Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Tent poles

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 21:11

jon p qld

G'day all
Galvanised telescopic tent poles that have been folded up and stored in the camper for a while develop a white powder from the galvanising between the two halves of the pole. This makes a mess when the pole is extended, I was wondering what other people might use to prevent this, I didn't want to use oil as it may mark or stain the canvas when in use.
Thanks Jon
Advertisement
ThreadID: 29703 Replies: 11
Views: 2086 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 148606   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 21:22

Member - Duncs replied:

Not that I have an answer to this question but I do have a related question. Often poles in this condition are stuck and wont easily extend. I have one I can't budge.

What do people use to get them moving again?? (Sorry Jon Hope I don't steel your post.)

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
Reply 1 of 11
FollowupID: 401824   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 21:40

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

that's true Duncs and I've found the answer is to use them more often. If you only use your gear once a year..well, I ask you...

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 148619   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 21:47

MartyB replied:

I'll answer both questions in one word.

Inox.

Wonderful stuff.

from Marty.
Reply 2 of 11
FollowupID: 401832   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:00

Glenn (VIC) posted:

Hi Marty,

Excuse my ignorance, but what is "Inox" and where do you get it?

Glenn

Click Image to Enlarge
Divorce, from the Latin word meaning to rip a man's genitals through his wallet
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 401844   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:46

Member - Ed. C. posted:

I agree that Inox is wonderful stuff, but IMHO,
*lanox* (made by the same ppl as Inox, but lanolin based)
...is even better.... (YMMV)...

Glenn, these products are available at just about any hardware store (as mentioned below) or auto accessory store, SuperCheap, Repco et. al.....

Regards, Ed. C.

Click Image to Enlarge
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand............
Not necessarily mechanic!!"
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 148623   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 21:55

brett replied:

I've only had that happen when put away wet, if kept dry mine are ok. If you don't use them for a while maybe a squirt of wd40 on the inner one
Reply 3 of 11
AnswerID: 148625   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 21:59

geocacher (djcache) replied:

I've moved away from the gal metal ones.

Found the telescopic three piece aluminium ones from Ray's.

Bit dearer but not if they are on the big sale days.

HEAPS lighter and fantastic to use. Just twist to lock. No little grub screws hanging out the side, have a loop on top to hang the Versalite on, bottom caps don't fall off like the metal ones.

They are fantastic.

The new truck
Click Image to Enlarge
Have you tried geocaching yet?
www.geocaching.com
Reply 4 of 11
Activities Index
Sea Turtle Snorkelling Tour - Byron Bay Sea Turtle Snorkelling Tour - Byron Bay
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
If diving's not your thing then join one of our daily snorkelling trips to Julian Rocks.
Indulgence Day Spa Package (3 hours) Indulgence Day Spa Package (3 hours)
Sydney - NSW
Includes Customised Relaxing 1 hour Facial, 1 Hour Relaxation Massage, Foot Soak Scrub and Massage p
30 Minute 737 Flight Adventure 30 Minute 737 Flight Adventure
Hobart - TAS
30 minutes in a full-size 737 flight simulator.
Harley Ride to Mt Tamborine Meander Harley Ride to Mt Tamborine Meander
Gold Coast - QLD
Experience fabulous panoramic views of the Gold Coast to the East, and majestic vista to the West en
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 148628   Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:17

Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) replied:

Inox is a spray can prep a bit like WD40. Most Hardware stores stock it.....

Click Image to Enlarge
Crazy Dog... Cairns FNQ (I love poor defenceless little animals - especially in gravy)
Reply 5 of 11
AnswerID: 148662   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 00:29

David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms replied:

Just like the bloke with the rusty tent pegs, the simple answer is a can of spray silicone.

This stuff lubricates, protects & hangs around for a long time and doesn'f evaporate like wd40 & the like.

If the silicone gets on the tent canvas - good it is a waterproofer as well.
Engine Saver Low Water AlarmsEngine Saver Low Water Alarms
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 6 of 11
AnswerID: 148683   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 07:24

dags666 replied:

just a thought been going beach camping for years when we get home pull them apart give them a hit with the hose or pressure cleaner a wipe and let them dry later I give them both inner and outer a hit with wd 40 and store them. Had the same set of poles for 12 years never have any problems. just a hint as you get older and need poles get the ones with the tightening screw in the middle so you don’t have to bend down to adjust them dags
Reply 7 of 11
AnswerID: 148702   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 08:48

Flash replied:

I use aluminium poles- fraction dearer when you buy but no rust and a heck of a lot lighter. Most campshops sell them....
Of course though that won't help you if you have already bought steel.
try Lanotec spray- it's brilliant but WILL leave a bit of a sticky film.
Certainly though wash any salt off them and put them away when very dry.
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 148706   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 09:03

Darian (formerly Banjo) replied:

Silicon spray would be my pick - anything that stays wet (like oil based products) will attract dust - re silicon - there are cheap cans and pro cans - the pro cans are around $15 and seem a much cleaner product (used by technicians etc - sometimes specified for electrical work I think) - the cheapies stink a bit and seem to have something else in there. I'd try the cheapies for something like poles, seeing they get knocked about. I take the pro stuff with me and give the zips on the canvas a squirt if they get sticky.

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 148827   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 21:06

Mal58 replied:

The white powder on the galvanised poles is sometimes called white rust. It shows that the galvanising is protecting the metal underneath.

As several have suggested, use, keeps the white off. However, for those of us that don't get to go camping as often as we'd like, other alternatives are required.

Some years ago, I accidently packed up some of my poles wet and when I went to use them they were white.

I cleaned the white off with a "soft" scouring pad. I then wiped them over with wax based car polish.

I "repolish" them every now and again and this seems to work for me.

Mal
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 148891   Submitted: Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 10:41

Member - t0me (WA) replied:

Hey that sounds like the same sort of stuff you get on batteries (ionisation corrosion?) anyway what about a bit of bi-carb and water?
Once its clean that silicon spray would be excellent. I used to use it on my bike, and for the first dozen or so miles you had to watch it when braking that you didn't slide off the bike! brilliant stuff.
Reply 11 of 11

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website