Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

how to calculate fuel usage

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:20

haysie222 (SA)

good mornin,can anyone please tell me the formula to calculate klm per litres. i already know how to work out ltrs per 100,any feed back would be great, thanks..

Click Image to Enlarge
gearing up for tha csr
Advertisement
ThreadID: 35436 Replies: 9
Views: 2706 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 181331   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:33

Shaker replied:

Have a look here .... Site Link
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 437667   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:42

Shaker posted:

The conversion formula is ..... km/ltr = 100/(ltr/100km)
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 181335   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:42

haysie222 (SA) replied:

thanks shaker good site but how do work it out on paper???

Click Image to Enlarge
gearing up for tha csr
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 437668   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:46

haysie222 (SA) posted:

litres per 100 is, ( litres divided by klm's x 100 = litres per 100)

Click Image to Enlarge
gearing up for tha csr
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 181338   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 10:25

k1w1 replied:

If you know the use in litres per 100km divide 100 by the same figure will give you km's per litre. e.g use is 14.5 per 100km's then distance is 100 / 14.5 = 6.89
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 181343   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:28

Member - Bruce and Anne replied:

Distance travelled (use trip meter)x litres used, simple.

Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers Bruce
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
16 Lap V8 Race Buggy & WRX  Combo -  Sydney 16 Lap V8 Race Buggy & WRX Combo - Sydney
Sydney - NSW
If you're looking for an all in one motor sport adventure then this is the Package for you.
Uluru Sunrise, Climb and Base Tour Y18 Uluru Sunrise, Climb and Base Tour Y18
Ayers Rock / Uluru - NT
Rise early and travel with AAT Kings to the Uluru sunrise viewing area.
Ripple Hot Stone Massage Pamper Package for 2 Ripple Hot Stone Massage Pamper Package for 2
Brisbane - QLD
Relax with our Swedish massage using heated volcanic rocks and essential oils.
High Performance Training and Track Driving Day High Performance Training and Track Driving D
Melbourne - VIC
Have you ever dreamed of taking your own car for spin on the racetrack?
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 181345   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:34

Member - Stephen (WA) replied:

G'day Haysie,

To work out km/litre (which is what I work in rather than l/100km) all you do is get your distance travelled figure (kilometres) and divide it by the litres used (litres).

eg. if you travelled 705 km and you used 94 litres you would divide 705 by 94 which would give you 7.5 km per litre.

For those that still "think" in miles per gallon you just multiply the km/l by 2.82.

Stephen J.

Click Image to Enlarge
VKS737 - Mobile 2735
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 438595   Submitted: Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 01:21

blown4by posted:

Actually it is 2.8247358 to be exact
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 438642   Submitted: Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 11:56

Member - Stephen (WA) posted:

Yes.... It is..... Rather exact....

:-)

Reminds me of the two Cornish surveyors in the Copper mines in Moonta. They are setting out some survey marks for mining tunnels underground in the mine.

One says "There, that's it"
The other says "Did you get it right on?"
He says "Near 'nuff".
The other says "Near nuff is no good. Has ter be 'zact".
He says " 'Tis 'zact".
His mate says " Well, tha's near 'nuff then"......

Stephen J.

Click Image to Enlarge
VKS737 - Mobile 2735
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 181369   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 17:41

Max - Sydney replied:

Can anyone tell me how to convert these newfangled kays per litre to a more meaningful number like bushells per fathom please? Bugger these new units - they've only been around for 30 years!!

Grumpy
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 181381   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 19:39

Smithy51 replied:

Hi hassie222(SA),
Go to Google type in fuel consumption chart hit go when it comes up with site to look at click onto Caravan & Camping South Aust > Fuel Consumption.

to convert ltrs to gallons divide the ltrs x 4.55 = gals.
to convert klms to miles divide the klms x8 and then multiply that number by 5 = miles.

Don't worry I still like to convert it back to mls per gallon.

Regards Smithy51

Reply 7 of 9
AnswerID: 181411   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 23:54

arthurking83 replied:

Hang ON!!

Don't you lose some efficiency when converting from one format to another?

:p

Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 181569   Submitted: Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:50

Steve63 replied:

km/l = distance travelled/fuel used ie 700km/70l = 10km/l

By the way if you are looking at the CSR you will need to depreciate the economy. For example in my truck I usually get about 11 l/100 km around town. On the highway and loaded it is about 13 - 15 l/100 km and on firm sand 17 -19 l/100km. In a previous vehicle have used 70l to do 91 km ie 76 l/100km. If you look under trip planning you can see the huge variance in fuel consumption for the CSR for the same type of vehicle. Don't cut it close as if the going is difficult other travellers may not have fuel to spare either.

Reply 9 of 9

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website