Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Big Red Overheats

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:58

Trekkie

I have had my Big Red air compressor for over 8 years and it has never let me down. Last few times I have been out it has overheated and stops until it cools a little. (pouring cold water onto a towel wrapped around the motor helps) I know they have an overheat cut off.
Its probably overdue for a service before it stops when I really need it.
Does anyone know if I can get it serviced somewhere in Perth
That Would Be Bad
Click Image to Enlarge
Trekkie
Beam me up Scottie !!!
ThreadID: 29709 Replies: 5
Views: 667 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 148654   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 00:04

geocacher (djcache) replied:

Has it got an air filter on the inlet - it should as many/most do - though I'm not familiar with the brand you are talking about?

If so have you ever cleaned it?

Could just be that it's working bloody hard trying to pull air through an increasingly large resistance.

The new truck
Click Image to Enlarge
Have you tried geocaching yet?
www.geocaching.com
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 148664   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 00:40

David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms replied:

Hi Trekkie.

ARB are resellers of Big Red compressors.
4wd megastores import them
http://www.4wdmegastores.com.au/

Davy
Engine Saver Low Water AlarmsEngine Saver Low Water Alarms
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 148679   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 07:09

Member - Jack replied:

Try this link.
There is an article on servicing compressors at the bottom of the page.

Jack
All power corrupts, but we need the electricity.
Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 148698   Submitted: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 08:44

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

My bet is the air filter....... it should have a filter on the air inlet and if that gets blocked it won't work properly.
Give it a clean, or if it's really dirty replace it....
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Personal One on One Surfing Lessons Personal One on One Surfing Lessons
Sydney - NSW
Imagine having the opportunity to surf with one of Sydney's most professional surf teachers one on o
Scenic Wine Tasting Tour Scenic Wine Tasting Tour
Hunter Valley - NSW
Join us on our full day "Grand Tour" of the superb Hunter Valley wine region.
Massage For Men - 60 Minutes Massage For Men - 60 Minutes
Canberra - INT
Man, oh man, have we got a gift for you!
Cruise on Sydney Harbour - 1 Hour Cruise on Sydney Harbour - 1 Hour
Sydney - NSW
A great way to see Sydney Harbour in an hour.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 148866   Submitted: Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 08:11

Darian (formerly Banjo) replied:

Yep - sounds filtery like to me - the filter is the only owner-serviceable part probably - the one in my ARB job is a sintered metal plate - just wash it out then blow it out - the ARB does not even have a thermal cut-out - "not needed" was the response when I asked - apparently they can run happily while very hot - something about ceramic parts in them.

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions