Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

'Member since' feature pls

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 21:47

Member - Ozdyssey (QLD)

David - why don't you have a "member since" feature on the rig profile.

I often see a member post but wondered are they a newbie, veteran or just changed there call sign. I can't keep up....

It might motivate a few visitors to join up to - bit like the RACV or RACQ do - but then you'd have to offer some incentive for longetivity..... say free lifetime membership over 2 yrs............when did I join? :)

bloodyripperideaireckon.

whatdoyouseallreckon?

Click Image to Enlarge
Advertisement
ThreadID: 31355 Replies: 9
Views: 625 FollowUps: 25
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 158227   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:03

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Makes no difference how long you been a member, there are some ex members here who have masses of experience in travel, outback, tips hints etc.

There are some newbys that are the same, there are some LONG term members who dont know bovine faeces... so, it doesnt really work.

YMMV
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 412608   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:16

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) posted:

"bovine faeces"

ROTFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 412616   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:26

Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) posted:

Geesus Bruce... really....fairdinkum - never would've thought....
read post again - not my point - open z mind.

I see someone post I've never seen before - maybe I've missed something. e.g Doug T - what's his story?

Join up anyway you slacker. You should be setting an example.....
godforbid

;)

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 412618   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:29

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

No member like that here Bruce must be another site you frequent.

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 158233   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:23

The Rambler( W.A.) replied:

Ozdyssey,
Having read your post I would like to say that any thoughts to increase membership are very welcome as it amazes me that with such a great site there are only just over 1000 members in the 6 years or so it has been going.It seems that at any set time there are nearly twice the visitors using the site against the number of members.I am not denying that visitors don't have genuine helpfull input, but surely if you are going to use the site the small membership fee can only help to further improve the already great facilities.Maybe David and crew should consider placing a time limit (say 1 year) on visitors before having to join.Don't intend starting a s***t fight as it is only my opinion which I am sure some other members will share.

Click Image to Enlarge
Roper Bar crossing
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 412625   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:46

god no 1yr time limit!! - then we'd lose the MAN himself.....

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 158251   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 23:05

Member - Ross H (QLD) replied:

Hi ozdyssey
your rig picture is that at byfield (spelling)

ross

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
Reply 3 of 9
FollowupID: 412665   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 07:31

Correct - you've won!

Please select your prize:

1. Exploroz sticker
2. Exploroz cap
3. Joy, in the knowledge that Gillian didn't beat you to it.

:-)

nice sand blow to drive up that and not a bad view too.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 412670   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 07:44

Member - Ross H (QLD) posted:

yes its a nice little hill climb just to get into the place,hard to believe there was only one way in or maybe the locals lie to me hehe:
ross

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 412672   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 07:45

Member - Ross H (QLD) posted:

P.s I will have the cap

Click Image to Enlarge
Baby Bandag
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 412810   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 17:12

Member No 1 posted:

david will post it to you

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 158275   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 05:54

Eric from Cape York Connections replied:

Thats a good idea because Im a member and have no idea for how long.

Cape York ConnectionsCape York Connections
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
Nimbin Tour Nimbin Tour
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Take the late bus from Byron Bay to Colourful Crazy Nimbin!
5 Day Jackaroo Jillaroo Program 5 Day Jackaroo Jillaroo Program
New England / Dubbo - NSW
Mate, if you're looking for the real Australia then here's how to get into it - the Station way of l
Sydney Classic Cycle Tour Sydney Classic Cycle Tour
Sydney - NSW
We provide fun, entertaining guided bicycle tours of Sydney to international and domestic visitors.
V8 SUPER DRIVE - NSW V8 SUPER DRIVE - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 158277   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 06:04

Wayne (NSW) replied:

Ozdyssey,

On your Rig/Profile page where you have the description of your vehicle you could put it there at the top. I am going to include it now on my profile.

Good looking Troopie.

Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 412654   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 06:25

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) posted:

Me too!!!

Gonna do it now!
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 412673   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 07:48

Cheers Wayne - the trucks coming together well - just building the rear storage & bed and she's done - ready for life on the road.

'Member since' in the rig profile.
Why didn't I think of that.
Have done same - this could catch on.

Earning increasing credits in the shop with each years renewal might be an idea.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 412675   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 07:52

BTW - your rig pic - is that a Great Dane sitting in the fire or should I lower my medication.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 412677   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 08:07

Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] posted:

Ye right ozd. ''Relax boss I,ll boil the billy"?

Click Image to Enlarge
My cup is always half FULL
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 158279   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 06:25

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

Me too!!!

Gonna do it now!
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 158326   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 11:13

ExplorOz Team - David replied:

Good idea - I will add it to the system. We know record the date in the system when the membership is created so all I need to do is output it on the screen. Do not adjust your profiles I will have it done today.
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
------------------------------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 7 of 9
FollowupID: 412748   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 12:01

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

Great and by the way David the new sever is going very well. I don't have the delay issues any more....great stuff

FollowUp 1 of 12
FollowupID: 412812   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 17:14

Member No 1 posted:

make sure you get mine right David...lol lol

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 12
FollowupID: 412813   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 17:15

Member No 1 posted:

just checked..it aint right

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 12
FollowupID: 413418   Submitted: Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 15:24

Member No 1 posted:

Dave, for the record I joined 30 April 2003

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 12
FollowupID: 413430   Submitted: Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:36

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Nudie, Is that BEFORE or AFTER you let your membership lapse?

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
FollowUp 5 of 12
FollowupID: 413434   Submitted: Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:56

Member No 1 posted:

Me Let My Memebership Lapse!!!!! NEVER...my membership has never lapsed

but I did have two going at once ...:-)))

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 6 of 12
FollowupID: 413435   Submitted: Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:58

Member No 1 posted:

how did you get life?...who do you know that I dont...who owes you money?

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 7 of 12
FollowupID: 413437   Submitted: Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 17:06

Wombat posted:

I remember you changed your name from Wherethefugawi to Wherethehellawi on 29 May 2003, Richard.

. . . and then along came the Emu that hated Puddleducks.

You've been a busy boy.
FollowUp 8 of 12
FollowupID: 413438   Submitted: Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 17:11

Member No 1 posted:

that emu didnt hate puddleducks...it that fake jemima that caused all the problems...certainly wasnt as pretty as the real Jemima

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 9 of 12
FollowupID: 413940   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 18:07

Member No 1 posted:

i dont think David at explore oz gets outlook reminders that a reply has been added.....cos my details still show 2004...when it should be 2003

oh well

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 10 of 12
FollowupID: 413950   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 18:35

ExplorOz Team - David posted:

Richard,

These records are automatically loaded when each member record is added to the system the startdate is automatic. I do remeber you had two at some time for some reason so it would be attached to the record that you ended up with. Do you happen to remember the past member number?
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 11 of 12
FollowupID: 413968   Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 19:20

Member No 1 posted:

no i dont but my credit card says 30 april 2003
let me know if you need invoice no...should be in archives...if the ato ever wants to see what and why i am claiming a first aid kit...wombat above syas it all as to my old (?) user name

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 12 of 12
AnswerID: 158343   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 12:28

Member - Howard (ACT) replied:

I thought at first that the idea of time limiting visitors had merit in encouraging people who regularly use the site to become members

then I realised that while I became a member in 2002 I first came across this sight when planning a cape york trip in 1999.
Didnt exactly rush to sign up myself.
I think it was the constant improvements as the site developed and the additional
features that eventually saw me part with my $30 at the time.
still believe that site gives me more than $1 per week in entertainment value so I maintain membership.

Howard

Nolan Brook -July 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Retiree in Training
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 158346   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 12:33

ExplorOz Team - David replied:

Member - Ozdyssey,

It is done and now visible on the Rig Profile page. Thanks for the feedback.
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 9 of 9
FollowupID: 412815   Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 18:00

No probs - hope it assists in someway.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1