Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

A little bit of maintenance.......

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:22

Willem

Well, the windscreen waterbottle sprung a leak. After watching it drip for months I decided to finally do something.

Ahhh.......to get the water bottle out, the battery has to be removed. No worries. Do that.

Hey! there is a a botanic garden here in all the crevases. Remove all the debris. Now I see some surface rust on battery tray....bugger. Sand it away and spray with fish oil. Repair waterbottle and replace all.

Go to start truck....No Ignition and no dashlights whatsoever.......Ahhh....... that plurry Fusible Link again. The FL had given grief in the Gibson Desert this year 50km from the nearest track and on top of a dune. Mate and I eventually found that with a cable tie we pulled the FL downwards and the lights came on again. This was in April. Luckily I had ordered a 2nd hand FL some time ago through a wrecker in the Big Smoke(Nissan wanted $75 for it!!!). Fitted the new FL and all is sweet again.

A whole morning passed by, lunch came and went.............what fun!!!!

But I got it fixed...............LOL

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Advertisement
ThreadID: 40031 Replies: 5
Views: 717 FollowUps: 8
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 208408   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:38

Footloose replied:

Willem, I'm still fixing /replacing stuff also. 3 burner stove knobs missing, the radio body screws fell out. And when my bro spent the night in the cabin he kicked the radio head, pulled some screws out, temp fix was the magic tape. But we all know about temp fixes, don't we ?
Had to do an install for someone else so I went to get some industrial velcro. "Yes mate, got it here." 7 places tried (all a cut lunch through the traffic away) and none had a clue. Finally I found the stuff at the 3M distributer. double lock tape. Now everyone knows about this stuff but it took me 7 phone calls, a full day of driving around in the heat yadda yadda to find it.
Anyway, radio head now looks schmick again.
I really must do something about all that red stuff inside everywhere ....
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 468386   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:27

Willem posted:

It never ends....:-D
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 208416   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:56

Member - Phil G (SA) replied:

Willem,
I had fusible link problems on an old troopie. They didn't like the corrugations. Since then, I've cable tied the lower part of the fusible links to the starter cable, so theres no chance of it vibrating. I use fusible links on my dual battery connections for short circuit protection and secure them similarly.

And maintenance never stops - spent today servicing one of my daughters Pulsars - oil, all filters, rear brake shoes, plugs, and took the starter motor apart to see why it occasionally wasn't starting - one of the brushes was worn - I managed to extend the brush a bit, so she can use it next week, while I look for a new set of brushes.

And the setting up never stops either - made another food drawer in the back of the truck - I bought 10sets of Hettich 60kg slides off Ebay and keep finding a use for another set! Its all great fun.
Mt Finke
Click Image to Enlarge
LandCruiser HDJ79
Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 468389   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:30

Willem posted:

I think I have come to the end of my 'setting up'....I hope...lol

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 468403   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:22

Rick (S.A.) posted:

Yeah, never stops & that's kinda OK. By the way, thanks for the tips about the cable tied fusible link, boys.

Sanded & spray painted the roof rack today 'coz it was looking verrrry daggy.

Late next week - on goes the twin wheel carrier.

Then I plan to mount a drop down smoko table (Refer recent post of mine gathering ideas about what folk do for tables) on the rear right spare wheel + garbage bag on left rear spare - trying to get some crap out of the cabin/internal rear area, so I can put other kinds of crap in there! (the empties rattle annoyingly back there, attempting to drown out the MP3 music & the hum of tyres.)

Week after - new 5 m roll-out shade to hang off the right side. Got an excellent buy from Bob Burridge in NSW, delivered by Australia Post for $ 14.

RM
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 468608   Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:35

Willem posted:

Hi Rick

I am really enjoying Bob Dylan 2006. Reminds me of the yesteryear...lol

I think that I have come to the end of my inventiveness.
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 208422   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:11

Truckster (Vic) replied:

you have too much time on ya hands old matey
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 468384   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:24

Willem posted:

Err yes...I suppose thats what retirement is all about. You got another X amount of years of hard slog ahead of ya...LOL
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 468388   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:29

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Gee thanks for the reminder

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 468419   Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 06:30

Member No 1 posted:

what the!.....an irish pistol ...
almost new, only been fired twice...going cheap i believe

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 208568   Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:37

Bros 1 replied:

Willem,
Got 4 years to go for retirement and am starting to wonder what i am going to do. It appears that auto problems will still take up some of the slack.
Bros.

Click Image to Enlarge
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 468610   Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:41

Willem posted:

Bros

LOL You will find plenty to do even if you are an inactive person.....

It has taken me 7 years to repair the stone walls and to paint the house and now I have to start at the front again..........bugga

Must say I am getting a bit lazy now and keep on thinking of going to far away places by the sea and just beachcombing again like I used to when I was younger.

Trouble is that SWMBO usually has other ideas!!!

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
V8 Race Buggy Intro Drive - Melbourne V8 Race Buggy Intro Drive - Melbourne
Melbourne - VIC
Get a taste of what racing a Monster Toyota Lexus Powered V8 Off Road Buggy is all about.
Armoured Vehicle Drive Course Armoured Vehicle Drive Course
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Imagine yourself at the wheel of a massive Saracen armoured personnel carrier driving the monster ov
Yacht Racing Thrill on Sydney Harbour Yacht Racing Thrill on Sydney Harbour
Sydney - NSW
This is a great team building event for groups of all sizes.
Helicopter Island Day Adventure Helicopter Island Day Adventure
The Whitsundays - QLD
Spend a day living it up by enjoying a scenic helicopter flight over the amazing Whitsunday Islands
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 208584   Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:41

Member - Duncs replied:

So I head out to the workshop to do a routine job on the car.

Missus says "How long you going to be?"

I answer "Yes!"

Ive given up estimating 'cause it always takes longer, or I get finished quick so start another job, which takes longer.

Now that works Willem you will find something else to fix, modify or invent.

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website