Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

4by and trek of your choice ?

Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 17:16

Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan

Folks,

If you could have a fully kitted 4by of your choice with or without trailer / camper etc and have it shipped anywhere in the world to complete a trek you have always dreamed about:

1. What vehicle would you take ?

2. What trek would you love to attempt ?

Cheers ... Taz
New Trailer and kit fitted
Click Image to Enlarge
"24 hours in a day, 24 Bundy cans in a case. Coincidence? .......I think not."
Advertisement
ThreadID: 41906 Replies: 12
Views: 553 FollowUps: 11
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 219335   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:38

Maddmav replied:

1. My Maverick

2. Australia

Vinnie
Reply 1 of 12
AnswerID: 219337   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:45

Wayne (NSW) replied:

Taz,

The toughest 4WD track in the world, the Canning Stock Route, and my Troopie.

Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
Reply 2 of 12
FollowupID: 479868   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:01

Robin posted:

What's tough about the canning Wayne , its a classic, seriously worth doing, long fun and needs good planning, but a lot can be done in 2wd.
But honestly there's more tough spots an hour out of melbourne complete with no phone reception, usually no satphone under damp forest cover also.

FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 479880   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:46

Wayne (NSW) posted:

I must be doing it all wrong being in 4WD doing the Canning, but if you have it why not use it.

Having phone service does not make it a hard trip, but the Canning is a bit further away from Melbourne than 1 hour.

See you on the the Canning this year will I, or I hour out of Melbourne?

Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 479933   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 07:33

Robin posted:

Hi Wayne
I was relating to trips in terms of the subject line and have felt more out of touch and away from help 1 hour out of Melbourne because of the difficult nature of the tracks and the inability to call for backup, as compared to Canning when few months ago when were able to get new shocks to friends on Canning mainly because of phones.

Whereas in 80's Canning was so remote that another friend had to shoot a Camel for food for stranded Geologists he found while he drove a week to raise the alarm.

FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 479943   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 08:25

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) posted:

Doesn't have to a hard trek to be a great trek!
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 219346   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:08

Member - Andrew (QLD) replied:

1. A stock standard Zook

2. Some of those tracks in Borneo.

Click Image to Enlarge
It may be that my sole purpose in life is to
serve as a warning to others!
Reply 3 of 12
FollowupID: 479899   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:00

Marn posted:

Yep those bloody zooks will go ANYWHERE..... Should never have sold mine
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 219356   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:35

Member - Doug T (W.A) replied:

1 Landrover Defender

2 because I like to keep my head on my Shoulders I would keep clear of the Mid-East and go to the Andes in South America......after the Canning
Along the Gibbie Creek Track
Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
Along the Gibbie Creek Track
Gregory National Park
Reply 4 of 12
Activities Index
High Roller Package High Roller Package
Melbourne - VIC
Up to 120 guests compete in a tournament style competition.
Tiger Moth Scenic Flight - 45 minutes - NSW Tiger Moth Scenic Flight - 45 minutes - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Fly back to the 1940s in a vintage open cockpit bi-plane.
Glow Worm Night Tour Glow Worm Night Tour
Gold Coast - QLD
See the glow worms which sparkle around a cascading waterfall inside a cave at World Heritage listed
Man from Snowy River - luxury 2 day horse ride Man from Snowy River - luxury 2 day horse rid
Wine and High Country - VIC
High country horse ride in the Man from Snowy River country with overnight luxury accommodation at t
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 219360   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:43

_gmd_pps replied:

The truck I recently purchased and the routes would be
the Trans-Americana from Anchorage to Fireland (have only done parts)
and North Cape to Gibraltar in Europe (done most of it - so only second position)
and then eventually some routes in Oz .. but thats easy because I am here anyway ..
have fun
gmd
Reply 5 of 12
AnswerID: 219367   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:27

Willem replied:

1. A 75 series diesel Toyota Troopy

2. Cape Town to London.

OR

3. Vladivostok to Paris

OR

4. Panama to Cape Horn

(Been just about everywhere in Oz...lol)

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Reply 6 of 12
FollowupID: 479895   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:53

Wayne (NSW) posted:

Willem,

You sure that you have picked the right vehicle, but I did not think you would go the Troopie over the GQ?

Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 479902   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:12

Willem posted:

I like my Nissan but for practical long distance touring in overseas countries I would go for the Troopy. Rugged, parts available anywhere, standard long range tanks, inside sleeping, etc.

Always keeping my eye out for one...lol. I bought the Nissan at the right price at the time, but will change if I get the chance.
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 479928   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 06:51

Redback posted:

A 75 series, a glutten for punishment Willem ;-))

FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 479953   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 09:07

Penguin (NSW) posted:

Did I hear you right, Baz? Who is calling whom a glutton for punishment?

But let's not get into Landrover politics here. :-)

Click Image to Enlarge
Jackson's Crossing - Victorian High Country
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 219405   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 06:47

Member - Barnesy (SA) replied:

Troopy because of international parts availability. South America, Andes or Amazon rainforest.

Africa, Kalahari or Sahara. But the Sahara is the one that I would like to do most, and in that case I would probably go for a fully kitted Pajero.

Barnesy
Millstream NP spring WA
Click Image to Enlarge
It takes years of hard work to create something. Any fool can destroy it in 5 minutes.
Reply 7 of 12
AnswerID: 219406   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 06:53

Redback replied:

2007 Land Rover Defender

Camel Trophy Amazon Trek

Reply 8 of 12
AnswerID: 219407   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 06:54

zha zha cruiser replied:

Try PNG. You won't find a tougher track than the highland tracks. As for the vehicle - you best check with the locals of the area your going to.
Reply 9 of 12
AnswerID: 219416   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 08:30

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

1) Reality = my GQ Fantasy = 100 series (with live axle, turbo diesel etc...) or GU TD6 or Patrol Ute or 'Cruiser Ute or.....................................................
with a TVan behind (if just my bride and I) or our Cavalier for the family to tour in.

2) Reality = Australia Fantasy = Australia!!!!!!

My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 10 of 12
AnswerID: 219423   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 09:20

Member - sparra replied:

1- landcruiser trayback with canopy

2- offtrack exploring great victoria,gibson and great sandy deserts looking for rockholes and old explorers campsites etc. cheers sparra.
shiddi pool
Click Image to Enlarge
shiddi pool
Reply 11 of 12
FollowupID: 479958   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 09:51

V8Diesel posted:

Kinda like the sound of that (especially if it's in the new V8 diesel cruiser of course). Done a fair bit already and wouldn't mind doing some more. The Goldfields area of WA is a fantastic place if you can leave the tracks behind and start really looking around. So much history and I just like the bush out that way.

Always wanted to do a major trans-america drive in a capable 4x4. Canada would be something else too.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 220943   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 11:42

Chris D at Newcastle replied:

Taz,

1. 79 series Toyota with metal canopy

2. Vladivostok to Milan

Have you ever had a look at the following web pages, there is a section dealing with 4WDs:

Reply 12 of 12
FollowupID: 481644   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 11:43

Chris D at Newcastle posted:

www.horizonsunlimited.com/sitemap.shtml
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Man from Snowy River - luxury 2 day horse ride Man from Snowy River - luxury 2 day horse rid
Wine and High Country - VIC
High country horse ride in the Man from Snowy River country with overnight luxury accommodation at t
V8 Race Buggies Extreme Drive - Sydney V8 Race Buggies Extreme Drive - Sydney
Sydney - NSW
Special, receive 2 free hot laps valued at $100. Experience the raw power of off road racing!
Kata Tjuta and Uluru Sunset Tour Y13 Kata Tjuta and Uluru Sunset Tour Y13
Ayers Rock / Uluru - NT
Travel with AAT Kings to the mystical 36 domes of Kata Tjuta.
9000ft Tandem Skydive - Cairns 9000ft Tandem Skydive - Cairns
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
The Great Barrier Reef provides the backdrop for this exhilarating tandem skydiving experience over
Book Now - Things To Do