AnswerID: 181710 Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 02:08
Member - Bradley
replied:
gday Paul, having bought many vehicles from the fowles govt auctions i can tell you that if you stick to the govt only lane then you will generally do ok. Make sure you go along on tuesday arvo and have a good look at them, the buyers development centre has all the books and will give you the ballpark figure wanted for each lot. Then on wed, morning hang around outside to watch them start em up and get a good look at them as its pretty hectic and noisy inside. A lot of vehicles are still under warranty and some are even still registered.
Thats the good news, a lot of departments run all sorts of utes, rodeos, couriers hilux etc. The main user of cruiser utes is the DSE. Theirs have ally trays with red/white reflective stripes down the sides and strange angled in lights at the rear. AND they all have had the absolute bejeesus caned out of them, and have done a lot of heavy work carrying slide on fire tank&pump outfits.
AND these cruiser utes are possibly the most over-valued used vehicles around, the prices some people go to is absurd, they are that popular.
So yes you can save heaps on the right vehicle, but factor in rego / roadies etc. and make sure you go along for a few weeks ahead of time and get a good feel for the place.
Last one i got was in december, 09/03 jackaroo SE , 41,000 ks bar / warn winch / plasma rope / aux fuel tank / tow bar / cargo barrier . in good nick ex vic police. $ 19000. cost me a grand on top of that for roadie rego and years insurance.
If you want to know anything else. feel free to ask, cheers Brad.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| On the lookout for 98 onwards v6 auto jack. |
Reply 8 of 8