Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Your ultimate campfire

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 16:44

Wombat

Recently whilst sitting around the campfire with friends, both old and new and thinking to myself how lucky we were to be relaxing with such a great bunch, from such a diverse range of backgrounds, all able to converse and offer their differing opinions in a civil manner without fear or favour, my mind started to wander . . . . . and I started to hypothethize . . . . . "If I could gather my guests, living or dead from anytime, anywhere, who would I have at my ultimate campfire?"

My beautiful wife and daughter would be first choice without any doubt because they are the most important people in my world and if I could talk my old dad into leaving the house because I love him, although maybe at a younger age when he was more alert and entertaining. And of course Mum could come back just so I could kiss and cuddle her one more time.

"But who else would I invite if my choices were unlimited?"

Who would you invite to your ultimate campfire?
ThreadID: 30324 Replies: 19
Views: 1030 FollowUps: 33
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 152319   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 17:01

Member - Blue (VIC) replied:

I'm actually pretty happy with the bunch we get around our average camp fire... Missus, kids and the regular group of like minded mates(and their families)... No stress, good conversation mixed with just the right amount of smutt(once the kids are safely asleep of course)... Maybe bring my grandfather back... He could turn a 5 minute tale into an all night laugh fest.

Click Image to Enlarge
Puritanism: The haunting fear that someone, somewhere may be happy.
Reply 1 of 19
FollowupID: 406000   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 17:14

Member - Blue (VIC) posted:

I almost forgot the most important guest...

YOU Paul, of course... Although I did notice I don't rate a mention in your list...

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 406262   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:30

Wombat posted:

We'd just bore everyone because we wouldn't have any stories to tell about when our trucks broke down or got stuck in the middle of nowhere Captain Chaos.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 406270   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:38

Member - Blue (VIC) posted:

Ahhh yes... No-one wants to hear stories about perfection in vehicular design...

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 152325   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 17:15

Al & Mrs Al (Vic) replied:

hiya Wombie

like you I would have the people who mean most to me there, and some of them will no doubt read this post, I'd love to have your mum at any campfire she used to make me laugh very easily and was an absolute delight to have known ....I'd love to have my granddad there only because I never knew him and I think he'd be an interesting kind of bloke..Hugh Jackman - just beacuse...do I need a reason?..lol...Euan MacGregor - same reason as Hugh, William Wallace, Joan of Arc [was she really a transexual schizophrenic? perhaps a campfire would bring back bad memories for Joan, so maybe not...]

and Jesus Christ - there's a number of questions I'd love to ask him....lol....[I'm sure he'd love my friends too.... :) ]

Lyn

Click Image to Enlarge
"Life isn't measured by the breaths you take but by the things that take your breath away"

Reply 2 of 19
FollowupID: 406062   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 20:17

Al & Mrs Al (Vic) posted:

and Matthew Flinders and his incredibly patient and loyal wife Anne....

Click Image to Enlarge
"Life isn't measured by the breaths you take but by the things that take your breath away"

FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 406086   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 21:21

Member - laura B (NSW) posted:

Jesus is on top of my list with my hubby and 2 little girls...plenty to say to him...all praises though!!
defineltey Bruce simpson - ringer from the good old days of the 30's-50's....reading his book now....what fun they have had on the cattle stations!!
cant forget my mate pat...he is a leg-end!!hi pat if ya there....
laura b

HAPPY ON THE INSIDE WHEN IM OUTSIDE
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
'Why be difficult when with a little extra effort you can be bloody impossible'
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 406264   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:31

Wombat posted:

Maybe we could do a bit of matchmaking and get Joan and Jesus together. Now there's a match made in heaven.
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 406284   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:49

Well I'm not so sure of that....hahahahha

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 406290   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:58

Wombat posted:

I don't know! They say opposites attract. He was very focussed, single-minded and driven and she, on the other hand, as a transexual schizophrenic obviously couldn't make her mind up.
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 152326   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 17:18

cokeaddict replied:

Good question...one ive thought about a few times.
I would without a doubt have John Lennon there with his acustic guitar.

My other guests would be Robert O;'Hara Burke and Willaim John Wills. I would take them back to ther base camp at Cooper's Creek, continue on their original Journey to the Gulf of Carpenteria and this time take them back to Victoria where their journey started from, but in the luxury of a 4wd.

Can you imagine what they would be thinking if such a thing was possible....the mind boggles.
Ange
I love it when you talk DIRTY !
Reply 3 of 19
FollowupID: 406159   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 07:46

Redback posted:

They would still get lost and go the wrong way
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 406172   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 08:32

ImEasy posted:

hahahahaha
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 152349   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 19:36

Member - Ray replied:

Rember this. All you have to is what I do.Close your eyes,then open them while looking up at the sky and in the quiet every one you ever knew who is gone is right there with you.And talk to them as if they are there. Never fails to bring back how damn lucky we are to be in such a fantastic countryt.
Reply 4 of 19
FollowupID: 406090   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 21:26

Member - laura B (NSW) posted:

AMEN!
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 406128   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 23:23

bombsquad posted:

like laura above I was going to say no-one. a bit of absolute slence and your own (strange and stupid) thaughts is very hard to find these days.

of corse my wife, daughter and son are the feel good choices, and my choice most of the time, but occasionally solitude a couple of hundred ks from the nearest human or part there of is nesessary once or twice a year, even if only for a few hours or so
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Flight Simulator Experience at Q1 Flight Simulator Experience at Q1
Gold Coast - QLD
Have you ever wondered what it's like to fly a commercial aircraft or tired of flying as a passenger
Helicopter Flight - Just the Alice - 10 minutes Helicopter Flight - Just the Alice - 10 minut
Alice Springs and Central Australia - NT
Exciting from lift off to touchdown, take to the sky in one of our bubble-cabined Bell 47 helicopter
Ripple Girls Weekend Massage and Beauty Treatments Ripple Girls Weekend Massage and Beauty Treat
Brisbane - QLD
Pamper yourself and your girlfriends in the comfort of your home or accommodation.
Jet Boat Ride Sydney with Lunch Jet Boat Ride Sydney with Lunch
Sydney - NSW
Hold on tight as your skipper of this jet boat ride hits full throttle and unleashes the surging pow
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 152351   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 19:39

Wayne (NSW) replied:

Wombat,

Craig Lewis and Cathy Savage,( Boiling Billy Publications). I reckon the stories they could tell about all the travels they have done and of course all the characters they have met on the way.

Wayne.
Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
Reply 5 of 19
FollowupID: 406240   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 13:04

Member - Tony G (ACT) posted:

My wife and I had the pleasure of sharing a camp with Craig and Cathy in 96 when thay were still driving a Subaroo Wgn. Loverly couple.

Still catch up with them every other year, in the bush and at the 4WD shows.
Tony
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152354   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 19:48

Brew69(SA) replied:

All the family of course and then a few others like the late Don Bradman, ummmm and maybe monica lewinsky to light my cigars.
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Reply 6 of 19
FollowupID: 406114   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 22:19

geocacher (djcache) posted:

Hey Brew, What happened? Your smiley is drinking lights & he's lost a lot of weight!

I can see it now - Brew69's beer diet - lose weight fast....

The new truck
Click Image to Enlarge
Have you tried geocaching yet?
www.geocaching.com
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 406137   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 05:24

Brew69(SA) posted:

I have no idea??????? Not hapy Jan either. Maybe David didn't like it???
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 406266   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:34

Wombat posted:

Maybe it shrunk after Monica had finished with it?
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 406272   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:39

gramps posted:

ROFLMAO ... good one Wombat
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 152363   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 20:26

Footloose replied:

Wombat, what a thoughtful philosophic post. One that should get people thinking. Some of the replies obviously show evidence of this. JC is an obvious candidate, as are relatives.
I've often wondered if the appropriate world leaders from various persuasions would benefit from being there. Camp David eat your heart out.
Personally I think that if you are enjoying the company around the fire then you're pretty lucky, no matter who'se there. These are the times we look back on when the clouds are blackest.
May you all share many happy campsites.
Reply 7 of 19
FollowupID: 406269   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:36

Wombat posted:

Never any black clouds in my world Footy - in fact I can't remember any clouds at all. I reckon from your posts you would be a fantastic cobber to chew the fat with around a campfire.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 406293   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 16:15

Footloose posted:

Thanks Wombat. If only I had more time around fires then I'd probably be a nicer bloke :)) Best fire I remember was when my wife and kids were a bit north of Oodnadatta for their first time. It became so cold that we heaped all our blankets etc on the kids and stoked the fire. We sat around the fire until after sun up, just talking and watching the day come alive. Magic. I wish I had of appreciated it more at the time.
No black clouds ? What a wonderful philosophy.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 152376   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 21:13

Member - toohey replied:

ah to be reminded of those entertain shows, henry lawson.
cheers toohey
Reply 8 of 19
AnswerID: 152380   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 21:24

Member - laura B (NSW) replied:

OF COURSE I WOULD BRING THE 2 PEOPLE THAT MURDERED FRIENDS IN NOWRA RECENTLY....THEN I WOULD BRING JESUS AND ASK HIM TO BRING JUSTICE ON TO THESE SELFISH HUMANS NICE AND EARLY!
LAURA B
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 9 of 19
AnswerID: 152384   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 21:33

Mad Dog (Australia) replied:

Not being one who appreciates the serious side of life I'd like the company of Benny Hill complete with his smut and sexism.

Reply 10 of 19
FollowupID: 406271   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:39

Wombat posted:

Now you've started that bloody music in my head, Ray. YOU BASTARD!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152401   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 22:24

geocacher (djcache) replied:

Billy Connolly & Robin Williams

If I charged admission I could get a new Patrol!

If could have anyone as suggested and you invited JC and he didn't turn up it could seriously damage your faith!

You could bring Osama and forget to tell him you invited the feds!

Family and friends would have to be top of the list. Both my grandfathers would be grand to have back for an hour.

The new truck
Click Image to Enlarge
www.geocaching.com
Reply 11 of 19
FollowupID: 406126   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 23:19

Member - John (Vic) posted:

Dave I don't quite think I would want to be sitting at the same fire a Osama, I would be a bit worried about the 500lb laser guided bomb that was headed for the fire. LOL.
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 406130   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 23:43

geocacher (djcache) posted:

Yeah but it looks like it's the only way they'll find him....

They've tried everything else!
The new truck
Click Image to Enlarge
www.geocaching.com
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 406273   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:41

Wombat posted:

Now if you had Osama at your campfire you could guarantee that the debate would be hearty, to say the least.
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 152407   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 22:38

Bonz (Vic) replied:

Wombie I have found its not who you invite but who turns up that makes the day. We had a fire out the front of our place one year, closed off the street and invited the whole street, had about 50-60 there I spose. later in the night a couple of Irish guys turned up, theyd called into the pub for a feed and found out these crazy aussies had closed the st and lit a fire and had to call around for a look see. They turned out to be hugely funny and entertaining and also relaxed and calm all at the same time, It was a fire to remember. Brnt a hole 3" deep in my grass took 2 years to recover hahahahaah

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 12 of 19
FollowupID: 406288   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:55

Wombat posted:

That's commonly known as the "Digger and Stew" phenomenon, Bonz.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Jet Boat Ride Sydney with Lunch Jet Boat Ride Sydney with Lunch
Sydney - NSW
Hold on tight as your skipper of this jet boat ride hits full throttle and unleashes the surging pow
Ultimate Kuranda Experience Ultimate Kuranda Experience
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
What more can you ask for than the Ultimate Kuranda Experience!
Rapid Bay Caves and Cliffs Kayaking Adventure Rapid Bay Caves and Cliffs Kayaking Adventure
Fleurieu Peninsula - SA
Come try sea kayaking this summer. It's safe, adventurous and fun!
Kings Cross Discovery Teambuilder Kings Cross Discovery Teambuilder
Sydney - NSW
Take your team on an adventure into Sydney's wild side.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 152425   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 01:38

crfan replied:

I think if I could only Pick one Person it would have to be Leonardo da vinci every thing you read about him seems to me, that he a knowledge that hasn't been equaled even in our time we are still catching up.
But if I realy got the chane I would have to be My Dad ,Dad died when I was 8 and my little bro was 6.
He is talked about a buy his mate's as a legend 30 years later.
He was a pro Fisherman (before the big bucks were in it)and was a pilot.
Retored a couple of Tiger Moths and built a couple of other Planes in his back shed
Landed his Tiger on an island before there was an airstrip on it ,
Reply 13 of 19
FollowupID: 406278   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:43

Wombat posted:

Sounds like a wonderful campfire full of knowledge, pride and a lot of tears to me.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152462   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 08:49

ImEasy replied:

Just to pick a few,

Robert Palmer's girls from Addicted to Love.
Reply 14 of 19
FollowupID: 406279   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:45

Wombat posted:

Now there's some memories!!!!!!! But would your mates believe you when you told them afterwards at the pub?
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152496   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 11:24

b4no1member replied:

i think i would have to invite Homer Simpson-Barney Gumble and see who really is a bigger drinker.
and maybe Marge(geez shes hot lol)because i think homer wouldnt mind if Marge and i had a a little you know what.haha
Reply 15 of 19
FollowupID: 406248   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 13:43

chat?

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 406274   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:42

gramps posted:

Bloody hell !!! The offspring from such a union don't bear thinking about LOLOL
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 406281   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:47

Wombat posted:

Oofty McGoofty with Marge, hey! The sex would possibly be very animated!
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 152538   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:19

Member - Melissa replied:

soppy answer maybe but my ultimate campfire would be shared with my husband and kids when they're both a bit older. It would be somewhere remote where we can watch the setting sun across desert dunes. The crackle of small fire, the gentle clang of the campoven lid being lifted to check the lamb roast and soft murmurings as we chat and share our thoughts and watch the landscape glow red and orange until darkness falls revealing a million stars overhead. That is my ultimate campfire.

:o) Melissa
Petrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
Reply 16 of 19
FollowupID: 406282   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:48

Wombat posted:

Hmmm I can smell that roast Mel.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152540   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:27

Wombat replied:

I think my first three choices would be Neddy, Teddy and Freddie.

Ned Kelly so that once and for all I could evaluate whether he was the perpetrator or the victim, and let's face it his bush skills would be without peer.

Teddy Whitten because not only was he the best footballer ever, but he also played for the best team and from all reports the sort of blokes bloke who would keep the entire group entertained with his stories.

Freddie Mercury (with a baby grand) not only so that he could serenade us with that golden voice but also so that one could analyse what the driving forces were behind the extremes of personality, sexuality, creativity and business acumen.

Of course I would include many of our regular "ember excogitators" especially a couple whos names 'I must' not say here, as well as Marilyn Monroe for her complex personality, Billy Connoly for his storytelling, David Strassman for Teddy & Chuck, Jimmy Barnes for a drinking partner, scaring wild animals away, backing vocals and general mayhem, Suzi Quattro for the memories, Suzie Wilkes for the mammaries, Kate Hudson and Goldie Hawn for the fantasies, Mel Brooks for the comedy and finally Roald Dahl to tell the last couple of stories just before bed and scare the living bejesus out of everyone.
Reply 17 of 19
FollowupID: 406289   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:55

Goodness Wombie that list says alot about you...hahahaha

have to admit any event with Billy Connolly would be a scream - exhausting but a scream, I saw him last week and age certainly has not slowed him down - thank goodness....can you imagine him and Mel Brookes...OMG...LOL

Lyn

PS Al agreed with Suzie Wilkes and the reason...LOL..

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152557   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 17:14

Mike Harding replied:

My sons because I always enjoy being with them in the bush.

Les Hiddins (Bush Tucker Man); for all the obvious reasons.

Steve Irwin; because his zest for life and knowledge of animals are both totally
contagious.

The 75 year old father of a friend of mine, because he's just such a nice and interesting bloke - plus he's probably fitter than me! :)

Eddy; a friend of mine, who tired of life, from long ago.

Plus lots and lots of people from history :)

Reply 18 of 19
AnswerID: 152601   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 20:29

Member -Cliff. New Zealand replied:

We would love to have our family - the kids and grandkids, and our mates from NZ who would love to come and see the wonderful country we have been exploring in Aus. we would also like to have the many people we have met as we travelled, like the couple from Victoria who joined us at Lark Quarry and travelled with us to Winton, and the 'snake man' we met up at the Kimberleys playing his Didj, and the 2 couples by our camp site at Kunnanura and the people we met at Gemtree. we would have a great time with the camp fire, cooking in the camp oven and yarning in the setting sun and by the glow of the great fire.
Can't wait to return to Aus this year for our next trip.
Cliff & Beryl
Reply 19 of 19
FollowupID: 406369   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 23:39

Member - Melissa posted:

Cliff, were you at Esperence New Year 2005 planning to head north to the Kimberley around April?
:o) Melissa
Petrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 408978   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 14, 2006 at 21:20

Member -Cliff. New Zealand posted:

We have not yet been to Esperance, Melissa. That is on our 'to do' list. We usually come over to Aus in the winter for 3 months and do some more in the desert, or northern areas. This year we are going to be delayed and anticipate coming over in Oct -Dec and will explore the Victorian Alps and regions.
FollowUp 2 of 2