Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Travelling North East

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 10:24

Member - Pete N (WA)

G'Day
just interested if anyone has done the Great Central Road recently We are planning a trip to Alice Springs in Mid -Febraury ,and just wanting any recent information , travelling in a Mitsibshi Triton 4 x 4 Dual Cab Ute .... any info will be useful I'm sure
Cheers Beers & Buckets of Red

Pete
Advertisement
ThreadID: 30347 Replies: 4
Views: 465 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 152490   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 10:48

signman replied:

Went from Warburton across to Ayers Rock August '05. No worries, can maintain good speed, spectacular scenery.
Reply 1 of 4
AnswerID: 152517   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 13:48

paro replied:

Pete,
Thanks for the post. We're also travelling the road in a couple of months and like you, we are looking for as much information as possible.

Whisky 4929
Reply 2 of 4
AnswerID: 152526   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 14:10

MAVERICK(WA) replied:

there has been many many rains the last couple of months - lake throssel has lots of water and has flowed across and along the road - give warburton a call and they should be able to help. when dry the road is suitable for anything. if you have time make the sidetracks and have a look at empress srpings and the len beadel memorial. rgds

Click Image to Enlarge
Slow down and relax......
Reply 3 of 4
AnswerID: 158134   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 17:15

Member - Doug T (QLD) replied:

Just came across your Q about the GCR Ive been over it twice in the last 16 months and had no problems except the first trip i was acually working , had a convoy of Heavy Haulage trucks and a couple of Road Trains mixed in , 110 Klm west of Giles it Rained for half the night and the Trucks lost traction so we camped up for 1 and half days the got caught on the sand hill at Docker River but as for a 4x4 you will have no troubles , 2 road houses between Laverton and Yulara and the WA leg is well maintained and could have cruised at 90k no worries, even seen a couple of caravans,The Aboriginals are using normal 2 wheelers most times , when they expire they burn em.

Doug

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Mt Bundy Stn
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
1 Hour Panorama Tour 1 Hour Panorama Tour
Gold Coast - QLD
The ultimate riding experience, from the sand to the hinterland, treat yourself to a genuine Harley
Chocolate Soft Centre Walking Tour Chocolate Soft Centre Walking Tour
Sydney - NSW
What better way to spend a Saturday morning than on a stroll around the sensational selection of cho
Helicopter Scenic Joy Flight Over Perth For Two Helicopter Scenic Joy Flight Over Perth For T
Perth - WA
Get a bird's-eye view of the world with this helicopter joy flight.
Learn to Surf - 5 Lesson Package Learn to Surf - 5 Lesson Package
Gold Coast - QLD
What a great way to enjoy the holidays, our 5 lessons package will definately give you the skills
Book Now - Things To Do