Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

What should I name my new farm ?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:09

the outlaws

Anyone got any catchy names I need to came up with a name for my farm !!!

P.S we finally named the boat

MISSAISLE

ThreadID: 36383 Replies: 41
Views: 932 FollowUps: 17
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 186702   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:18

Member - MrBitchi (QLD) replied:

DIDJABRINGABEERALONG

Click Image to Enlarge

gawk; grep; unzip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; gasp; yes; umount; sleep!!
Reply 1 of 41
FollowupID: 444032   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:42

the outlaws posted:

Site Link

theres the link for my new elrancho !!!!!!!

you can see the corner of the shed in the first pic the other building is where her and them dwell !!!!!!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 186707   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:33

hillie replied:

One of my mates used a couple of letters from each of his family's names to come up with his farm name (Brian- BRI, Kathleen - KA, Dianne - DI, Rose - RO) BRIKADIRO

Just a suggestion.

Hillie
Reply 2 of 41
AnswerID: 186708   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:34

GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) replied:

Tumbledowns
J Series Bedford
Click Image to Enlarge
Still going there and doing that.
Reply 3 of 41
AnswerID: 186709   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:35

Lyds replied:

since I don't know where the bloody hell you are:

Bingelaura or Laurabingle

Click Image to Enlarge
Stuart
A Rental Car: The only true all-terrain vehicle
Reply 4 of 41
Activities Index
Kayaking, Snorkelling & Dolphin Watching Tour Kayaking, Snorkelling & Dolphin Watching Tour
Gold Coast - QLD
KAYAKING, SNORKELING, DOLPHINS, ABORIGINAL CULTURE. Several tours in one.
Rally Intro Experience Rally Intro Experience
Gold Coast - QLD
Are you ready for some heart-racing action?
Nature 4WD Tour - Mt Tambourine Nature 4WD Tour - Mt Tambourine
Gold Coast - QLD
We visit the Lamington National Park, morning tea at an Alpaca Farm, experience bird watching and ha
Victorian High Country 4WD Tour Victorian High Country 4WD Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Jump aboard our luxury 4 wheel drive vehicle and journey with us through the rich farming country of
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 186710   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:35

Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. replied:

OUTLAWNS

Click Image to Enlarge
Grey Gnomad

To be blunt, I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.
Reply 5 of 41
AnswerID: 186711   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:39

Member - Alastair D (NSW) replied:

Outlaws,
I know that sometimes people get sick of aboriginal names but they often have a nice sound and appropriate underlying meaning. The following site may be helpful:
Site Link

We named out place Tallagandra which means place of many crows in the local language.

If the farm is new and a self motivated decision then perhaps
Moment of Madness

Don't get me wrong it is a great lifestyle and I have been there, but hard to be financially successful unless big.

alastair
LC100TD for comfort
Click Image to Enlarge
Alastair
Reply 6 of 41
FollowupID: 443769   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:02

Member - Omaroo (NSW) posted:

Yup - we did the same with "Omaroo", which means "Beautiful View".... and it is.

Our Pug Chops - Defender of the Realm'00 Land Rover Defender TD5
'96 Mitsubishi Delica 2.8TD
'95 Nissan Patrol GQ TD42T
'91 Nissan Patrol GQ RB-30
Our property: http://www.omaroo.net
FollowUp 1 of 9
FollowupID: 443773   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:11

Truckster (Vic) posted:

>> know that sometimes people get sick of aboriginal names
so true.
FollowUp 2 of 9
FollowupID: 443776   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:32

Member - bushfix posted:

g'day,

your place is in the Chittering Valley?

"chittering" is described by as an Aboriginal word probably meaning "place of the willy wag tails". One of the Aboriginal words for this bird is "chitti-chitti'.

my suggestion?

get yourself and your partner and sit together for a sunrise or the like and i'm sure something will come up. (aah what did i just write?)

too big a question mate, the answer has to come from inside yourself.

be sure to let us know eh?
Sunset at Yardea Station
Click Image to Enlarge
my wife & kids, the bush...
FollowUp 3 of 9
FollowupID: 443843   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:37

Mad Dog - Vic posted:

bushfix has the correct answer, only you can come up with an apprioprate name

FollowUp 4 of 9
FollowupID: 443865   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 21:40

Marn posted:

How did the natives have a traditional word for cows??? Were they not introduced?
FollowUp 5 of 9
FollowupID: 443911   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 08:06

Member - bushfix posted:

cRows mate, cRows,

stone the cows :)

six members of the family in Australia, five native.

you are correct, cows were introduced here in 1788 by Phil.
Sunset at Yardea Station
Click Image to Enlarge
my wife & kids, the bush...
FollowUp 6 of 9
FollowupID: 444013   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:12

"For instance, at the time of Aboriginal arrival, the dinosaurs were long gone but they encountered an equally fascinating set of ‘mega-fauna’. These included giant kangaroos and wombats, as well as large cow and rhinoceros like creatures."

Reference: Site Link

FollowUp 7 of 9
FollowupID: 444016   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:19

Mad Dog - Vic posted:

So you're saying the steaks were HUGE back then,

FollowUp 8 of 9
FollowupID: 444017   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:22

Maybe the term "a cow of a time" originated back then in prehisoric times as a way of describing just how hard they were to hunt....
FollowUp 9 of 9
AnswerID: 186713   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:43

the outlaws replied:

Its a hobby/lifestyle farm we will be living there its 14 acres in the chittering valley 100 klms north east of perth.
Reply 7 of 41
FollowupID: 443765   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:47

Member - John L G posted:

ChittyChittyBangBang

Click Image to Enlarge
John G
Bird on a Wire
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 443766   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:50

Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. posted:

If the grass is really , really green , you could call it " THE OTHER SIDE ".

Our place is on the Abercrombie River so we called it Rivendel after the elves home in a book we read .

Click Image to Enlarge
Grey Gnomad

To be blunt, I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 443787   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:00

GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) posted:

Or "The Far Side"
J Series Bedford
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 186715   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:50

TerraFirma replied:

For Views: Bella Vista
For Trees: The Willows
If your surname is White: The Whitehouse
And when all else fails , use Google for some ideas
Reply 8 of 41
AnswerID: 186720   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:06

Member - Michael J (SA) replied:

'the place with the bluddy big shed'.........lol lol

Michael
Kidson Track 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Kidson Track 2009
Reply 9 of 41
FollowupID: 443775   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:14

the outlaws posted:

danceswithsheds !!!!!!!!

lmao
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 186722   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:15

Nick R replied:

how about
Middlanoware

NickR
Reply 10 of 41
AnswerID: 186729   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 14:13

Young traveller replied:

try ykickamoocow.my mates parents named thier place that. dunno where they got the name from,but catchy anyway
Reply 11 of 41
FollowupID: 443805   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 16:21

Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) posted:

It is the name of a racehorse

Click Image to Enlarge
"The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking" - J.K.Galbraith

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 186732   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 14:44

Rigor replied:

Depends on how old you are , mine will be called "Dunrootin" then after that "Dunromin"

Dave L.
Reply 12 of 41
Activities Index
Victorian High Country 4WD Tour Victorian High Country 4WD Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Jump aboard our luxury 4 wheel drive vehicle and journey with us through the rich farming country of
See Sydney and Beyond Attraction Pass 2 days See Sydney and Beyond Attraction Pass 2 days
Sydney - NSW
Attraction pass for Sydney & Beyond. Over $900 worth of admission fees.
Yak 52 Aerobatic Adventure Flight Yak 52 Aerobatic Adventure Flight
Melbourne - VIC
Experience the awesome Yak 52, a genuine Russian military aircraft with its incredible aerobatic cap
Absolute Indulgence Day Spa - 4 Hours Absolute Indulgence Day Spa - 4 Hours
Sydney - NSW
Indulge in a 4 hour day spa package in the heart of Sydney.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 186733   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 14:45

Pajman Pete (SA) replied:

Swaltuo

Pete

Click Image to Enlarge
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush.
VKS737 Mobile 3580
Reply 13 of 41
AnswerID: 186734   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 14:59

madcow replied:

chittitidoodaa
Reply 14 of 41
AnswerID: 186736   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:12

Des Lexic replied:

Dongavale
Stixville
Hobitgrove
Thistledo
Lademedowns
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
Reply 15 of 41
AnswerID: 186737   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:16

djrziggy replied:

INTA......
Inta debt is usually quite appropriate
Reply 16 of 41
AnswerID: 186740   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:25

Gramps (NSW) replied:

Outlaws,

Hole in the Wall.

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
Reply 17 of 41
AnswerID: 186745   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 16:17

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Greenacres..
but is that politically correct? Am I going to get sued for that?
Reply 18 of 41
AnswerID: 186747   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 16:23

Alloy c/t replied:

Bigestshedueverdamseen
Reply 19 of 41
AnswerID: 186750   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 16:48

Member - Nobby replied:

Plentitodo.
1 .. Waiting for a lift home from Moreton.
2.. Camp site on the Beach
Reply 20 of 41
Activities Index
Absolute Indulgence Day Spa - 4 Hours Absolute Indulgence Day Spa - 4 Hours
Sydney - NSW
Indulge in a 4 hour day spa package in the heart of Sydney.
Personal Chef Private Dinner For Eight Personal Chef Private Dinner For Eight
Adelaide - SA
There is no need to slave in the kitchen for hours to please your guests!
Adelaide to Melbourne - 3 Day Tour Adelaide to Melbourne - 3 Day Tour
Limestone Coast - SA
Travel with a maximum of 12 passengers along the Coorong N.P.
Scuba Dive Fish Rock Cave - Midweek Special for 2 Scuba Dive Fish Rock Cave - Midweek Special f
Coffs / Mid North - NSW
5 Nights Accommodation / 8 Boat Dives $490 p.p.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 186751   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 16:55

Shaker replied:

Lazy Bar Stud
Reply 21 of 41
AnswerID: 186755   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 17:19

JJ replied:

Costaplenty
Comalonginn
Gottaluvit
Gunnadoo
Gunnadolots
Reply 22 of 41
AnswerID: 186756   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 17:22

Black Beard replied:

M-T-Pockets..............Gunnadoo
Reply 23 of 41
AnswerID: 186763   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 17:42

Member - Boo Boo (NSW) replied:

After looking at the photo you could call it the 'longdrop':)))))
Regards Bob

Click Image to Enlarge
Regards BooBoo
How are you? Well you woke up this morning so you've gotta be feeling good!
Reply 24 of 41
AnswerID: 186764   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 17:42

mchapo replied:

THE CHITHOUSE
Reply 25 of 41
AnswerID: 186765   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 17:42

ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) replied:

Wotsmishedon.

Click Image to Enlarge
BlueOval F250 7.3 Deisel.
I was born Free. 'That's as good as it's got.'
Reply 26 of 41
AnswerID: 186772   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:14

cackles replied:

Sit down with your family and friends have few drinks over a beutiful sunset and mull it all over, best way to get inspiration.

For my 5 cents my uncles farm is "Yeerong" so maybe "Yeeright"?

Old seasalt friend tells us that if you change a boats name to glue a copper coin in the bow otherwise it's badluck. Hate to see anyone fall foul of the gods.

Cackles
My favourite time of day
Click Image to Enlarge
the best time of day
Reply 27 of 41
AnswerID: 186774   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:17

Member - Tour Boy replied:

didyakikatinnyalong
Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
Reply 28 of 41
Activities Index
Scuba Dive Fish Rock Cave - Midweek Special for 2 Scuba Dive Fish Rock Cave - Midweek Special f
Coffs / Mid North - NSW
5 Nights Accommodation / 8 Boat Dives $490 p.p.
Ballooning - Yarra Valley Ballooning - Yarra Valley
Yarra Valley / Dandenongs - VIC
A truly unique experience as you float across the sky and over the top of the unique landscapes of t
Canning Stock Route 2010 Canning Stock Route 2010
Mid West - WA
26 Day Adventure Tag Along Tour - A Last Frontier Tour From Yulara to Alice Springs via some of Wes
Solo Skydiving - Brisbane Solo Skydiving - Brisbane
Brisbane - QLD
Skydive and feel the ultimate feeling of going solo as you jump out of your plane and freefall from
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 186778   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:28

ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) replied:

Wattl-e-callit,Wattl-we-callit,wattl-u-callit.

Click Image to Enlarge
BlueOval F250 7.3 Deisel.
I was born Free. 'That's as good as it's got.'
Reply 29 of 41
AnswerID: 186779   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:30

Shaker replied:

A few years ago we nearly bought a few acres with a lovely chalet style house, set in immaculate gardens & it was named "YARCSTOOF"

For quite a while we imagined Yarcstoof to be the name of picturesque remote alpine area in Europe, when we finally asked the owner what was the significance of the name, he said " thats easy, I love AFL football, it is FOOTSCRAY spelt backwards" !
Since then we don't bother with preconceived ideas about names.
Reply 30 of 41
FollowupID: 444100   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:19

ferris posted:

There's a street on the Sunshine Coast "Tsipur Street". Story goes the council tried to acquire some land from the local hotel to make a street. The publican only agreed if he had the naming rights. Try spelling that one backwards!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 186784   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:06

Bricky replied:

My folks call their place "Wydoncha" beacause the old man reckons everyone says wydoncha do this or wydoncha do that. We had a place near the Vic high country that we called "Wombat Ridge" because the bloody things were everywhere.
Daryl
Reply 31 of 41
AnswerID: 186807   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 20:47

Dirty Smitty replied:

WOLF CREEK,
DIDJAGETTHEHORSESNAME, (Aboriginal for "what was the horse's name?")
poorbwheeldribe,
Whogivesastuff,
Iamthecapitalistpigwhogivesastuff,
getalife,
oldkruntsfarm,
crusty's,
soc's,
growyourownvegies,
keepout,
babyboomer's retreat,
crustyoldfarmforcrustyoldfarmers.
BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN! YEEEHAAA
Seriously I am glad for you,
Goodluck and welcom to PARADISE PONDS.

Reply 32 of 41
AnswerID: 186828   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 21:47

Marn replied:

If tou are the 'outlaws' then how bout "NED KELLYS RANCH" or similiar.Or the "INLAWS" :))
Reply 33 of 41
AnswerID: 186829   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 22:05

DP replied:

If it's somewhat hilly why not "Upson Downs"

Dan
Reply 34 of 41
AnswerID: 186842   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 00:07

Motherhen replied:

You mean is hasn't been named before? Farms hate having their names changed with every change in ownership - real confusing for them. Otherwise, good suggestions above. Also bustmegutup and moneypit being more un-original names. Or as you are outlaws, how about Glenrowan?
Near the Stuart Highway NT
Click Image to Enlarge
Home to reality - The dream trip is over
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 35 of 41
AnswerID: 186862   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 08:30

Redback replied:

MRAISLE
OUTLAWACRES
NEW OUTLAW
OUTLAWSVILLE
OUTLAWSEND
THE FARM
KICKATINALONG
WHEELABARROWBACK
WHYKICKAMOOCOW

Reply 36 of 41
Activities Index
Solo Skydiving - Brisbane Solo Skydiving - Brisbane
Brisbane - QLD
Skydive and feel the ultimate feeling of going solo as you jump out of your plane and freefall from
CBD Day Spa Microdermabrasion & Light Therapy CBD Day Spa Microdermabrasion & Light Therapy
Sydney - NSW
the celebrities favourite treatment!
V8 Race Buggy Hot Laps - Melbourne V8 Race Buggy Hot Laps - Melbourne
Melbourne - VIC
Experience the power of a V8 Race Buggy zooming around the track.
CONVERTIBLE DANDENONG/YARRA RANGES DELUX TOUR CONVERTIBLE DANDENONG/YARRA RANGES DELUX TOUR
Yarra Valley / Dandenongs - VIC
Olinda and Sherbrook Forest in the Dandenong Ranges.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 186898   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:28

oldmagpie2 replied:

aislesitawhile
Reply 37 of 41
AnswerID: 186915   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:53

Spike me replied:

"Private Property" seems to be a popular one. I see it on gates everywhere.
Reply 38 of 41
FollowupID: 444069   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:34

GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) posted:

I've wondered about that, must get confusing for the posties.
J Series Bedford
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 186949   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:45

boogum replied:

"Staggery point"

Good pickin, Boogum
Reply 39 of 41
AnswerID: 186974   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 19:39

Member - Charlie M (SA) replied:

Thisildoo
Chees
Charlie
Reply 40 of 41
AnswerID: 186978   Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:08

Member - Omaroo (NSW) replied:

"The Block"

LOL!
Reply 41 of 41

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website