Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Camping Bermagui / South Coast area with pet dog?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:47

Mands

We are looking at getting away for some camping up Bermagui way over christmas and I was wondering if anyone had any experiences camping in the south coast region with a pet dog? We used to camp at Picnic Point-Mimosa Rocks, which was fantastic, but that is Nat. Park and dogs are not allowed. State Forests are ok with dogs but I dont know much about camping spots in the Bermagui State Forest.
ThreadID: 38252 Replies: 2
Views: 695 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 197806   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 15:47

Member - Lindsay replied:

G'day Mands

Mystery Bay primative (water, drop dunnies & cold shower plus $fees) camping area which is between Narooma & Tilba just north of Bermagui is a fantastic coastal camp site which allows dogs. I live only one hour north of there & spent a week there B4 Easter with the extended family & 5 dogs.
The beach allows leash free times for your dog morning & evening.
If you do a search for "Eurobodalla Shire Council" & investigate the site you will find all relevant information.
It books out in peak times so check with ESCouncil re Xmas bookings.
Being a local I also know the best state forest/river front bush camp site which is about 25 km west of Bodalla on the pristine Tuross River. I can email you some photos if you are interested.

Lindsay & The (Polar) Bear

Simpson Desert

Anne Beadell Highway
Click Image to Enlarge
See you when the mud dries!
Reply 1 of 2
FollowupID: 456912   Submitted: Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 10:41

Mands posted:

G'day Lindsay (& bear)

Thanks for the info you provided on Mystery Bay. I had found some info on that site previously but by all accounts its pretty much booked out for xmas. Sounds & looks like a top spot, might try & get up there another time when school hols are not on! This Tuross river area sounds pretty good though. Are bookings required there too? We don't really want to be tied to a schedule if we don't have to be. Just wander along and stop when we want to ( but not sure if if its possible at that time of year!) I envy you being a local in this region, it really is beautiful around your way. Oh and how'd you manage camping with 5 dogs, mate? Sounds like a handful?

Amanda
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 197967   Submitted: Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 16:01

Member - Ian W (NSW) replied:

Lindsay,

Took the liberty of dropping you a member mesaage re your above post.

Reply 2 of 2

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website