've been there done that. Confused to start off with at the beginning of our trip, reasonably competant by the end.

Yes the base operators are great, no you probably won't be able to talk to Adelaide from Darwin every time you try, but you might, and thanks for asking about the selcall/beacon. That's something that I puzzled over too.

I'd really suggest you set up your unit outside your house and sit in the car listening to the scheds. You'll get an idea of who you can pick up and who you can't. VKS give you all the frequencies you need, and times. When the operator is clear of other callers and says something like: VKS Alice Springs open for callers, and it seems like no one else is responding, just be brave and hold the transmit button on the mike, then follow the protocols of announcing who you are calling, then your call sign. All this is on the VKS site.

Easy once you've done it a few times.

Tim

Click Image to Enlarge
12H-T on 100% WVO
Reply 7 of 9
AnswerID: 146373   Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 22:10

Member- Rox (WA) replied:

Yes I found North South was better on a small Freq Ch 1 Darwin to Alice but Darwin to Charters towers Ch 2 8022khz was better. There fore i recon but not tested Darwin to Adelaide On Ch 2-4 should work. As for the book I don't have it but have met Micheal A he is a base opp in St Mary's Tas.
This land is cursed; the animals hop not run, birds run, not fly and the swans are black not white
Dirk Hartog, 1688.
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 146410   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 16:13

Original Banjo (SA) replied:

G'day Sam - I'm a base operator for VKS737 - as said above we are not busy at this time of the year. You are most welcome to call in on any sked, any day and say g'day for a radio/operation check. Just look up the supplied sked timetables. As a general rule, you should make workable contact with any base up to 1500km away (less at times - but often a lot more than that). Early morning skeds and late evenings are often best. As others have said, a beacon call is just a "sniff" at a particular station (base or mobile) to see if they are in range. A selcall to a particular base or mobile is a "hey wake up - its me - I want to do business !" type of call. Where do you live ? I could suggest some of the better timeslots for your location - I could advise staff that you might well call in. Whatever ...........[ eMail / darian@picknowl.com.au ]

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
Reply 9 of 9

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website