Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Axe/Shovel/Camera/Light holder

Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 20:53

Member - Crazie (VIC)

Hi, how are you?

I have just finished modifing my shovel and axe holder to include a rear light and camera. Thanks for the ideas from everyone the other day and to Sam for the drawings. I have now finished it. The shovel and axe just sit there, the light and the camera are both activated when in reverse and both them also have an independant switch.

I am very happy with the set up. The camera is displayed on a 7" wide screen dvd player on the dash.

giddy up

Ads
LC200 V8 - and loving it!
Click Image to Enlarge
Reputation built on character
Advertisement
ThreadID: 33472 Replies: 10
Views: 944 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 170301   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:25

Member - Jay Gee (WA) replied:

Now let me see - you've got a light and camera on your shovel and axe so you can see what you're digging and choping and even video it! That's really cool.

Sorry - I misread your message - you put them on your shovel and axe holder - silly me. Still really cool - but not as cool as the way I originally misread it.

(Hey - I've still got a week of leave left - so I feel happy)

Jeff

Click Image to Enlarge
Life is a wheel, whatever you put in will come back around.
Reply 1 of 10
FollowupID: 425721   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:40

Member - Crazie (VIC) posted:

so could have said that earlier, before i mounted it to the metal pole... hahaha
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 425859   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 15:01

derraux posted:

Lucky you got the order right i could not emagine how people behind you would react if the shovel and axe activated when stuck the vehicle in reverse looks great hope it works well
derraux
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 170306   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:34

Exploder replied:

Axe, Shovel, Camera, light holder.

Yeah I thought it was for somthing else, Don't forget the bag of lime LOL
Reply 2 of 10
FollowupID: 425722   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:40

hahaha

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 170310   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:57

Russel & Mary replied:

Hey, Crazie. You just gave me an idea. I will recess a nut into the end of my shovel that's the same thread as the bottom of cameras (you know, digital and video). I'll carry with me a short piece of rod threaded the same both ends and then I'll instantly have a "tripod". I'll do it tomorrow. Rus.
Reply 3 of 10
AnswerID: 170311   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:00

Member - Crazie (VIC) replied:

sorry, forgot the photo

Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 4 of 10
FollowupID: 425707   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:41

Nick R posted:

Tell Kir the razors go well
Nick
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 425708   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:42

Truckster (Vic) posted:

FFS, how soft do you want to be? trade the Jack in on an escape will ya...
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 425723   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:43

Hey Nick

No worries mate

Hey negative
why is it soft. I think if it saves me running over a child that I couldn't see, call me what you want...... and you must be refering to the camera, cause i know you have a light... I know how to park the truck, but we seem to spending more time with kids around, seems a great idea

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 3
Activities Index
SCG Tour Experience SCG Tour Experience
Sydney - NSW
The SCG Tour Experience is a behind the scenes historical journey through the Sydney Cricket Ground
Hot Stone Massage & Facial - 2 Hours Hot Stone Massage & Facial - 2 Hours
Sydney - NSW
Experience a hot stone massage therapy and feel completely relaxed in your mind, body and spirit.
CONVERTIBLE DANDENONG/YARRA RANGES DELUX TOUR CONVERTIBLE DANDENONG/YARRA RANGES DELUX TOUR
Yarra Valley / Dandenongs - VIC
Olinda and Sherbrook Forest in the Dandenong Ranges.
Divine Intervention Facial Divine Intervention Facial
Sydney - NSW
This anti-ageing and healing facial has an abundance of antioxidants and proteins to restore skin el
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 170315   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:16

Voxson (Adelaide) replied:

I would like to see how you mounted the screen to your dash...
Modified
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 5 of 10
FollowupID: 425709   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:45

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses posted:

Probably better in the Jackaroo Voxson as with the Nissan there are too many things you proably don't want covered. I have made up a slide that comes out from under the TX4400 UHF and sits out in front of all the radio controls. I reckon I need a remote operated radio now to cope better. Just velcro onto the aluminium slide face.

Adam has his velcroed over the heater /aircon controls on a vertical face. The passenger airbag front would be an option on a GU if you didn't want to see it too close.

We both have Medion branded DVDs that aren't as heavy as some, but heavier than some screen only devices.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 425724   Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:45

Hi Voxon

What john said.

I have it over the aircon controls, like hinged, so it folds down. Usually have aircon on 1 and rarely change it. if it gets cold, turn the seat heaters on

Ads

has never fallen off yet

maybe that needed a PS. haha
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 170364   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 08:36

Jimbo replied:

Bigfella,

Have you put that bloody thing over a weighbridge? You must be about a tonne over GVM by now.

"Hey Negative" LOLOLOL. Whatever made you say that?
Reply 6 of 10
AnswerID: 170365   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 08:36

Wayne (NSW) replied:

Crazie,

With the light and camera mounted high on the steel pole I would be concerned about the vibration.

The light and camera could break the pole and fall off.

I would take the vehicle over a rough road and see what the image is like on the screen with the camera on. If it is blurred then the camera is vibrating and will not last long.

I have mounted my camera on the roof rack, which stays on the vehicle all the time, and there is no vibration or blurring on th screen.

Wayne.
Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
Reply 7 of 10
FollowupID: 425794   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 10:37

HI Wayne

Thanks for the tip, I will give it a go.

This is the most practical place for the camera, on my Jack, and it is now wired in and staying there hahaha The pole is very study, although I am sure there is some movement in the rear door. The light and the camera arent really that high and they dont weigh that much, so i dont think the pole will break. I have made and re-enforce the brackets, so they are super strong.

Adam

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 170387   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 10:29

Member - Sam (NSW) replied:

Looks good Adam! Glad the schematics helped!

cheers,
Sam.
Simpson Desert 2006I love a sunburnt country......
Reply 8 of 10
AnswerID: 170446   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:36

S&N replied:

hey ads,
is that led's around the outside of the camera? is it a night vision one? if not i can get them cheap for ya! they look about the same.
you could also make a metal shroud to go around it (like for your sat nav) to reduce sun glare! ive got some sheet aluminium if you want it!
Reply 9 of 10
FollowupID: 425980   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 22:58

Hi honey

yes LED, night vision ones. Love themn cheap, how much?
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 170462   Submitted: Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 15:43

Member - Bradley replied:

looks good ads, or should that be roachie junior LOL.....

mate you are going to need the alpine developments supercharger next just to keep the jack moving :-))))

and are they another type of rubber on the back of her ?? how many sets you running now?

BTW - saw the new ad in the mag yesterday, looks like you are going to be a busy boy at work !! looks good, now that i got a winch........

Have you got the fairleads as well, in a hawse style ? you know the solid ally plate style.

cheers Brad

Click Image to Enlarge
On the lookout for 98 onwards v6 auto jack.
Reply 10 of 10