Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Add-a-camper-tent to a 6x4 trailer?

Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 10:31

Member - Omaroo (NSW)

Hi all :)

I've been trying to find anyone who manufactures a ready-to-go camper trailer tent kit that just bolts on to our 6x4 British Army trailer. The Primus/COI one is about what I'm after, but needs a 7x5 trailer to mount to.

I know that they're about for the smaller trailer, but can't seem to find any.

The Primus/COI version is going for around the $2,300 mark on eBay and at some camping stores. Although there are far more dedicated versions around that are probably better built overall, this style of thing suits us down to the ground. We want top be able to whip it off so that we canuse thetraler for other things as well.

Does any one know of any for a 6x4?

Our Pug Chops - Defender of the Realm'00 Land Rover Defender TD5
'96 Mitsubishi Delica 2.8TD
'95 Nissan Patrol GQ TD42T
'91 Nissan Patrol GQ RB-30
Our property: http://www.omaroo.net
Advertisement
ThreadID: 33448 Replies: 11
Views: 5185 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 170195   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 10:35

Leroy replied:

I have a 7x4 and saw the requirement for the Primus was 7x5 so i'd be interested in what people have seen for a 7x4 also.

Leroy
Reply 1 of 11
FollowupID: 425545   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:05

rooscoota posted:

hey hey g'day,

here ya go leroy check this out Oz Trailers. they're out at riverstone in western sydney and i'm sure they construct their own for rentals but they may do one for you on your own trailer, very nice people.

Omaroo couldn't hurt to give them a yell and see if they can help you out...

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 425691   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:31

Tony Shaw posted:

Hi there,

The Latest version of the Primus/COI Camper top (both 9ft and 12ft) will fit onto the 7x4 trailer.

Cheers, ToNy!

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 425925   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 19:29

Leroy posted:

Thanks guys, I was thinking that a 7x4 trailer was a bit of an odd size.

Leory
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 170200   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:14

Shaker replied:

Is there any reason it can't overhang? At least you will get a decent size bed!

A friend of mine just modded the top of his 6 x 4 to take a full size CT top.
Reply 2 of 11
FollowupID: 425550   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:36

Member - Omaroo (NSW) posted:

None at all :)

I just had a look at one over the weekend that hung out about 9 inches over both the front and rear - and right out to the edge of the guards side to side causing a 6-inch overhang there too. It looked just fine - no problems with sealing or anything. This was on a 6x4 and was made around 10 years ago.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 425677   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 20:02

RustyHelen posted:

Exactly what we did for our first camper trailer. Second hand top from someone upgrading, added some 100mm channel between trailer top and camper bottom to lift it to "off road" trailer height, overhung at sides but not at front or back (our top must have been 6x5 I guess).
Did lots of years and still going in someone elses hands as far as we know..
Rusty
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 170201   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:18

flappa replied:

I think 2 Dogs in Sydney sell CT tops seperately. Not sure on Sizing.

As noted earlier , I have seen quite a few CT's with Overhang. OK , not perfect , but if cost is an issue , then why not ?
Reply 3 of 11
AnswerID: 170204   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:36

Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) replied:

There was one camper trailer mob at the rosehill show but cant remember their name....Cavalier...maybe.. yeah!! i will look at the directory.. Anyway, they will make to fit for about $3600. Michael
Lunch on the Bore Track  S.A.  July 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow!!
Fortunately, tomorrow never comes.!!!
Vehicle: Patrol ST 4.2TDI 2003
Reply 4 of 11
FollowupID: 425558   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 12:12

Member No 1 posted:

mine is a cavalier......

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Morning Double Sea Kayak Eco Adventure Morning Double Sea Kayak Eco Adventure
Townsville Region - QLD
View nature in the wild on the Islands only Accredited Eco-Tour, as you discover the National &
Multi-day Fly Fishing Trip Multi-day Fly Fishing Trip
Wine and High Country - VIC
Why not spend a few days fly fishing for wild trout in sub-alpine rivers and mountain streams for th
V8 Hotlaps Super-Ride - Perth V8 Hotlaps Super-Ride - Perth
Perth - WA
With our V8 Super-Rides, we can provide the ultimate hot lap experience, in one of our race prepared
Penguin Express Tour Penguin Express Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Our penguin tour is ideal for those with limited time.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 170212   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 12:42

Redback replied:

Hi Chris try this in Wanervale and West Gosford, on the central coast.

www.centralcoastcanvas.com.au/

or

www.heavysew.com.au/

Both specialise in DIY campertrailers.

Reply 5 of 11
FollowupID: 425570   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 13:41

Cheers Baz :)

I'll try them out!

CHris
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 170237   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 15:34

ultimate geoff replied:

Hi Chris

I own a business called Ultimate canvas on the south coast of NSW, we are just in the throws of designing a trailer top tent along the same lines as the primas one only made in australia not china and with premium quality materials.

We are still in the design stage but are looking to do our first proto-type at the end of may 06.

If you have seen the Ultimate offroad camper or the Gulflander camper then you have seen our work.

Price should be under $3000 for the bed base, bows, canvas top and travel bag.

If you are interested give me a call.
1300 888 509
Reply 6 of 11
FollowupID: 425591   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 15:49

flappa posted:

Ah , thats you guys . . . love ya work.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 425592   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 15:51

Thanks Geoff - I'll be giving you a call :)

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 170241   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:16

Truckster (Vic) replied:

mate of mine who built his own trailer is in the throngs of trying to get the canvas section..
Southern Cross was $6500!
Outback Canvas Was $4500...
Im betting he is now wishing he bought a cheap second hand one.
Reply 7 of 11
FollowupID: 425610   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:28

Atropos posted:

J & J Canvas in Ferntree Gully made a replacement for my cub-o-matic, cost was $2750-00 and a top quality job see
jandjcanvas.com.au

john
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 170282   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:30

ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) replied:

Chri, Trek camper trailer's south of Brisbane do camper top for tray back utes. website www.trek.com.au could have a look don't know at what $ value .Cheer's Bob.

Click Image to Enlarge
BlueOval F250 7.3 Deisel.
I was born Free. 'That's as good as it's got.'
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 170305   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:33

Tony Shaw replied:

It should also fit a 6x4, as long as the metal frame underneath the bed base interesects with the trailer sides it gives you somewhere to bolt it on and a little bit of overhang won't matter. Actually the photo's on the primus website show it overhanging.

Cheers, ToNy!
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 170308   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:43

loughma replied:

Good-ay all
What you need is made by OZtrail.
They make alot of tents in China to Aust specs.
They have a camper trailer tent kit.
www.oztrail.com.au
Better quality than Primus by a long shot.
Regards Loughma88
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 170351   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 01:07

Barnesy replied:

If you're in Adelaide at some stage then check out 3 good ones that i've seen. All 3 sell tops only for CT using h'duty canvas and good workmanship. Sar Major, cameron canvas and cavalier. sar major would be cheapest but not necessarily worst.

I have an 11 year old cameron still in excellent condition. huge king size bed that overhangs to width of guards. while this may increase drag a bit it's really no problem compared to benefits of a good night's sleep.

Barnesy
Reply 11 of 11