Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Storage boxes

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 17:55

Member - Simon

I am looking to purchase a couple of lockable storage/tool boxes for the back of the Hilux to store camping equipment, recovery gear etc. What are people's opinions on the ARB type plastic spacecases versus the traditional aluminium boxes?
ThreadID: 3620 Replies: 7
Views: 1197 FollowUps: 11
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 14322   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 19:37

diamond replied:

mate dont wory about paying big $$$$$ go look in super cheap seen some good cheap lockable boxes there today
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 14323   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 20:10

Truckster replied:

Unless they are bolted down, its just something to make it easier for them to carry your stuff away in...

Go a proper bolt down checker plate box... I would.. but thats me.
Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 8594   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 20:27

goodsy posted:

Truckster are you having problems with the Overlander forum. I carn't seem to access site.
FollowUp 1 of 7
FollowupID: 8596   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 21:49

Ray posted:

The Overlander forum is down...again
FollowUp 2 of 7
FollowupID: 8597   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 21:51

Truckster posted:

LOL..
Quality at its greatest..... Good server etc...

ROTF!

Oh yea....
FollowUp 3 of 7
FollowupID: 8599   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 21:56

Ray posted:

LOL...flamin joke isn't it
FollowUp 4 of 7
FollowupID: 8600   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 22:02

goodsy posted:

So this is common then.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Error Occurred While Processing Request
Error Diagnostic Information
Server busy or unable to fulfill request. The server is unable to fulfill your request due to extremely high traffic or an unexpected internal error. Please attempt your request again (if you are repeatedly unsuccessful you should notify the site administrator). (Location Code: 25)

Please inform the site administrator that this error has occurred (be sure to include the contents of this page in your message to the administrator).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FollowUp 5 of 7
FollowupID: 8601   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 22:11

Ray posted:

Was down for two days only a couple of weeks ago. They still haven't repaired the data base from that crash, that's why the search function is not fully functional. Inbetween the crashes it amuses us with other antics.
FollowUp 6 of 7
FollowupID: 8603   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 22:17

goodsy posted:

Was on Fraser two weeks ago. Did not know about the 2 day down. Hope they fix it for good this time. Great forum but not as good as exploreoz.
FollowUp 7 of 7
AnswerID: 14326   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2003 at 20:52

goodsy replied:

Had a big Gal box in the ute of my hilux. Bolted down to stop it bouncing around. Don't think anyone would have stolen it beause it weighed about 250kg. Surved the purpose well. Look in the trading post there is all ways a lockable box for sale. But bolt it down.
Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 8627   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 18:46

Member - Simon posted:

Goodsy that is one heavy duty box, how was it for keeping the dust out, any problems?
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 8656   Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 07:27

goodsy posted:

Not so good to honest. You could make a seal up very easily but the stuff I had in the box was'nt scared of dust .
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 14336   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 04:04

Member - Bruce replied:

I use the plastic space cases in the back of my patrol. Excelent waterproofing on them and the kept the bulldust out of my clothes when I went to Birdsville last year. I have got two of them now one larger one for tools recovery gear and one for general stuff. I also have a couple of the cheaper boxes for other stuff but the dust seams to get into thoses ones. The main thing for the back of a ute is the seals both for dust and water.
Bruce.
Reply 4 of 7
FollowupID: 8629   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 18:52

Member - Simon posted:

Hi Bruce
How long have you had the spacecases? I was just wondering how they stand up to the sunlight, I know they are suppose to be UV resistant but have you noticed any adverse effects from the weather? The fact that they are well sealed is a key factor. Have you got them bolted down?
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 8652   Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 04:37

Member - Bruce posted:

Simon
one ive only had less than 12 months the other one i've had 3 to 4 years no signs of decay from uv or from other gear rubing against them. No I just chain them in but You can drill through the bottom to bolt them down. Chain is easier for me as I dont know what i will be carring next so it gives me the flexibility to move them around. The final thing is You get what you pay for and what are your tools and recovery gear worth to keep dry and safe.
Bruce
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Harley Davidson Tour along Great Ocean Road Harley Davidson Tour along Great Ocean Road
Great Ocean Road - VIC
Your ride on a roaring Harley Davidson begins in Melbourne's CBD before we venture to the Great Ocea
Kiteboarding - 3 step course in Melbourne Kiteboarding - 3 step course in Melbourne
Melbourne - VIC
A program designed to get you kiteboarding safely and successfully on your own.
Puffing Billy and Dandenong Ranges Half Day K5 Puffing Billy and Dandenong Ranges Half Day K
Melbourne - VIC
Journey with AAT Kings to the beautiful Dandenong Ranges and travel aboard Australia's oldest operat
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 14337   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 07:35

rojac replied:

I'm in the same boat, looking for storage boxes for the back of the ute. Looked at the plastic ARB boxes but the cost is over the top..someone is making a large profit so I'll probably go for a Galv box and as far as theft, it will be attached by wire rope/padlocks to the canopy frame.

You want to steal the box it will probably be easier to steal the whole vehicle.

Rob
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 14339   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 09:13

Grinner replied:

Try looking elsewhere for the spacecases and you may find them a bit cheaper. I know our local Farm Supplies sells them and I've seen them in Plastics Unlimited.

Grinner
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 14342   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 10:13

Kev. replied:

lockable galv box is the go from Super cheap auto.
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website