Fraser island
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 22:09
Boxhead
Any one back from Fraser last coupla days?
If so how busy along east beach [
camp spots]?
Thanks in advance
Reply By: tomjones83 - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 09:00
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 09:00
g'day mate, we got back 30/12/06. it was busy! no decent
camp spots until you get up past
indian head, then you have the crappy tracks to deal with. no fish as the ocean is full of weed and has been for about 2 months, tracks are in an appauling state, fuel $1.70 at
orchid beach and $1.80 at cathederal beach. oh yeah, no fires!
i think i will end up stepping on someone's toes but in my experience up there over the last week, i will never go back. i cannot possibly see how it could be rated as 'paradise.' the joint is too commercialised! back to moreton for us in future, it isnt popular with the troopies and backpackers! bigger is certainly not better IMHO.
Tom
Follow Up By: Craigww2 - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:09
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:09
Have to agree with you there Tom. At no stage did we feel safe just to pull up on
the beach due to everybody treating it as a 15 lane highway. I like Moreton where even in a busy area it is still quiet enough to pull over and enjoy the sites.
We were off the barge for 15min and we had to recover another vehicle within another 10min another car was being recovered. I was very concerned to see how top heavy the backpackers troopies were packed. It was a nice place to visit but I prefer Moreton.
Later
Craig
Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 08:52
Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 08:52
Hehehe... glad to see someone finally has the same opinion!
We had to skull drag a early model Prado from around
champagne pools to the servo at
orchid beach. the poor family had done an altinator and only just had it reco'ed before going to fraser. was interesting for swmbo as it was her first time dragging anything. the patrol performed nicely though :-)
may see ya around sometime, cheers
Tom.