Beach Driving

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:51
ThreadID: 42997 Views:3001 Replies:19 FollowUps:33
Hi everyone

I know there will be many replies with many views about this topic so it would be greatly appreciated if comments could be kept brief yet informative

I am putting together an educational pamphlet for 4X4 beach users on safety tips, environmental practices, handy hints and general education for those wanting to access beach areas.

Could you please reply with comments on beach driving covering the above topics with a focus on minimal impact to our coastal(beach and dune) areas.

The reason is that there has been much talk amongst government department relating to indiscriminate users not using these areas respectfully and that there could be possibility of them closing some areas. I hope to educate those who have little experience and may unknowingly be causing damage in order to keep our beaches open.

Thanks everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:56

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:56
troyza
Can't offer any info much except I stay above high water mark if possible and that's IF i go onto a beach , don't like them much, prefer Desert sand , but Mate your fighting a losing battle befor it's begun when the Gov't is involved

Doug

AnswerID: 225874

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:14

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:14
Your joking arnt you ? "above the high water mark " beaches are getting closed because of people driving on the dunnes , beach driving is BETWEEN low water and high water marks on the FIRM sand.
FollowupID: 486763

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:33

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:33
Doug, troyoza has got to be so interested in the job he hasn't actually got the state or the area of the state actually mentioned. I think each part of a state may vary. I would agree with you about the high water mark on South Aussie beaches I have been on as the area Alloy suggested is a real soft spot to bury yourself in some of those I have been on. Especially the shelly ones.
FollowupID: 486767

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:40

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:40
The only SA beach I have driven on is Maslin Beach in a Torana 2600 ......before it became that too you filthy minded members,

FollowupID: 486771

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:45

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:45
so alloy where do you drive if it is high tide??????
beaches vary. the thomas river beach can be fine during low tides where you can drive lower on the beach where it is firmer. during high tides you are forced into the really soft stuff at the top of the beach making it a struggle
FollowupID: 486776

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:04

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:04
I am not aware of what you are alleging Doug. I hope you aren't saying I am one of the "you filthy minded members". You will hear from my lawyers tomorrow to clarify your wealth ;-)
FollowupID: 486786

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:19

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:19
Just covering my Ar$e ....that wasn't bare back in the 70s...lmao

your quote.
you filthy minded members". You will hear from my lawyers tomorrow to clarify your wealth ;-)

My solution.
Your not gonna get rich here then

FollowupID: 486798

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:52

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:52
"Your not gonna get rich here then" ..........bugga ;-)
FollowupID: 486829

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:03

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:03
troyza,

Simple, just put on the pamphlet what you do when you take your 4wd on the beach.

Post it on the forum when it is finished.

AnswerID: 225878

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:27

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:27
Alloy c/t
No I'm joking ,and I'm not a bragger, It's obvious you didn't go see the Cherry Venture over an Easter period,rule 1 is keep left so heading north your in the soft stuff at times ,heading back South I kept as close as possible to the high water mark, the place is crawling with 4X4s at Easter and coppers ready to pounce, oh and at no time did I mention DUNES the only other beach it's been on is the 80 mile for a mere 500m, and at no time do I put my 4x4 at peril ,it is my source of income .

AnswerID: 225883

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:44

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:44
Doug ,Easter is still to come ,as for the cherry venture I would not like to count how often I have passed the old girl , try the maths for me, at the very least twice every 4/5weeks for the last 18years.
FollowupID: 486774

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:53

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:53
Alloy
well ya won't be driving past it again , and gawd mate don't try and be a Barnsey , don't think I can manage two of him

FollowupID: 486780

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:36

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:36
Good luck with your pamphlet

However it is my experience that the truly ignorant will never be taught, and it is the truly ignorant that give us all a bad name. Those that are willing to listen, already ask for advice...

But hey, when you've finished the pamphlet, I'd love to see it.

AnswerID: 225885

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:39

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:39
Let some air out of your F___ING TYRES.

Road pressures are the thing that causes the most damage on beaches!!!

Take your F___ING RUBBISH with you.

Some people must live in pig pens!!!

-

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 225888

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:50

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:50
Nah they don't live in pig pens, if it's in their homes then they have to clean it so they won't do it, What I notice is the way people treat public places, and I mean Truckies too , If there is just one thing that really Pi$$e$ me off is the bloke who has to blow SNOT when having a shower , Grrrr Why they must do that is beyond me , Throwing bottles out the window is another one, I remember once when the roadside was burnt between Cloncurry and Julia Creek back in the 80s, with the grass gone exposed 1000s and 1000s of bloody bottles , That made me realise the mess people are doing by chucking them out , oh yeh it's only one ,but thats your one they forget about all the other 1s.

Doug

FollowupID: 486777

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:50

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:50
you cant damage a beach. next high tide or storm and it is all smoothed off. such is the nature of dynamic proccesse. the only thing constant about a beach is it is constantly moving. People with road pressures do little more than cause amusement as they dig with the shovel while getting evil looks from their SHMBO
FollowupID: 486778

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:24

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:24
Hi Davoe and Doug,
On a certain level I agree with you regarding the ability of the wind and tide to erase evidence of a vehicle passing.

What I'm more talking about is my experience of a summers day on Stockton Beach near Newcastle. On a nice day there'd be literally 100's of vehicles using the tracks.

It gets downright frustrating to have to negotiate a couple of kilometres of tracks full of undulations and axle deep ruts just to reach the high tide mark. Most of this damage could have been avoided if people weren't to bloody pig headed or lazy to let some air out of their tyres.

I listened to an absolutely amazing conversation on the UHF a few weeks ago, it was between two women discussing what to do with the "short gearstick" when they got off the beach. They couldn't work out whether to leave it in "L" or move it to "H" once they got to the bitumen!!
I'd let some wind out of the Troopies tyres, down to my usual 20psi. To me there is no need to worry about "L" on Stockton, correct pressure and it's "H" all the way.

Really I felt like saying on the UHF, "leave it in L for later" or "get a Hyundai Excel, it's easier to park at Woolies"

FollowupID: 486800

Follow Up By: troyza - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:29

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:29
gotta say like your passion bout the topic, and make sence how do you think to best educate them?? I know a big ask and its mostly the city 4X4s that dont (generally) understand, but thats the biggest market, ?????????????
FollowupID: 486803

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:44

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:44
Hi troyza,
I'd take a massive step backwards from four wheel driving and look at the whole driver education system.

Am I really the only person in the world that's realised some kids fail finger painting but after untold attempts they all get a licence??????????

With that feedstock we've got to produce competent and environmentally aware motorists and offroaders!

So, back end of a No. 4 Shovel to the eyebrows of the marketing department of every manufacturer that sells a 4wd.

Realistically, education and more education. You're on the right track mate. What else can I help you with?

FollowupID: 486807

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:15

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:15
In addition to what others have said and in in particular Stockton the local indigenous owners don't appreciate people driving across the shell middens and vegetated areas. I guess the same would apply to all coastal sand areas.

I don't believe there is an issue with driving on moving dunes in open areas away from the encroachment on vegetation .

FollowupID: 486902

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:42

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:42
beach driving should be generally banned ..
access points for boat launching or PWCs ok, but the rest gotta stop ..
if you wanna go to a secluded beach .. buy a boat and go on the water ...
I find it greatly annoying when you are anchoring along a nice stretch of
beach and all the time you have these quad bikes and wannabe 4by racers
throwing up the sand everywhere ... if the beach is part of a marked track .. fine
but if it's not stay off ...
thats the only regulation I wanna see ..

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 225891

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:51

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:51
Are you for real ?? Fraser / Moreton / Bribie ,how the ==== is anyone going to get about without driving on the beach. How about dropping your anchor in the WATER instead of on the beach for the kids to trip over.
FollowupID: 486779

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:56

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:56
Alloy is right and so is Member - Davoe
Beaches can't be ruined , King Tides in front of a Cyclone does more damage that a few 4x4s and the ever shifting sands can repair any damage real fast

FollowupID: 486782

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:06

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:06
I do not anchor on the beach .. only in the water ..
and if you can not get about without driving on the beach then don't
simple really .. is it ?

gmd
FollowupID: 486789

Follow Up By: troyza - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:09

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:09
would you agree that dunes be it foredunes, berms are not all part of the beach?

The problem is that people treat these all as one when they arnt. King tides dont remove vegetation, may cover it up for a while but the veg is still there to hold even slight berms in place when covered.

Sure dune systems and beaches are always moving but if the veg is removed from users not staying or driving where they should, mobile sand sheets and blowouts form, then say goodby to any habitat or dune system left.

How do you all think this can be put to users without bleep them off, with access to such amazing beaches comes responsibility and respect.
FollowupID: 486790

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:09

Another bluddy Do-Gooder

FollowupID: 486791

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:09

gmd - there are some places in Australia where the only route in and out is on the beach.

I agree that quad bikes and wannabe 4by racers making dramatic attempts on massive dunes is not environmentally friendly - it is accelerating sand movement, destroying vegetation that holds dunes in place, etcetera, but you really are going overboard (no pun intended) by suggesting banning beach driving.

Most beaches around Australia that have traffic on them are under the control of local or state authorities of one sort or other, and local or state governments do environmental assessments of environmental assessments. If vehicles are on the beach it will generally be low impact.

Rubbish on the beach is as much a problem of the fishing community - professional and amateur, in my experience (including those in boats) as it is other beach users who used 4WDs to get there.

There is other environmental damage that occurs on beaches from indiscriminate vehicle access - nesting birds, in particular, and for this reason quite a number of National Park beaches are being closed to vehicle access.

But to the OP's original question, in my view it is rather naive and I suspect that is why others expressed interest in his brochure. Beach driving requires knowledge of the particular beach - it's environment, sea-weed, tides, dunes, tracks, access to name a few, and whilst some beaches are easy (like Aldinga, Maslins etc beaches in Adelaide) and can be easily driven on with 2WDs, other beaches demand intimacy, experience and skill to be attempted. Beach driving should really be a book not a flyer.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 486792

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:16
Just between Geraldton and Drummond Cove they have a fantastic Dune system for a playgroung google Earth S28 38 54.5 E114 36 25.7 Seems no problems because its blown all the time, wheel tracks dissapear in a few hours

FollowupID: 486796

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:18

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:18
gmd-pps ,the only simple thing I see in this thread is a simpleton who happens to think that the land as in beaches belongs to boats.
FollowupID: 486797

Follow Up By: troyza - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:26

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:26
A book would be great, however for now the aim is to inform those we can as simply as possible.

Just because a vehicle is on the beach doesnt mean there will be low impact. A great deal of people have noted that you should stay on softer sand in this forum, as you mentioned Hooded plovers nest in these areas on beaches so encoraging people to stay on the harder areas is a simple start, if the tides too high you just dont go, thats why you plan. It doesnt have to be a national park for these birds to be nesting on thats for sure and the main damage from vehices are those moving into dunes and these areas are mostly not in National Parks as not as tightly regulated.

Inform thats what this is about, it needs to be simple put in the glove box and always easy to read. Have rules, regulations tips, positive advise, like yours.
It will have a map identifying access, so on
FollowupID: 486801

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:33

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:33
Again, which beach is the important question.

There are rules in National Parks, and rules if the beach is a declared road (like 60km speed limit I think) ... but not too many others.

The Wattle Ranges 4WD Club material for Beachport would be a good place to start, but it is specific and detailed, and it changes from time to time when conditions change.

Some beaches (Great Australian Bight, for instance) are too soft to drive on the sand between high and low water marks - driving on the treacherous seaweed is the only viable solution.

I'm still inclined to think the project will be underdone and give people enough information to be dangerous.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 486805

Follow Up By: troyza - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:45

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:45
Sure your right, far to big as a Aus wide scale, thats why this is for a certain stretch to start with between varying shires and cities.
But hopefully a guide for others to do the same at there beaches.

Theres no way a pamphlet could be done for all of oz, a book as you suggested before maybe!

FollowupID: 486810

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 11:51

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 11:51
Hey GMD - ever been scuba diving ? ever see the damage that boat anchors do to underwater reefs and sea grassed areas? Not to mention if you hit an animal whilst full noise out to your favourite swimming spot or fishing spot.

if you want to ban 4x4 because they damage beach areas - perhaps we should ban boats with anchors for the damage they also make - not to mention the water polution they produce - remember - most outboards have the water outlet and exhaust out of the same pipe - would you want to drink the water that comes from this ?

If your going to preach to the masses - be sure that your teflon coated

Boc
FollowupID: 486936

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 12:57

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 12:57
Ozboc,

I am a certified diver since more than 30 years .. I know where to anchor and
where not and I am coming from a background where you have to have a licence
to operate a boat and not like all these morons here driving their boats or 4by
the way they want. I don't mind to ban outboards also .. and I don't mind to put a 50.000$ luxury tax on boats or 4by's as it now was introduced for the Hummers for example (a bit less though but still a decebt amount) ... this will reduce numbers greatly and one might be able to enjoy the space again .. most of the people who can afford that would not go bush anyway .. one might find peace again in the outback .. and .. I don't preach to the masses ... couldn't care less..
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 486947

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:40

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:40
Local Government and State Environment Departments are closing beaches all over the country. You can expect it to continue.

Getting close to the bureacrats and working on cleaning up beaches with them is probably going to be more effective than trying to educate the yobbos who don't want to be educated (so won't take, much less read your pamphlet), and who think that letting down tyres is some sign of weakness, and who leave their garbage all over the beach and dunes. In my experience they are mostly fishermen (not most fishermen I might add), and often drunk.
AnswerID: 225904

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:48

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:48
"In my experience they are mostly fishermen (not most fishermen I might add), and often drunk."

A very observant man is young Andrew!

Familiarity breeds contempt springs to my mind.

FollowupID: 486813

Follow Up By: troyza - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:55

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:55
Sure, fisherman. Most of the people who go down there go to fish, Fisherman surfer, recreational, thats what this is about, targeting them and atleast trying to educate them.
Thats a good point, maby it needs to be put into fishing shops also!
FollowupID: 486814

Reply By: troyza - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:51

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:51
Well we could either let it go or try and do something. i work in the industry obviuosly! educate, I may once have been called a yobbo but was educated, not going to get everyone, dont expect to, but could make a grate difference. Often its also not just as you say the yobbos, its those who dont know better, first time users, those from the city (not all).

If people dont know they wont know what to do. WAs coast has 1000s of km that arnt National Park but are accessable to 4X4s.
AnswerID: 225906

Reply By: prado geoff - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:36

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:36
Well, for me I'd say (in no particular order):
* Lower tyre pressure and drive appropriately (ie. no sudden turns etc)
* Stay out of salt water
* Take rubbish with you
* Don't speed. Don't hoon.
* Give cars between you and the water some space (so they don't get pushed into the water)
* Stay off dunes and grass
* Watch like a hawk for pedestrians - especially kids who often run from the tent to the water and don't look (or can't hear a car over the surf noise).
* Carry snatch strap/recovery gear. Either to help somebody else or so somebody else can help you.
* Basically be nice.

* And keep it clean on the CB. I hate having the kids in the car listening to some of the language that goes on (ok, so this isn't a beach thing. But thought I'd put it in anyway :-).

My $0.02 anyway

-geoff
AnswerID: 225914

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:21

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:21
Also, on beaches with traffic;
Put your headlights on. Visibility isn't always great if there's spray around.
Indicate when you see oncoming vehicles. They don't know which tack you might take.
Observe road rules. A head on is a head on anywhere.
FollowupID: 486840

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:28

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:28
My beach rules are:

I drop my tyre pressures to 15psi to start with before going on to a beach
If the vehicle struggles I will drop more psi and even down to 10psi
If towing a trailer I will drop its tyre pressures to 10psi
I drive as close as possible to the dune base
I do not drive on to the dunes
I stay off the wet areas and away from the water
I drive slowly
I stop or slow down significantly if another vehicle is in close proximity
I take my rubbish off the beach.
I don't drink alcohol while on the beach as the latter and Ozone does not mix well.

AnswerID: 225933

Reply By: lockey - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:48

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:48
My advice and expierience is, drive it like it's stolen on the soft stuff. But plan your run, too many yobo's in places like Fraser which seem to disregard the unwritten rules, like help your fellow traveller and be conscious of others. IMHO
AnswerID: 225942

Reply By: guzzi - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 02:36

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 02:36
Beware backpackers in hired toyota troop carriers.
They are an accident awaiting the oppertune moment to happen.
Your compelled to follow them if only out of a morbid sense of curiousity or amusement.
AnswerID: 225989

Reply By: png62 - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:33

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:33
Well done Prado-Geoff and Willem - some real guidelines, someone else actually mentioned the nesting birds above the high tide mark. How about travelling with an experienced backup vehicle too.

If you have to (and it's every Australians RIGHT to} drive on a beach - please do so between the tides. Plan your trip to occur after high tide and before low tide - just buy the local newspaper which will tell you the tide times. Stay on the firmer sand {although be aware of quicksand} and don't go below the low tide {because you will get wet}

The nesting birds issue is the simple catch cry of Tassies Dept of "Parks and Wildstrife" to justify closing acces to OUR beaches in OUR parks.
AnswerID: 226014

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 09:09

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 09:09
"The nesting birds issue is the simple catch cry of Tassies Dept of "Parks and Wildstrife" to justify closing acces to OUR beaches in OUR parks."

Just got back after a couple of weeks in Tassie where we did many of the tracks on the west coast beaches. There were warnings about the nesting sites of the hooded plovers in Summer, but I didn't notice any closures. Just wondering what closures you're referring to?
FollowupID: 486907

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 09:21

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 09:21
You may also want to include vehicle-swallowing issues that are specific to certain beaches:
Eg. the quicksand issues in Tassie
The soft sand and steeply sloping shoreline at Canunda in SA
The shellgrit on the Coorong beaches

Like others have suggested, you may be preaching to the converted. I believe the marketing of softroaders has been a problem. The "go anywhere" image that they give means that you'll always get owners of these vehicles stuck with an incoming tide with no recovery points and 40psi in the tyres.

I also believe there are insufficient warning signs on the entrance to beaches. "4wd only" is not good enough. I think a bit more needs to be spelled out. But unfortunately some drunken yobbos with spray cans will deface that stuff too.

But all the best with it.
AnswerID: 226022

Reply By: png62 - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 09:39

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 09:39
Phil G. SA - to answer your question, the best public beach in Tassie by a long shot - "Friendly Beaches - EAST COAST (approx 14klms long). Locked gates - haven't investigated access but it would require a key IF permission was granted by the "Parks and Wildstrife Dept"

The West Coast beaches are great too but wild and windy with rough seas often the norm around there. The East often feels sheltered by comparison, fishing, snorkeling, surfing, kayaking, general kicking back and watching the world go by is far more relaxing on that side of the island, in my opinion.
AnswerID: 226027

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 12:05

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 12:05
troyza

Havge a look at this brochure. It may give a you some ideas of where to start

http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/publications/p01605aa.pdf/Driving_on_sand.pdf

R.
AnswerID: 226051

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 22:30

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 22:30
Here's the SA one:

http://www.parks.sa.gov.au/publish/groups/public/@visitormgt/@tourrec/documents/all/parks_pdfs_rec_vehicles.pdf
FollowupID: 487071

Reply By: nissnut - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 16:18

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 16:18
The biggest threat to beaches and dunes, as I see it, are the housing, marina and commercial developements popping up all along the coast line. The powers that be may frown upon a 4wd meandering along a beach but are always ready to give a beachfront developement the go ahead. Maybe something to do with $$$$$$$s rather than concern for the environment........Lionel.
AnswerID: 226094

Reply By: harry5 - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 20:50

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 20:50
A very good bit of advice if fishing at night on a beach is to park clear of the high water mark. Murphys law if something is going to fail it will at a most in appropriate time.
AnswerID: 226170

Reply By: chumpion - Friday, Mar 09, 2007 at 08:58

Friday, Mar 09, 2007 at 08:58
Most of my experience has been at Stockton, Near Newcastle, and I would echo what has already been said, but also add:

* don't go near vegetation at all. Dunes are OK, so long as they are the wind-blown ones with nothing growing in or near them,
* keep the speed sensible - little ridges can spring up from nowhere, and get you airborn before you know it, and drop the speed dramatically if there are kids or even the chance of kids around,
* only ever drive directly up or down any sort of slope or dune. If you get bogged, back along your tracks, and reevaluate wether you really need to go that way. If you do, then try again on the freshly packed sand.
* always stop the vehicle so it is facing down hill - makes for easier starting,
* never be afraid to ask for advice, or stop to help out someone else - only fools think they know everything.
AnswerID: 226278