<span class="highlight">Corrugations</span> - what causes them?

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:30
ThreadID: 36935 Views:3426 Replies:18 FollowUps:22
Anyone got a good explanation for what causes road corrugations? Sick of the wife asking and not having an answer!

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:35

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:35
www.abc.net.au/science/k2/trek/s315128.htm

Dr Karl has some theories
AnswerID: 189948

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:45
Forget the theories - here are some actual experiments using a 2WD, 4WD and semi.

www.abc.net.au/science/k2/trek/s315129.htm
FollowupID: 447481

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:38

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:38
cant get technical but I reckon they are an inevitable action on a fluid surface (dirt is fluid) . While a freshly graded road is pretty flat there will be something that causes supension to hop. thios creates small humps that by there own existence gets the chain in motion creating creating corragations slowly as we know them. Once they have started they only get bigger. Braking accelerating etc all has a bit to do with it as you see where the bitumen ends and there is a bit of a drop then corragations are created for a few hundred metres afterwards - same as grids
Just a theory
AnswerID: 189949

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:39
BTW for whatever reson there are very few corragated tracks/roads around Kalgoorlie and none badley corragated that I ever saw
FollowupID: 447473

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:43

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:43
Scubaroo

Have a look at this. There are many others if you do a google search using the words 'corrugations in roads' Site Link

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 189953

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:46

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:46
Axletramp
AnswerID: 189954

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:23
Is he...???
FollowupID: 447507

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:29

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:29
FollowupID: 447514

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:38

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:38
You didn't answer my question... LOL
FollowupID: 447518

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:54
This question is perhaps similar to; where do flies go at night?

I believe there are many theories about both, but no conclusive proof.

I could be wrong, I don't read enough.
AnswerID: 189956

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:53

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:53
That's easy, they turn into mosquitos!
Banjo (WA)
FollowupID: 447595

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:59

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:59
Tell her they aren't corregations...they are simply a road enhancement , otherwise known as Scooby's Revenge :))
AnswerID: 189960

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:18

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:18
They are a safety device deliberately created by the local councils to stop us going to sleep while driving.
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 447603

Reply By: Dave198 - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:22

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:22
I commented on the same thing about corrugations a couple of weeks ago in regard to a comment Footloose made.
I thought the wind had a lot to do with it because of the ripples (corrugations0 you see on sandhills where there is no traffic.
I did a Google and came up with the ABC site mentioned and found it made very interesting reading.
I remember a time a couple of years ago when I was doing quite a few tours out to Mungo National Park. After a few days of fairly strong wind, the 'woopies' (in my opinion, v e r y l o n g corrugations) in the road were unbelievable. This was the Top Hut road, coming in from Pooncarie. I had to slow to about 30 - 40 Kph to travel without lifting the wheels of the ground.
They were spaced at around a car length apart, and went on for quite a few hundred metres wherever there was quite a sandy section of road.
I have also experienced the same thing on the Menindee - Pooncarie Road in the Wentworth Shire, which is the red sandy section of that road.
It reminded me of going up through Finke to Chambers Pillar, but the woopies were not so extreme.
AnswerID: 189970

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:36

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:36
they were put there to keep the rabbits out.cheers
AnswerID: 189971

Follow Up By: cackles - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:03

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:03
Emperor Nasi Goreng right, lol

cackles
FollowupID: 447600

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:19

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:19
That add just cracks me up, especially the shiny little face at the front of the class ready to give his report on China!
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 447604

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:53

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:53
women with big kahoonas and braking too hard
AnswerID: 189974

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:57

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:57
LMAO
FollowupID: 447596

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:31

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:31
Stop it Truckie ya Killin' me
LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
FollowupID: 447609

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:09

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:09
I thought it was true :(
FollowupID: 447715

Reply By: Off-track - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:44

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 23:44
From suspension oscillations - and different suspension/types of vehicles cause different corrugations. Modern dirtbikes produce very long corrugations which are called 'whoops' whereas older dual shock bikes produce shorter ones. Trucks make very hard edge ones because they are so rigid.
AnswerID: 189979

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:25

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:25
I agree with suspension oscillations but sometimes they appear as soon as the grader or bulldozer has been through
I guess the blade on the dozer/grader gets some bounce in it .
Corrugations eventually turn into sand hills after a few years and can be 20 metres apart
FollowupID: 447607

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:20

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:20
I want to know what is the best way to drive them ? Mainly from the point of saving hardware - I can take the pounding but I want the car to as well !
AnswerID: 190007

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:40

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:40
Fast and on the wrong side of the road.
FollowupID: 447745

Reply By: Spike me - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:22

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:22
Fast driving on dirt roads by a heap of Dicx Heads
AnswerID: 190021

Reply By: sudsy - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:11

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:11
They're caused by vehicles suspensions when tyre pressures are too high, I call them oscillation compactions.

Deflate your tyres to a comfortable but safe pressure, you will get a more comfortable ride and cause less corrugations.

I'm talking about the tightly compacted (Annoying) corrugations here.

AnswerID: 190038

Follow Up By: Aston - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:55

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:55
We've just got back after another 16,000 km across the top and across the centre and found the same as "Sudsy".
Quote:
"They're caused by vehicles suspensions when tyre pressures are too high"

Apart from the tyre pressures too high, speed appears to contribute to the formation of them.
We found that if you drive on the wrong side of the road the vibration from the corrugations is not as bad which leads me to think that the ramp of the corrugation faces in one direction eg:"BARCHAN type sand dune" which has a 34 degrees repose angle.
The corollary to this is that internal roads within most cattle stations are not usually corrugated and if they are they are minimal, is this because they have the tyres on their vehicles usually at the correct pressure and dont drive at the same high speeds.
We have also noticed that the composition of the road surface determines the type of corrugation sandy top isnt as bad as that pink gravel that ramps up into corrugations 60mm high.

Cheers aston
FollowupID: 447686

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:58

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:58
I'd be more inclined to think that speed was the factor on internal roads. Why - because trucks and 4WD's with LT tyres are the main vehicular traffic and they both normally have very high tyre pressures.
FollowupID: 447702

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:41
I have found that on the inland tracks on Fraser Island, once a couple of heros have travelled the tracks in 2WD without lowering their tyre pressures (we've all heard them bragging, went everywhere in 2WD mate!) the corrugations in the sand are much deeper and more severe. Once a few gentle folk drive a track with appropriately softer tyres and in 4WD the tracks revover. Similarly on a sandy hill, if a few have gone up there will be corrugations, once a few go down they will be smoothed out.
AnswerID: 190081

Reply By: bob&loz - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 18:48

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 18:48
They are caused by the wheels pushing on the surface. In 2wd the front wheels are being pushed across the suface and the wheel is travelling slightly slower than road speed. Dirt is pushed in front of the wheel before the wheel rolls over it. The same thing happens at the back where the driven wheel is turning slightly faster than road speed. The faster you travel the greater the resistance and the greater the variation between wheel speed and road speed causing greater slip and causing them to form more.
For this reason most of what everybody has said is correct, IE corrugations are caused by;
Driving in 2wd instead of 4wd (cann't understand why anybody would have a 4x4 and drive on dirt in 2wd)
Driving to fast
Accelerating or braking hard
Having tyres too hard

AnswerID: 190092

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 22:26

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 22:26
I dont really subscribe to the idea that driving in 4wd will not produce corrugations because like your theory states - a driven wheel will cause them also.

Suspension action has a lot to do with how they form.
FollowupID: 447797

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:41
off-track
the reason that using 4wd will help is that
1 the front wheels are not being pushed and
2 you are spreading the driving force over 4 wheels not 2 so the load on the rear wheels is halved

bob
FollowupID: 447818

Reply By: Tony J - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:28

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:28
Do they only occur in Oz or in other countries as well????
AnswerID: 190114

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:07

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:07
In America George has made them unconstitutional just like WMD.

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 447838

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:26

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:26
Yes, they do!

They are called Washboard or Corduroy roads in the US

Google has heaps on these.

Ken
FollowupID: 447920

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:41

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:41
Umm Ken,

I know that, I was "Justbjoaken"

Geoff.

FollowupID: 447966

Reply By: phil - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:11

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:11
I once read a book by someone who drove trucks in WA in the 1920's. He made the comment that corrugations on roads only started when balloon tyres started to replace the old narrow, and very high pressure, tyres.
This suggests that the flex in the tyre plays a part.

Phil I
AnswerID: 190234

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:57
It may also suggest the greater speeds allowed by balloon tyres is a contributer?

Geoff.

FollowupID: 447910

Reply By: Spike me - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:15

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:15
Land Rovers
AnswerID: 190370