porta bote club

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:48

Member - Boo Boo (NSW)

Giday all
Just purchased a porta bote and am wondering if there is a porta bote club in Australia. I have done a web search, but no luck yet. Although there appears to be a reasonably large association in usa.
Regards Bob
Regards BooBoo
How are you? Well you woke up this morning so ya gotta be feeling good!
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Back to Forum
Thread Watch Alert Moderator FAQ
ThreadID: 36268 Replies: 8
Views: 2230 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 186006   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:32

Scubaroo replied:

Mind if I asked what it cost? I looked at them a few months ago.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 1 of 8
AnswerID: 186011   Submitted: Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:15

Troop-a-dour replied:

I had a look at one at a 4WD show. Took some measurements- and went home and made one out of aluminium. It packs flatter than the portabote, a bit lighter, and heaps stronger.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 443027   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 00:06

F4Phantom posted:

Awesome, what did you use for the flexable joins?
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 443082   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:13

awill4x4 posted:

Could you post some pics to show how you went about it?
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 443164   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 21:17

Charlie posted:

Excellant work Troupe a dour. I've seen pictures on the web of a US made aluminium version as well as one made of fiberglass in Western Australia. I guess you made the joints out of some type of rubber,did you manage a square transom or go for a canoe shape?
Regards Charlie
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 186144   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:54

Member - Boo Boo (NSW) replied:

I bought a 10' PB with oars for $3089. I spent quite a bit of time researching and talking to people about one then went on Ebay to bid for them when they came up. I am glad I found fault with most of them especially the last one . They were all 12'. Before I got the 10' I thought the weight of the 12' would be Ok, but in hind sight it would have been a tad too heavy. I have also found out that I may be able to rig up a storage area for it under the van. After three trial runs of assembling it I can now get it ready in 8 minutes excluding putting in the fishing gear and motor.
Regards Bob
PS I also would like to see photos of the home made aluminium one!
Regards BooBoo
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 188630   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 06:12

Jayson70 replied:

Hi Boo Boo

Just wondering if you have taken the porta bote out for a run yet and what's your opinion?

Would you purchase it in hindsight ?

Jayson
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 4 of 8
SPONSOR MESSAGE Become a Sponsor
This could be an advert for your business!
Sponsorship of this page is available now – and for much less than you might think. Find out how you can reach Australia's largest online audience in the 4WD/RV/Camping industry.
www.exploroz.com/Advertising/Default.aspx
AnswerID: 188809   Submitted: Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:40

Jason

So far it has only been in the swimming pool.

I am waiting for the motor to arrive. I have decided on a Mariner 5hp. A mate of mine is a dealer, unfortunately he is as crook as a dog at the moment, and I've been a little busy so I've been a little slow in getting my act together. At the moment I have no complaints.

When I have the motor I'll take it out to Glenbawn Dam and then give further info on this site.

Just a side line, I was going to carry it on the troopy, but I have had a look under the caravan and if I move one waste pipe I can put a drawer underneath and just slide it in.

Regards Bob
Regards BooBoo
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 189740   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 05:43

Jayson70 replied:

Thanks for that Bob

I'm keen as, to see how it goes and your opinion of it.
Got the brochure last night and after a couple of beers I nearly had the
credit card out :)

If I get one it will probably be a couple of months away
hopefully you will of had a bit of fun by then and can give us your views.

Jayson
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 189742   Submitted: Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 06:42

sjp replied:

make sure you know their capability's,one flipped near here the other day (on the news) one older person died ,not from drowning but from a heart attack after being rescued,but the point being it flipped and the weather was pretty good
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 7 of 8
AnswerID: 189900   Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:25

sjp

I would like to know a bit more about the incident before I got too worried.

I was out on Tuggerah lake a few years ago in a flat bottom tinny. I was only putting along but a freak wave almost had the boat perpendicular to the water.

For the second or two while the bowand I was looking towards the sky I took in a fair bit of water.

Just one of those unlucky things, also I had my eyes on the sceinery and not on the water.

Regards Bob
Regards BooBoo
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 8 of 8