What's your backup/ emergency plan?

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:46
ThreadID: 41932 Views:3727 Replies:21 FollowUps:53
You are a single party on a remote bush track and you break down many kiliomeres from a settlement or station. Nobody is liable to come along. You have no idea of the nearest water source, and your map doesn't show anything useful for your survival.
What's your emergency backup plan?

Reply By: Stu050 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:51

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:51
Yell for help on HF to VKS-737 or anybody else who may be listening.
AnswerID: 219474

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:24

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:24
Naturally you have a spare mic in the glovebox :))
FollowupID: 480030

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:26

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:26
And a spare radio in the back :-)))
FollowupID: 480032

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:58

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:58
Get out a pack of cards and start playing patience. Someone will soon look over your shoulder and say put the red six on the black seven.
Idea courtesy of Jack Absolom. I love it.
AnswerID: 219475

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:16

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:16
Whilst you ponder over how your going to get the MITSUBISHI SIGMA out of a bog:))))).
FollowupID: 480024

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:54

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:54
Or if that doesnt work, take a bleep on the side of the road - a bus full of tourists will definitely pass by!
FollowupID: 480104

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:09
Axle, I liked the way Jack "push started" the automatic Sigma by jacking up a rear wheel and turning it by hand - I still have my doubts about that one :-))
FollowupID: 480167

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:01

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:01
F'loosie, how remote are you talking. My GPS has better maps than you are suggesting and have a backup there too.
Far from phone coverage?
UHF area? Repeater?
Always have water. Fire extinguishers. Worst case is EPIRB in the glovebox.
AnswerID: 219476

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:23

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:23
John, I'm thinking remote enough to try and remember where the epirb was packed :)
FollowupID: 480028

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:43

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:43
Emergency roll in the glovebox with smoke and magnesium flares and the EPIRB. Was given some flares a few years ago by Nick R. With them he gave me the advice from the useby date, that I had three years to get lost. Used them up at a birthday party underneath the Tullamarine flight path one night :-)

Will have a sat phone or something at some stage I guess, not decided on that or a HF radio. Friends arrived from Sydney back before Christmas with broken HF antenna. Yes, they carried a spare, just in case they needed to call out from our isolated area.

One thing I do is drive a Nissan without electronic fuel injection so it can be fixed better than so many other vehicles. No to Landies, Pajeros, cough'Yotas. Carry snatch straps, rated shackles, spare hoses, belts, jumper leads, bolts, screws and etc......
FollowupID: 480036

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:37

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:37
And how did they break an aerial, John ? On the servo fluoro's ?
From what you've said about the state of comms around your place I suspect that they were quite prudent LOL
I've never broken an aerial. I've had a screw come out of the adjustable tip of an amateur aerial years ago. Whacked a few trees and bushes in my time but never broken an aerial.
Might have something to do with the fact that for many years I used whip aerials until I could afford an auto tune.
FollowupID: 480049

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:41

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:41
Footie, my helical HF broke in the bush, the winding fractured not far from the base, had to peel back the heat shrink and chase the fault with a multimeter, the fracture was impossible to see with the naked eye but a multimeter soon tracked it down, some solder and new heat shrink....good as new
FollowupID: 480080

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:44

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:44
Ray, as they get older they have a habit of fracturing. I've also repaired a few like that, but never my own.
FollowupID: 480100

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:40

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:40
F'loosie. Stainless whip on one of those they refer to as a 'pipe bomb' with the adjustable up and down bases. It broke just above the base. They put on the old whip antenna. They could of course use a phone round here to call VKS they carried two mobiles.
FollowupID: 480118

Follow Up By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 00:31

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 00:31
And if you happem to have a roll over then the HF antenna and sundry other essential bits may well have karked it. Best to also (or only, if you can't afford HF) carry an EPIRB. Wait 2 days on pre pracked emergency supplies and water, if no physical injuries. If no one happens by, activate the EPIRB. Be prepared to wait up to another 2 days. Still have left 1 day food & water (minimum) - carry minimum 5 days supplies. 5 days supplies also needed if flooded in & can't move until roads dry out e.g Oodnadatta Track.
FollowupID: 480126

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:08

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:08
For HF I carry a wire aerial hooked onto some coax that will plug directly into the set. Its 8.88metres long, which is the tuned length for 8.022MHz and it slips up the middle of a 9 metre collasable fishing rod (like the Electric Bug SuperRod).
FollowupID: 480166

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:24

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:24
The quarter wave emergency aerial should be in every HF toolbox.
At one stage I designed and sold one that would do 8022 and 5455 with the one bit of wire.
Your emergency aerial can be clipped to the defunct atu or you can use a banana plug directly to the output socket of the radio. Although length is usually given from formulae, be aware that the impedence will actually vary depending upon a number of things. This will affect the length. So, the formulae length "ain't necessarily so" (even though its better than nothing).
Mine were tested on the CSR, Western deserts , Simpson etc with excellent results. Usually one end was simply held up with a shovel.
The problem was one of economics. They cost around $20 to make, add advertising, packaging and postage and nobody is going to pay $50 for a bit of wire unless it comes with a sticker :)))))))
FollowupID: 480171

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:11

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:11
Sat phone and a prayer Footyl. (And anticipation of a humungous bill).
AnswerID: 219481

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:24

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:24
If that's the case I'd stay lost. My missus would shoot me when I got home anyway !
FollowupID: 480029

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:36

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:36
Footyl that's all part of the pampering process. I have a signed, certified agreement that, apart from going on short rations (very short, in fact), no other punitive action is to be taken.

I guess one could always attempt subliminal contact with Willem ----- .
FollowupID: 480035

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:23

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:23
You trying to un nerve the next guy going on a remote area trip? :))))

AnswerID: 219486

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:26

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:26
Not in the slightest. He might just be the guy to help me out :))
I'm always saying *backup plan*. I know people have them. Maybe I can learn something.
FollowupID: 480031

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:30

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:30
Don't go
AnswerID: 219489

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:32

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:32
Too late. I'm already broken down, remember?
FollowupID: 480046

Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:52

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:52
Burn my tyres .
AnswerID: 219492

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:22

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:22
Not a bad idea, if you can get one to light up. Black billowing smoke is always a drawcard in the bush.
FollowupID: 480044

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 16:42

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 16:42
They reckon James Annetts, and Simon Amos, the Jackeroos that died in the Kimberley would have survived if they had burnt their tyres, back in 1986.

FollowupID: 480260

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:56

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:56
Footloose
Are you alright mate ........havn't been out in the sun ave ya ,

I spent 39 hours stuck in mud about 70 klm West of Todmorden in my EK Holden, missed the detour in the dark , It's amazing how the sound of wind in the bushes sounds like a vehicle coming, . So back to your question , and by the looks of it one is stuffed , CYANIDE Bait or if you cant find one do a Tom Dooley,
then I always go off about why Burke and Wills died with all that food walking and crawling around them

AnswerID: 219495

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:21

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:21
Doug, of course I've been out in the sun.
I knew I'd get some interesting suggestions, but not as *interesting* as yours. No thanks. If I committed hairi kari then I couldn't come back to the forum and brag about what an easy trip it was :))
FollowupID: 480043

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:58

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:58
been there done that - you have no option just take some water,gps and map then jump on shanks pony and do it. although i did have some rocks marked on the map I knew could be relied upon for water ended up walking 40k to a station which no one was there
AnswerID: 219508

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:32

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:32
Davoe, and what if you weren't young and fit. Or had a medical emergency ?
FollowupID: 480069

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:44

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:44
>Davoe, and what if you weren't young and fit. Or had
>a medical emergency ?

I would hope an alien space ship, from the planet Zarkwon, swooped down and plucked me to safety.

Honestly...!

FollowupID: 480072

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:32

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:32
Mike, I've been there mate, it's not cracked up to be what they say but they beer is good and the shelias are cheap.
FollowupID: 480078

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:43

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:43
Yes, but what about the goats ?
FollowupID: 480099

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:07

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:07
footy thats why afterwards there was an Hf tuned into VKS in the vehicle
FollowupID: 480145

Reply By: Red One - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:20

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:20
303 and a mirror to kiss mu arse goodbye
AnswerID: 219514

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:30

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:30
Please do it well off the track. I may well be along 5 mts later :((
FollowupID: 480068

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:55

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:55
Dead right, in the SAS survival guide a mirror is more important than most other things you can think of, it says to use it to flash at passing planed etc... although thinking about it, a plane at 40,000 feet? i dont know about that.
FollowupID: 480083

Follow Up By: hoyks - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 12:00

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 12:00
For a cheap signalling mirror, grab a CD as it saves having to pull mirrors off the vehicle.

Put your eye up to the hole in the middle and stick your other arm out at full length, make the thumbs up sign and cover what you want to signal to with your thumb.
Angle the CD so that the flash of reflected light hits your raised thumb and you know it will be able to be seen by anyone looking from the target.

Just have to hope someone is looking your way.

It can be seen from a very long way off, wether they take any notice is another thing.
FollowupID: 480196

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:57

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:57
My reserves of tinned food and stainless steel belly tank of water and jerries I carry as well.

My accurate high powered rifle and skinning knife. There's 100 roos from that alone.

The heavy duty plastic bags I keep in the back for water.

Side mirrors and tyres for signalling. Oil fires too.

The selection of tarps and ropes I don't leave home without for shelter. Cards for mental health (solitaire obviously!)

My GPS and paper maps will tell me where I am and where I've been.

Plenty of spares and an excellent assortment of tools onboard.

I have good medical supplies too.
AnswerID: 219527

Reply By: kimprado - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:25

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:25
Gidday Footloose

I've been in a number of these situations over the years because we could'nt rely on old Land Drovers, Vanguards, Essex and a mulitude of other transportation.

During my early childhood years in the bush I relied on bitching, crying and complaining.

Unfortunately the old man took a dim view of this.

One afternoon on a trapping tour, the big ends in the old Vanguard decided to give up the ghost.

I was given a water sack, three potatoes, a box of matches, a rifle and told to walk (at night) back to kennedy's property for help. My memory is a little dim, but I think it took three to four days following the wheel tracks back.

There was no bitching, crying or complaining after that. The old man taught me a lesson

This does'nt answer your question, but does demonstrate that detemination and a cool head is just as important as modern day gadgets in a bushed situation.

Kim
AnswerID: 219534

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:34

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:34
Kim, you are so right ! Panic is the enemy of survival. I sit down and relax and have a think about it (even if it is only a tyre :))
FollowupID: 480079

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:17

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:17
Nowadays, in our currently "enlightened" times the rifle would be a big no no.
FollowupID: 480090

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:31

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:31
Stu, you sure know how to stir the possums ! Now you know I'm not a gun person, but many here are. Fair enough (although I'll bet one of yours is bigger than theirs :)
FollowupID: 480094

Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:03

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:03
Stu050

That's ok if you follow an Eastern State view of the World. But it won't do you a damn bit of good if your bushed in the circumtstances Footloose is talking about.

I might be wrong, but I'm assuming we're talking about remote travel. Not the so called Tourist routes.

In my view anyone heading into very remote areas such as the Western Deserts is a fool if they don't take a rifle. A kill not only provides food but more importanly moisture and energy.

Kim

FollowupID: 480105

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:18

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:18
I know, I know.

I only raised that issue to see who would bite. :-)

Gotcha... :-)))
FollowupID: 480112

Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:28

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:28
Stu050

I thought I was the only qualified stirer on this site...!

Kim
FollowupID: 480114

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:12

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:12
lotta people make the mistke of thinking there are heeps of roos and goats out bush - there aint.they hang around station country where there is water. From my experience they are few and far between out bush. However If you need to I am sure you would eat alot of stuff you didnt thik you would
FollowupID: 480147

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:26

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:26
Davoe, I'm told stewed camel head is quite nice....but I'd have to be desperate !
FollowupID: 480172

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 11:03

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 11:03
mmm Im thinking stewed camel tongue those muthus are huge Youd be the only person lost in the desert for 20 days to put on 10kg
re obsevations bout roos and goats. they are plentifull round the stations near Kal but you head North west (still in the bush before the semi arid) and I have never seen agoat and roos only a couple per day (driving) and in the dunda nature reserv i walked round 1/2 of that and only ever saw a handfull of roos - saw more dogs and camels though
(dogs - what was my post on eating things you thought you wouldnt??)
FollowupID: 480181

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 11:11

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 11:11
You're right about the distribution of roos etc. They need their water and tucker. I've noticed that where there are a lot of camels, I see few roos, a few dingos , birds but thats about it. Camels survive where a lot of other things can't.
I try and take enough food and water to last weeks, camel tongue doesn't turn me on one bit :)))
FollowupID: 480183

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:39

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:39
Lot of those big stupid chooks about too guys and you never know when you will see them. I guess there are a few protected species of reptiles too, but it depends who is better protected.

F'loosie, camel tongue? Hmm, perhaps toe.....
FollowupID: 480233

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:42

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:42
John, camels stink. So do Buffalo. I'm afraid I'd end up like Bourke :))
FollowupID: 480234

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 16:21

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 16:21
F'loosie, you will end up like Bourke, no doubt.......... ;-)
FollowupID: 480255

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:52

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:52
Footy

In the first place: Don't let yourself get into this situation.

Always make sure that your vehicle is 100% roadworthy before going out into remote areas.
Don't take silly changes whilst remote
Be AWARE of your surroundings and exactly where you are situated BEFORE entering into a remote area.

If you ignore these rules you travel at your own peril.

By todays standards I carry:

HF Radio
Sat Phone
(will be buying EPIRB when the new one is on the market)
Suitable maps and GPS
Carry 100lts water at all times
Tarps to collect extra water
Tarps for shelter
Medicines to guard against or to revive
Tools and some spares and welding equipment
Recovery gear including winch and star pickets.
Food for a month at least
Rifle and ammo for food harvest
Mirror to alert aircraft
A network of friends you can call to organise a rescue.

I have broken down in the past in the Simpson(cross country), on the Canning and in Central Australia whilst travelling solo or with one other vehicle. We have always been able to remedy the situation. Of course you cannot guard against everything.

Be aware and take care and then enjoy.

AnswerID: 219541

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:14

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:14
Yep, thats what I was alluding to. Some hairy chested types charge off without either thought or preparation.
We can all get into strife, and generally speaking not many mind helping someone who's tried to do the right thing.
But there are lives lost simply because of the ignorance that this topic might help to dispel. Like most of us I've been lucky enough to be able to help some of both groups, and hope that if I'm in strife that someone will do likewise.
Mind you I'm getting a bit long in the tooth for the Turfer, and my star pickets rusted away. They won't let me carry em on the bullbar anymore anyway :))
Ever tried drinking from a bush still ? YUKK !! It might keep you alive, but you're not going to enjoy it LOL
FollowupID: 480088

Follow Up By: troopyman - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:40

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:40
I am surprised Willem that you dont carry a copy of jack absaloms book "safe outback travel". Theres some good hints in there .
FollowupID: 480096

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:48

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:48
Troopyman. Might I suggest that you take a peek at Willems web page ?
FollowupID: 480101

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:52

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:52
Hahahaha Troopyman. Taking the bleep again....lol

Don't have room to carry those spare tyres to burn!!!!!!!

Poor Jack, what was he thinkin?
FollowupID: 480103

Reply By: Mike - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:50

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:50
No Sweat, If you have a READERS DIGEST Subscription, they will find you anywhere
AnswerID: 219560

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:10

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:10
hahahaha...Now THERE'S a thought :)))
FollowupID: 480168

Reply By: aroundwego - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:03

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:03
word is that two stranded vehicles (seperate events) were located in outback NT last week after setting off their epirbs
AnswerID: 219586

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:15

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:15
Word is both vehicles were totally unprepared & drivers had NFI what they were doing.........just as well they had the EPIRB then :-) Hope they offered to paid the resue bill.
Cheers Craig......
FollowupID: 480230

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:07
Craig,
Sounds like the "the Bullimore technique" applied to land travel! The argument is that the emergency services need the practice. Like you, I don't necessarily agree with it.

phil
FollowupID: 480344

Reply By: Robin - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:36
Hi Footloose

The approach I have taken is that which prevent a single point failure from leading to total failure.

Even real world tests of epribs have not shown a guarantee of you being found, so this means that your broken down vehicle, and what it carries ,must be such that you can survive by staying with it for a reasonable time , and that you have left information with others(plural) such that an effective search can be underway within that time period.

AnswerID: 219590

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:32

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:32
A lot of this emergency stuff relies on electricity. So what happens when your alternator suddenly dies - I had this happen twice - once it was an internal regulator failure, second time it was worn brushes. No warning either time.

Travelling solo, vehicle runs out of electricity and fridge has flattened your 2nd battery? HF radio may be useless. You hope your sat phone has charged batteries. Your EPIRB is a good option.

I personally carry a spare alternator. Doesn't take up much space, and they can be picked up relatively cheap these days. Is there an argument for a Christies generator? Certainly an argument for carrying more than one battery.

Starter motor is the other problem - if that won't fire, I figure I've taken them apart often enough to make it work.

The other scenario with solo cross country travel is a vehicle fire. Sat phone and epirb need to be pulled out of the vehicle first.
AnswerID: 219610

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:45

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 10:45
Good points , Phil. I've had batteries fail but only one alternator. Lucklily I wasnt far from home.
A gel cell might get you out of trouble if you need a quick and dirty sat phone recharge.
Carrying a spare alternator...yep, great idea but where ? If we were to carry everything that might fail we'd need a trailer to put it in.
Now you have me thinking about my own alternator.....might replace it soon LOL
FollowupID: 480177

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 12:32

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 12:32
Footy,
With older vehicles, I'd be taking my alternator out before I went, and checking the bearings for noise and the brushes for length. If any doubt, stick a new set in. Regulators just "go" without warning. And if you have to travel thru water, a spare alternator is security.

Where to carry an alternator hasn't been a problem for me - we travel light and have the space, and an alternator isn't big or heavy. I picked up a used one off Ebay, and checked it worked, but new ones can be had for $250. If you're pushed for space, you could just remove the diode pack, internal regulator and brush holder out of the Toyota alternator and just take them.

I try to only carry the critical spares - stuff that would leave you stranded; but if you are travelling in a group, and you mostly have the same vehicle, we share around extra spares. A welding kit would have to been our most useful "spare" in recent years. Can get you out of the worst trouble.

The starter motor raises similar issues and moreso with an auto travelling solo.
I'd be pretty confident of getting a starter motor going if it had burnt contacts etc. but once again, the security of a second vehicle would mean you can pullstart a manual vehicle.
FollowupID: 480202

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 19:12

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 19:12

With a bit of effort you can start a manual petrol vehicle by jacking up a wheel, selectying 3rd gear with the ignition on and starting it with a rope (like starting a lawn mower). Might need a bit more ooomph with a diesel (tho I push started a diesl one night on a flat hard surface).

Spare alternator is a must in remote country.
FollowupID: 480289

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:03

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:03
Hi Willem,
Yeah, a petrol 4 cylinder would be possible. But I have difficulty pushing my Cruiser on a flat driveway, let alone push starting a diesel. I'd give myself zero chance in the desert. Maybe I could handwinch up a dune, and clutch start in reverse ??? - just a wierd idea hehehe :-)))

For me theres safety in numbers. A second vehicle adds a huge amount of safety.

This stuff is a bit like we do at work - scenarios etc so you practice your emergency management before its ever needed. Useful thread.

FollowupID: 480341

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 12:57

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 12:57
I remember from my old scouting days, what to do when bushed.
No1 Don't pannic easier said than done but don't
N02 Stay where you are. A vehicle is easier to see than a person.
No3 Keep you sinalling gear close and handy. Light 3 smokey fires as this is an internationally recognised distress signal
No 4 Make sure that someone knows your travel plans and expected times of arrival at each major stop.
Modern technology set off the Epirb
You can't rely on the electrical bits and pieces ans as Phil said, they can easily go kaput.
I think that having a game off solitaire has some merit as someone will always turn up to tell you to put what card where. LOL
AnswerID: 219641

Reply By: Hairy - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:32

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:32
If all else fails....Sit and wait. (set up sit back and enjoy)
Rule No. 1 - Always let someone know where your going and when youll be back. (Some reliable who will come and get you )
Rule No. 2 - Always cary enough food and water (beer) to last until rule No 1 comes into action.
Hairy
AnswerID: 219670

Reply By: ingo57 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 11:01

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 11:01
Agree with Hairy, besides a lot from above, the smartest and easiest backup thing to do with remote travel is simply let someone know before you go remote, where you are intending to go and when you intend to contact them again.

If anyone has read the book "between a rock and a hard place" this guy could saved himself a lot of pain and suffering and If he had just told ONE person where he was going, instead he had remove his arm with a blunt penknife to survive.

AnswerID: 219836

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 11:52

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 11:52
This is a good thread. Often wondered what others do, an acquaintance told me a story of some friends of theirs that always travelled with a sat phone but one time they didn’t have it in their car they rolled it. In short they lived in the outback and didn’t think they needed it on this occasion for a short trip down the road – but they ended up waiting several hours for a tourist bus to come by to get help. Neither was seriously hurt but all other communications were taken out in the accident. It is easy to become complacent and accidents can happen anywhere so a plan is important and even more so if travelling remote. The other part of that plan should possibly include some ability to take important things out of the vehicle when things turn really bad – no not the ipod! I have a light backpack that has in it the EPIRB, leatherman, basic first aid, torch, space blanket, some fast food and some water which I also take with me when I leave the vehicle in a remote place. To this I would add my GPS and hand held.

My sat phone has an external aerial and I carry the other aerial separately but not in my backpack as well as a second battery in a rollup shower kit. This is not ideal if in a real hurry to get out. The other thing not to my liking is phone numbers as I don’t have an easy list in the backpack but I always make a list.

AnswerID: 219851