Why the (*&^ don't people search first?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:11
ThreadID: 30118 Views:3417 Replies:25 FollowUps:51
My gripe for the evening.

Why is it that people - predominantly non members - don't search first before posting questions that many of us have put (collectively) hours and pages into answering many times over?

Predominantly questions on satphones, first aid kits, crappy chinese generators (noise generators??), cooper tyres chipping, and Nissan 3 litre Patrols expiring in a spectacular fashion, seem to be the hot topics that attract offenders.

What would happen if all the regulars stopped answering them for a couple of weeks and just referred them to past posts?

David has put a lot of effort into the search functions and they aren't hard to use.

After all many of the new guests have probably already used a search engine to find the site in the first place.

It's not rocket science. It is inconsiderate. And it perpetually fills the pages at the top of the posts with crap that's been done to death, and in many cases no new information comes to light.

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:17

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:17
While I have your attention, what is better; Waeco or Engel?
AnswerID: 150941

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:22

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:22
Goggomobile
FollowupID: 404485

Follow Up By: Eddy - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:23

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:23
That answer is best left to one of the regulars ooopps! Members I mean!
FollowupID: 404486

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:25

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:25
depends on the beer. I find VB is far superior out of an Engel but if you were in QLD drinking xxxx then Waeco tends to come up trumps. It's a good excuse to have a variety of not only fridges but also beer.
FollowupID: 404488

Follow Up By: Eddy - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:28

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:28
Is that a 3 way or compressor type, which one make the beer taste best?
FollowupID: 404494

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:34

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:34
now 3 ways are a different story because they often require turning upside down to resume normal operating mode, this unfortunately stuffs the beer something terrible so 3 ways are limited in use to SA only because for some reason it actually improves their amber liquid.
FollowupID: 404497

Follow Up By: Eddy - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:40

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:40
They must have wigets in their beer cans
FollowupID: 404500

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:48

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:48
You looking for a bite MAD DOG!.....LOL
FollowupID: 404505

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:25

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:25
Just trying hard to be a good Australian Willem.
FollowupID: 404521

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:55

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:55
Happy Australia Day

FollowupID: 404528

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:43

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:43
And to you too Ray.
FollowupID: 404540

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:28

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:28
Ok I'll bite lol................the best beer around is here Ray, and its not in a green can. :)
FollowupID: 404618

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:19

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:19
You are not the first to gripe about this.

I remember Truckster and others posting something similar a couple of years ago

I think that most people are unaware of the search function although it stares them in the face :o)
AnswerID: 150943

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:35

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:35
and not every search is self-evident.

Mis-spelling, etc. get in the way.

Collie Range NP or Collie Ranges NP or Collie Range National Park ...

I think the frustration is exacerbated by the single forum for every subject - most forums break it up, and the FAQs are sticky noted at the top of the forum.

I think this forum could do with breaking up.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 404498

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:46

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:46
Yes Willie, are you saying that Dave should have searched first before asking this qauestion.
FollowupID: 404503

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:49

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:49
Hahahahahahahaha

Like your pic though.................
FollowupID: 404506

Follow Up By: bouncer - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:50

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:50
What Mad Dog said LOL

Even the members, Regulars do it (forget to use search) every now and then on all forums not just this one.
FollowupID: 404508

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:38

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:38
I reckon when pressing the button for a new topic, it should automatically open up the search window that takes up the whole screen to FORCE people to search.
FollowupID: 404597

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:31

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:31
Ah Truckster,

The reinforcements finally arrive.

To quote someone else "I'd like to see that..."

FollowupID: 404771

Reply By: Trekkie - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:32

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:32
If we all used the great search facility, then we would never get "other" opinions or changes to technology.

Just imagine if someone asked a question 5,000 years ago "what is a wheel ?"

You would have got an answer - but it would have left out all the other 4,999 years of answers.
AnswerID: 150953

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:50

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:50
True enough on some topics, but as an example and the one that bleep me off tonight, how many developments have there been in basic first aid kit contents in the last 5 years?

The same answer has applied for a very long time.

The answers on the last few threads have been nothing short of comprehensive.

I like this forum, and the fact that you don't have to go through several different boards to see all the posts - funny as it really annoyed me when I first arrived a few years ago - but a breakdown of topics would alleviate the multi post problem somewhat.

Maybe users should actually be required to do do a quick search before new threads can be posted.

It'd take about a minute longer I reckon if there was no previous topic related, and may prevent many unnecessary posts as people would surf off and find the answer they are looking for anyway if they noticed a few threads of interest that related to their topic.

FollowupID: 404507

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:07

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:07
Maybe ou're a bit touchy about the first aid kit thing Dave, like in your pic mate, chill out, I am sure there are many other things that you could focus on to raise the bile level in your system (maybe not bile but whatever causes one to blow their top)

all the best

FollowupID: 404551

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:38

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:38
Truckster does complain about this regulary (along with alot of other stuff) And while I hear Ya sometimes it can be hard to do a search containing generic terms as it brings in alot of other stuff to wade through. Also there are plenty of new people coming and going that can add to- or get something out of the posts.
I dont know what you mean by fills the pages at the top of the posts coz the thing i reeely like about this forum is that posts go down the screen instead of staying at the top with each reply just gathering crap and degenerating
AnswerID: 150956

Follow Up By: Eddy - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:43

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:43
I reckon someone has the s9887s because his posts go down the bottom to fast.
Good healthy sign for the site in anyone language.

Begineers deserve respect too.

I never realised this site had a members ranking system before.
FollowupID: 404502

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:12

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:12
It's not that at all Eddy.

The site & it's purpose deserve a little respect too.

As do those that provide the lions share of responses. And I'm not referring to my self here. There are many who are regular posters of quality info. Their time is given freely & wasting it unnecessarily is not respectful at all.

Even a Google (AU) search rather than a forum search will pull two links to ExplorOz.com in the top twenty for "4wd first aid"

It's not hard.

FollowupID: 404516

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:13

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:13
Many members here are rank Eddy, I agree about the new people shoould be respected and qns answered if theres a great answer then we can search and link them to it, otherwise if its a topic done b4 then I gloss over it, just back from 2 days in the big smoke and 123 new posts, oh well there goes a bit of time cest la vie

FollowupID: 404553

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:45

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:45
I think products change so quickly that what is in the archives is not always relivant, which is why the forum is always a living beast...but yeah, some are just annoying in the fact that there is quite often a similar question on the current page
AnswerID: 150957

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:51

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 23:51
Be tolerant people.

Some people, especially visitors, but not restricted to them are not as familiar with the forum like some "smarty pants" and probably don't notice that there is a search function.

I would sooner anyone ask the question regardless. There is always someone who may have new, or updated knowledge to share.

So go ahead everyone, ask away. That is what the forum is about and bugger those of us who are uptight, or intolerant, or maybe just miserable:-)

I wont bite ya's.

AnswerID: 150960

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:06

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:06
Are you suggesting that all who know about the search function are "smarty pants"?

I don't think it's too much to ask.

Personally I have contributed lengthy answers to the First Aid Kit question on a number of occassions. Several hundred words and quite a bit of time.

I'd love to answer each and every thread that starts on the topic. There are many "less than adequate" first aid kits out there being marketed at exorbitant prices by reputable organisations.

Unfortunately I don't have an abundance of time. I don't think it's at all unreasonable to ask that people at least make the effort to have a look first - after all it is they who expect others to dedicate the time to answering their question with quality answers.

On many occasions it would actually save them the time of typing a lengthy question in the first place.

It's not unlike people who call triple O to report a person unconscious in a park or in a stationary car without stopping to check it out. Then we have to go out in an ambulance (my longest trip to such a job was a 50km each way response) to find out that the person was fatigued and stopped for a power nap, or was having a snooze in the park. Do you think it's reasonable that they tie up an emergency vehicle for an hour (so it's not available to you) because they couldn't be fagged stopping to render assistance or check out the situation first?

FollowupID: 404513

Follow Up By: crfan - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:10

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:10
I agree with you sandman ,and you can speed read though the stuff you know the answer to.
I think this forum has the best system for reading all the new posts and picking what you want to have a look at.
FollowupID: 404515

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:31

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:31
Dave,

Let me put it another way.
Not everyone is as computer literate as you, or I, or understands the ettiquette preached on here from time to time.

Let them post I say!

Now go and have another beer mate.

FollowupID: 404522

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:37

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:37
Bed time actually. Working in Wang tomorrow so very early start for very long day.

Stirred up some interesting responses though. Be interesting to see the ones that come in tomorrow on the bosses time when they all get into the office to start "work".

Computers save time and increase productivity you know...they must IBM told us they would in the early 80's.

FollowupID: 404524

Follow Up By: Trekkie - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 21:10

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 21:10
Actually "tomorrow" is s Public Holiday for most of us
FollowupID: 404747

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:56

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:56
No such luxury here. I spent most of my day juggling resources around covering CFA staging posts and reading fire updates, with a brief interlude to give about 15 mins of first aid instruction to a parent whose kid ripped his neck open on a star picket & barbed wire fence off a 4 wheel motor bike.

FollowupID: 404781

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:06

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:06
This problem will prob only ever be solved when a pop-up window is put in place, that appears when you click the 'new post' button.

It should state something like "Did you know you can search previous posts on this topic for information" - "To continue please click here or to go to the search function click 'search'

Would eradicate a lot of posting.

Also I thought today that maybe David should think about floating the 'most replied to' posts continually to the top . These posts are obviously of great interest to the majority. I don't know just a thought.

AnswerID: 150964

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:19

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:19
Your last sentence can already be done - sort of.

At the top of the Forum list there's two options. Under the title bar "Sort Options" you can select "Post ID" order, which is the default, or "Response Time" Order.

A busy post is obviously popular, as this one is at the moment and while it remains busy it will gravitate to the top.

What it probably needs is a common topic page linking to threads on the really common topics? Dunno. Just a thought.

FollowupID: 404519

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:39

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:39
It is good that apparantly you get the option to put posts with alot of answers going to the top. i however detest it because it is usually the first 6 posts that contain the most informative answers and good answers by the time they make it 1/2 way down the screen are few and far between. You just need to look at the overlander forum where posts replied to often, contain nothing but drivel and then degenerate in to arguments. It happens here far less and if it does it is on another page not sitting in your face for the whole day.
For instance this post in generating alot of replys but really besides Dave stating his opinion and a few agreeing and a few not It has well and truly all been said
FollowupID: 404525

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 21:43

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 21:43
So by your own description Daveo, being follow up 2 of reply 7 on adverage your answer would " contain nothing but drivel " ?
FollowupID: 404762

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 19:07

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 19:07
Sorry Glenn - just got back to work and found the followup in my work emails. And yea both this reply and my other one dont really add much and really arnt worth reading.
FollowupID: 406319

Reply By: crfan - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:14

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:14
I dont want youto think I am having a go at you but what about just posting the thread number of your previous post instead of answering it again or just not reading that thread ?some time my answers come across as blunt I dont mean to be.
AnswerID: 150967

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:16

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:16
Cos then I have to do the search to find them myself unless I maintain a list. If you spoon feed people they continue to expect it.

Fair question though.

FollowupID: 404518

Reply By: brom - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:35

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:35
gripe back at ya....
maybe we cant find it...
maybe it doesn`t make sense...
maybe we`re unsure...
maybe we are fed up of your waffle... and are asking someone else who wants to help...GET A LIFE...?
AnswerID: 150971

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:42

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:42
Now that wasn't nice.

Coming from someone who has started/contributed to all of 5 threads, it's probably not a good way to endear yourself to those who you want to anwer them....

Some of us have been a very long time and have developed relationships that allow a little mud throwing and casual friendly disrespect (tongue in cheek often).

Others like you haven't...carefull.

FollowupID: 404526

Follow Up By: Eddy - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:40

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:40
5 threads or 500 threads, one man one vote or are you implying because you are a prolific poster who has been on the forum a "very long time", It gives you some intrinsic rights that we lesser mortals don't posses?

You had a shot at non members not doing searches in your original post tonight, which by the way started this whole disgracefull thread.

At one point you said :

Maybe users should actually be required to do do a quick search before new threads can be posted.
It'd take about a minute longer I reckon if there was no previous topic related, and may prevent many unnecessary posts as people would surf off and find the answer they are looking for anyway if they noticed a few threads of interest that related to their topic.

Do you really think David or any of us would be happy to see prospective members "Surf off" as you so elequentely put it.

" I " reckon as an older & not so nimble fingerer keyboard user you have sucumbed to a bit of tunnel vision.

Never mind David, with a little bit of rest & humility it can be cured.
This forum does not belong to any one little smug group.

FollowupID: 404538

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:15

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:15
>This forum does not belong to any one little smug group.

"belong"? Perhaps... but there certainly is a very alive and well clique of "The Chosen Few" on here and I get a sense Geocacher may well soon be proposed for membership....

FollowupID: 404554

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:20

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:20
now youre getting into the action brom, keep practising

FollowupID: 404559

Reply By: brom - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:53

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 00:53
you call that mud sling`...u weak a#s bastard.your having a go at 99% who get on this site 4 a little bit of 4b info only 2 b berated by a pecker like u.i`ll get my info from others...stick it CAPT 4BY
AnswerID: 150979

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:39

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:39
Hmmm!!!!! Nice bloke you are.
Nowhere did I see Dave post anything personally abusive in this thread and certainly did not deserve the response you offered.

FollowupID: 404537

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:24

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:24
geez brom mate dont get down off ya bike I'll get ya pump!! Theres no need to mention peckers or heads just reply like you previous post, lifes too short to spend it angry.

FollowupID: 404560

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:18

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:18
Nice knowing ya post
AnswerID: 150982

Reply By: Member - t0me (WA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:50

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:50
Hey DJ, I believe this topic has been covered in a previous post. Perhaps if you'd done a search first....

J/K mate, drives me batty sometimes too :-)

Sometimes I find that if there's a lot of posting on a particular day then a topic will get lost really quickly before its been played out properly and the questions (etc) answered completely. When that's happened I can understand a re-post on a previously covered topic.

It does reflect on the pretty piss poor attitude some people have where they don't give a rats a$$ that someone else has had to do the work for them. They happily take advantage of the good people who are willing to help out where they can, when with as much or less effort they could have sorted things out for themselves.
Laziness I guess?
AnswerID: 150984

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 07:03

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 07:03
This forum has been going for a few years now.
Most questions have been asked about fridges tyres etc etc etc etc.
Use archives and don't ask questions.
= no forum

AnswerID: 150992

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:26

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:26
Exactly, without questions the forum ceases to exist Every question has numerous answers each delivered from differing points of view. The only stupid question is the one you are too afraid to ask. No use looiking at answers in the past as the real answer may have only been dicovered 5 minutes ago. New people should be encouraged not criticised. Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 404589

Follow Up By: Nebster - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 13:23

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 13:23
I agree.

You (we) are not obliged to answer the questions asked by newbies.

If it is annoying you, the fact that the question has been asked a thousand times before, LET IT GO, DONT ANSWER IT.

FollowupID: 404879

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:04

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:04
Also, questions do get asked that have been asked before but for a specific application or for specific circumstances. Some can be a bit obvious, though.
AnswerID: 151000

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:09

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:09
Dave,

I understand your frustrations as a long time contributor/member. However, from a relative newcomer's perspective, remember that getting involved with a forum such as this can be a little daunting. While the bantering between those who know each other and have been at it for a while is great and often amusing, it can come across as a little daunting to someone who is new to the forum and make them feel a little bit like an outsider. For some people, a simple question (even if it has appeared many times before) is a good way to test the waters and get involved. If the response to my first ever post was, 'search the forum it has been answered before many times', then some may be reluctant to post again.

I guess that the bottom line (IMHO) is that some time spent by the more 'experiennced' forumists answering questions that may be simple and oft repeated, provides a great welcome to new users and encourages them to sign up.

As a special interest group, we come under pressure from many quarters, I reckon that the more we can do to promote a sense of community for 4wders, then the better off we are.

AnswerID: 151015

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:37

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:37
Gees there's some people with thin skin here.

All I suggested was that people search forums for info before posting, and suggested that I felt a bit miffed that questions I had put a lot of effort into answering were being asked time and again. Okay maybe I could have toned down the subject line, and the original post a little but I stand by much of what I said, certainly the intent of it.

Sorry to those that have heaped abuse here, that I bothered to answer those questions in the past, and for feeling that those answers had been worth the time and effort that I put into them. I must have been mistaken, as were those who who PM'd me on various topics, and those who built the drawers & bits & pieces I've spent time doing drawings for and the like. I further apologise for making the effort to submit a few trek notes from time to time.

Now I give my time freely cos I like helping people. I don't profess to be part of anything other than the forum as a group. Inevitably there will be people who are new and old members of the group, and members and non-members. I didn't draw the distinction to profess anything other than that. How else do you make the distinction?

For that I have been accused of being part of a clique, being exclusive and berated, abused and worse.

I can agree to disagree with a few people. Thanks to those who asked people to tone it down. (I'm not quite sure who Ozdyssey's post was directed at - me or the post above - so I'll reserve myself for a bit on that one.)

Other than that, if I have offended any newcomers to the group I apologise.

Most people have treated this as what it was intended, a post to promote a discussion about the merits of searching before posting, and maybe to get a few people to use the archives. Others have unfortunately demonstrated that it's far easier to abuse someone you've never met while hiding behind a keyboard, based on a few lines of type.

AnswerID: 151017

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:46

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:46
>Gees there's some people with thin skin here.

There certainly are :)

FollowupID: 404577

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:03
Dave,

Don't worry about it. Anything posted on the Forum is bound to generate some heat somewhere. It all blows over pretty quickly.

If you see a post that has been well and truly answered previously, reply or ignore it. If you ignore it somebody else will jump in and then it normally snowballs from there.

FollowupID: 404582

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:07

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:07
Dave,

I hope that my post was not one of the ones that caused you offence. The advice and attitude of yourself and many others was one of the reasons I wanted to join up. Nothing wrong either with the light hearted banter between members who know each other personally or through this forum, it adds a great spirit and sense of community. You only need to look at John's recent post (30123) to see how great a forum like this can be for making friends. All that I ask is that we consider those new to this community, show a little patience and before long they are familiar with all that this forum has to offer and able to use it well.

P.S. The pst on the drunk idiot in WA (29816) was one of the funniest things I have read for a long time.
FollowupID: 404584

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:15

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:15
Martyr Syndrome - or Centre of the Earth Syndrome - or both?

FollowupID: 404595

Follow Up By: obone - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:03

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:03
Hey Goecacher, you started this thread sitting on top of your high horse and finished it like a whipped mongrel dog " sorry..... I bothered to answer those questions in the past".
Fair dinkum, you'd put my 5 year old granddaughter to shame in the dummy spitting and pouting lip event.
Please don't waste your time answering any future questions at all, that'll show em'
FollowupID: 404630

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:37

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:37
Didn't think I had to write "Sarcasm on" and "Sarcasm off" at the start and the end of that paragraph, obone. Maybe I should have.

FollowupID: 404772

Reply By: Member - David 0- Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:50

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:50
Because they can
AnswerID: 151019

Reply By: Member - Des - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:57

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:57
I agree that the search function works well. Sometimes too well. When I wanted to but a fridge recently I did a search for relevant terms and came up with lots and lots of hits. I read many many posts. The signal/noise ratio was not great, but in any one there were likely to be nuggets of further info or new developments. I suspect that many people aren't prepared to spend the time doing this and find it easier to just post, for the 100th time, "What fridge should I buy?" I tried instead to ask a specific question about two particular models that I was considering.

Actually one of the striking from reading all these posts is how generous people are. Every time someone posts the same question, they will patiently provide the answer. Sometimes there is abuse (see above example), but most people are patient, courteous and helpful. The goodwill and body of knowledge in this forum is something hard to build and very valuable. That's the main reason why I am a member. We all have a responsibility to keep it alive.

Last point. After 30,000 posts, I think the single forum is too unwieldy. There are currently over 900 active posts. By my count there have been about 30 new posts in the last 24 hours. Unless you look every day, even most regulars (say, every 7 or 14 days) are only going to see the titles of a small proportion of posts. That means that only a small proportion of people are available to answer any given post. If you don't get the answer you want within a couple of days, your post will drift down the list and you are unlikely to get a response from a new person. Thus most posts die within a few days. That adds to the temptation for people to cast a new line in the sea to try to catch a new fish. And so it goes on, in an increasing spiral. One answer, to me, is split the forum into subject areas that reflect a reasonble division of the topics. That way someone with a particular interest in posts about travel can focus on the travel forum. Those with an interest in vehicle problems can do likewise. And so on.

That's my two-bob's worth.

AnswerID: 151035

Follow Up By: Member - t0me (WA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:09

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:09
eh, funnily enuf I started a thread on this last night coz I was thinking the exact same thing (your last point) have a look at PostID: 30124

For now I reackon it will stay like it is.
FollowupID: 404611

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:39

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:39
Did you search before posting this? Its been done before....
AnswerID: 151044

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:45

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:45
So has your reply - did you do a search before posting?...hang on I didnt either!!

FollowupID: 404665

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:53

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:53
It is tedious answering the same question for the 127th time (that year!), but searching does not overcome that technology constantly changes.

What was the optimum solution two/three years ago may not be today: AGM batteries are becoming the norm; solarmodules are increasing smaller per watt making it more feasible to run larger fridges; fuel cells are now available (even if they do cost several thousand dollars).

There is stuff in the first editions of my books that is no longer valid - I update them every few months for exactly the above reasons.

Re Engel via Waeco. As correct installation is so vital, in almost every discussion of this topic, respondents are comparing the way they have installed the fridge - rather than the fridges themselves.

Install either properly and there's little if anything between them (although I feel Engel is better made).
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 151070

Reply By: parthy - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:10

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:10
Jeeeeez chillout man if you don't like the question by pass you don't have to open it
sorry im am only a visitor so there for pretty dumb
AnswerID: 151098

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:47

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 22:47
Only by your own admission Parthy. I never said that - about you or anyone else.

:o))

FollowupID: 404775

Reply By: warthog - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:52

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:52
I think we are all on here for a bit of entertainment. Interesting thread, with some controversial responses. Thanks Dave, good reading :-).
AnswerID: 151108

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 20:22

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 20:22
Got to agree Dave. Too many repeats of the same topic in too short a period. I get over it by refering the newby back to an appropiate post or by simply cut & pasting my entire response a 2nd time. For anyone with expertise in a subject it often takes some considerable effort to type a detailed response then to have it slip off the front page in as little as a day only to be reposted again within the week.
We don't really wont to get to the point where members keep a folder of all their responses so they can cut & paste them into the new post to avoid retyping it over again.
For the new guys who repeat post not much can be done, but for the regulars, well............they just like seeing their names up in lights or are trolling ;-)
I put many of the repeated posts about which product to buy down to individuals trying to justify their purchase by finding others who'll agree with them (no matter how bad it may be). I find it quite amusing :-)
Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 151153

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 12:39

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 12:39
geochacer,
I reckon you should have done a search first, this topic has been brought up already.
Dean
AnswerID: 151267

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 20:39
Gee Daen,

How original. So's your answer!

Thanks for your input though,

FollowupID: 404990

Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 17:59

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 17:59
Dave, if you feel so strongly about this subject simply do a search for the perpetrators on their chosen subject and then post a link to the search. It's easy to do and will take away all the angst which you are feeling. You could get really clever and save a list of links to regular topics of offence for use at the appropriate times.

If symptoms persist though, please see a doctor.
AnswerID: 151863