All the way with the NSW <span class="highlight">RTA</span>

Submitted: Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:27
ThreadID: 43397 Views:7274 Replies:21 FollowUps:16
Well here I am in my third month of travel in the new Troopy. But alas, I am back where I started - Jervis Bay. 6 Days ago I was in Kalgoorlie and heading excitedly to Wiluna. But when I went to renew rego on this 12 month old 3 seater, up pops the big NO CAN DO. Seems Toyota in Sydney where I bought it registered it as a 11seater. Thus it is a bus and requires annual inspection. Would RTA accept Toyota's abject apology for the mistake? NO. Would they accept the WA DPI inspection (equiv RTA) supplied by fax? NO. Would they accept all parties' statements that the vehicle is complianced as a 3 seater from new? NO. Only one answer 'You have 28 days to get back to NSW and have it inspected by NSW RTA'.

Well that's now done; the problem's fixed and we're about to set out again. Now I'm preparing the letter for compensation.

Troopy performing well, still no digital camera - so regret no pics.

Noticed caravans and campers travelling west on Nullabor at the rate of 20-30 per hour over a three hour period one morning.

Cheers to all

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:42

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:42
G'day Chris
You would wonder why the RTA will not accept the written statement from WA's DPI - fer gawds sake - what is wrong with this country.

I had a similar problem some years ago in NSW with a troopy - and i work for a government agency LOL
Glad it's now all sorted and you are off again soon

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 228285

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:49

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:49
GESTAPO

FollowupID: 489088

Follow Up By: Scoof - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 16:02

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 16:02
You can't trust yota owners everyone knows that.LOL
FollowupID: 489110

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:58

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 11:58
Glad it's all worked out now, bugger you had to return to NSW to fix it though!

Good reminder for the rest of us to check that when buying a vehicle!

Enjoy the rest of your trip, and safe travels

AnswerID: 228288

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 12:02

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 12:02
Bloody State govts and their petty little bureaucracies. How much money is wasted every year with the duplication built into our system with these pathetic paper shifters.
AnswerID: 228292

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 12:15

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 12:15
Our (now 2 seater) Troopy is NSW registered as a PVW (Panel Van with Windows)..
AnswerID: 228295

Follow Up By: Member - Rob P (NSW) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:12

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:12
Same as mine....Glad its sorted,coz it makes for headaches while away.Enjoy the rest of your trip guys. !MPG:5!
FollowupID: 489181

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 15:15

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 15:15
Yet another reason to support my view that we do not need State Government, which is a wasteful drain on the nations' economy. The only reason we need states if so we can have State of Origin footy.

Bring on the referendum.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 228338

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 16:25

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 16:25
i didnt know afl was starting a new comp?????
FollowupID: 489114

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 16:31

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 16:31
Aaah Steve, he's talking real footy. Not that airy fairy aerial ping pong crap.
FollowupID: 489119

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:02

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:02
What? The AFL has a comp?

I thought it was Melbourne's answer to the Mardi Gras.

Seriously though, I'm with you Jack bring on the Referendum and strip out that middle level of government. Just another level of self servers and money wasters.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 489475

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 15:56

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 15:56
Chris - you could have saved yourself 2500 km of running if you'd done the necessary at Broken Hill - I found everyone very helpful there some years ago.

And, unless the Troopy is a sufficiently lighter than the 80 series, or the rules have changed, you may find that you still have to have an inspection every year. One of those magic numbers GVM or GCM or Tare or UPU is just over 2 tonnes so it was annual pink slip from new.

If you are away for yonks, you may want to check that out so that you can be at Albury, Broken Hill, Bourke or Tweed Heads in time next year.

Just to cheer you up!
Max
AnswerID: 228348

Follow Up By: donks1 - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 20:19

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 20:19
all commercial vehicles ( includig 4wd ) ragardless of config., now have annual inspections from new..

only changed recently

as for not accepting a certificate from WA,, i dont know why not.

when i was in nth qld we had a lot of travellers stopping in for a roadworthy, ( which in Qld is tougher than a Nsw pink slip( more like our blue slip))) and they would just send it to rta with a cheque or mail to a friend to go and pay..
as far as i know they never had a problem..

donks
FollowupID: 489166

Reply By: jdpatrol - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 17:29

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 17:29
That's just outrageous. When you seek compensation be sure to demand actual cost of running a vehicle and not just fuel etc (tax scales might help). Good luck. JD
AnswerID: 228372

Reply By: Camper - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 17:31

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 17:31
G'day Chris,
I had the same thing with my Patrol and upon looking into the matter found that NSW RTA has introduced a TWO TONNE rule declaring that any vehicle over 2tonne requires annual inspection regardless of it's age, and that was in 2003
I was not happy about it but was told no Pink Slip no Rego.
AnswerID: 228373

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 19:39

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 19:39
There are quite a few 4wd's that come in at just over 2000kg, including mine. They do not all require yearly inspections from new (as others have alluded to).

I would communicate directly with the RTA Chris if you want the facts :-) and, like others have suggested, seek redress fron either the dealer or the RTA.

Good luck!
AnswerID: 228406

Follow Up By: Therifleman - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 20:34

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 20:34
re Campers tale of woe re rego.of Troopy.
2 weeks ago I paid rego. on my Patrol &did not require a inspection slip as this was only the 2 nd rego.& the weight limit is 2500 kg,not 2000.Also paid rego.3 mths. ahead as I,m leaving for a 4 month trip wandering around Nthn.Australia.
FollowupID: 489167

Follow Up By: Camper - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:18

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 21:18
Rifleman,
Are you registered with RTA NSW as I Also wasted much time and money on the phone to various people in the RTA arguing as to why I had to have an inspection for pink slip when the vehicle was only due for it's first renewal a year after picking up new from the dealership? If your patrol is regoed in NSW and didn't need a pink slip for the first 3 years after 2003 I would love an example to bring forward to them.
FollowupID: 489183

Reply By: growler - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 19:44

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 19:44
Ask any truck driver about the NSW-RTA-GESTAPO and see what response you get(wouldnt be able to print it in this forum)
AnswerID: 228409

Reply By: Therifleman - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:32

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:32
reply to Camper.
NSW.rego-done at Tweed Heads Motor Registry -weight on rego papers of Patrol was 2410 kg.-was told if its under 2500 kg.no inspection required for3 years.I would not think this has changed in the last fortnight.
What area are you in. Regards.
AnswerID: 228461

Follow Up By: Camper - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:43

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:43
Am in Sydney suburbs, My Nissan patrol is shown on my Rego papers as 2425kg Tare and 3000kg GVM.
Have e-mailed an enquiry to the RTA and am pending a reply sometime this month as the RTA is so quick with there customer service (Grumble)

FollowupID: 489202

Reply By: Therifleman - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:51

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 22:51
To Camper.
Please let us know what the RTA comes back with regarding your email. Thanks.
AnswerID: 228466

Follow Up By: Camper - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 18:36

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 18:36
Spoke with NSW RTA today and they said that because my vehicle is over 2000kg tare it is mandatory for yearly inspection regardles of age.
There is exemptions however such as if it is a cab chassis , a herse, a wagon etc
I pushed the point of it being a patrol wagon 7seat ZD30 SF Manual AC Series III but the reply was that it was a fourwheel drive not a wagon as the patrol is not available in a sedan and there fore is classified as a light commercial without exemption. Mine is abreviated as body Shape PVF on rego, what is yours ?

FollowupID: 489352

Reply By: Carl & Kaz - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 07:35

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 07:35
Chris,

When writing to the dealer requesting compensation don't forget that you probably paid too much in rego when you bought the vehicle as well. They would have charged you the actual cost of rego in your new car purchase price - if registered as an 11 seater bus that would probably have been $200 or so extra.

Carl
AnswerID: 228485

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 07:47

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 07:47
Chris,

Take comfort from the fact that if you get caught speeding interstate, the points will come off your licence.

Interesting how the states seem to able to coordinate on this front and accept each others standards of proof, equipment calibration standards, etc but not something like a vehicle inspection.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

AnswerID: 228487

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 09:58

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 09:58
Chris you also want to check how much you are paying for your green slip
when i had both my old & new patrol converted to a 6 x4 dual cabs. The standard patrols were 7 seaters & are now 5 seaters i got a cheque back as the green slip was cheaper.

Jervis Bay is not a bad place to have to come back too
AnswerID: 228510

Reply By: Gronk - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 13:17

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 13:17
All 4x4's now have to be inspected every year ( from new )... just had my 1 yr old Terracan inspected !!! This is in NSW anyway !!
AnswerID: 228558

Reply By: Im.away - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 13:44

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 13:44
Chris R,

why didn't you simply register it in WA? All you needed to say was that you've moved to WA. You could have walked into any Post Office and bought a PO box. Then pick a vacant block in the same area for a physical address. Then register in WA. Then after 10 months contact the Post Office, saying that you've moved and get them to forward to whatever address you want.

Then the rego arrives where you want it and you renew it. To my knowledge, fourbies don't have to be inspected annually here in WA. I've never done it.

I'd rather do that than travel the distance you have just to overcome bureaucracy.
AnswerID: 228563

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 20:31

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 20:31
Hi Chris,
Your Troopy didn't come from Lander Toyota at Blacktown too did it?

Mines a 5 seater RV and the first year of NSW rego expires on the 22nd March, yep Thurday. It too had originally been dealer registered as an 11 seater Bus.

I noticed an odd charge of about $80 on the papers, it was called a "HVIS Inspection Fee" short for "Heavy Vehicle Inspection Station Inspection Fee" due one month prior to rego renewal. After visiting a couple of RTA offices around the place and listening some varying levels of waffle and bullsheite I eventually visited the local Heavy Vehicle Inspection Station. The lady behind he counter looked at the papers, asked me a couple of questions and said, "this is crap, the dealer stuffed up"

The RTA lady requested the original rego application form from Blacktown RTA just to make sure the RTA hadn't made the mistake. This would have been ideal as they would have changed it on the spot and refunded a fist full of cash. But no, the dealer stuffed it.

So, off to a blue slip inspection station I go where the guy looked in the window and counted the parking spaces for arses, read the compliance plate and came up with the same number, 5. Odd that. Then charged me I think $20 for the piece of blue paper.

Back to the same RTA lady I go, she changes the rego from a body style of Bus to a body style of PVF, whatever that means. The real killer is I got an RTA refund of $16, I was charged a Pro-Rata amount on the $80 inspection fee I never asked for, never wanted and never received. How good a business model is that?

So fast forward to a couple of weeks ago when the renewal arrived. The Troopy is coming up to its first rego renewal and in big letters is printed "Inspection Required"

Off I go to see my mate the mechanic for an inspection and his comment was, "that's right, it's a commercial, all commercials have an annual inspection regardless of rego type"

At least I got rid of that annual trip over the pits and the road tax component of the rego dropped dramatically.

My green slip was $273, how's that compare with yours?

Best one is my motorbike, 600cc registered as a Solo, no pillion pegs only the rider and the greenslip on it varies from $388 to $670 !!

God I love the RTA and their partners the Greenslip Insurers.

AnswerID: 228668

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:49

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:49

Who was your green slip from? Bloody Lux was around $373 !!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 489412

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:59

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 07:59
Hi Al,
I got two prices, the original Greenslip was through Allianz and they wanted $276 to renew it. My comprehensive is through AAMI and they quoted me $273 so I ran with them.

I assume you are aware you can go to: Green Slip Quotes for comparison of insurers.

FollowupID: 489474

Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:14

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:14
To Camper-my vehicle is a 2006 3 ltr.Patrol Wagon.When I was paying my rego. the lady on the counter had to check with her Supervisor to find out the weight limit-over 2500 kg inspection is required from new,under that,no.
AnswerID: 228682

Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:21
Camper.My Patrol is rego,d(on rego.papers)as "wagon".
Would like to know what the CORRECT story is.Cheers.
AnswerID: 228683

Follow Up By: Camper - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:17

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:17
Have had this dicussion with a few 3ltre patrol owners that I know and they all are registered PVF body shape.
Although one of them has a Relo that is paying almost a hundred dollars a year more on his CTP insurance......Apparently his papers state WAGON body shape.

As I had assumed I have had no reply to my E-mail I sent a few days ago to the RTA and there attitude is "That's it is so tough luck and that as I am not Qualified to determine what body type my Patrol is , I should not be contacting them " or consuming the air I am breathing.

I believe that in a WAGON body type of vehicle, that the limit is 2500kg although the RTA are stating that a Nissan patrol wagon is a PVF body type not a Wagon.

Unfortunately it seems as though the RTA is a typical government body and do whatever they feel like and until someone that is in a more senior position than them tells them otherwise, Then" that's that".

Thanks for your time, Do a bit of asking without giving them your rego and see what they say.

Would love to Know if they really know what they are doing too. cheers.
FollowupID: 489595

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:44

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:44
Hi Camper,
The RTA puts out a PDF file called "motordealersguide.pdf" that is supposed to list all the body shapes and types.
That guide does not list PVF as a body shape.

PVF is actually listed under Usage Codes of "Ambulance, Government Owned" (AMBG) and "Ambulance" (AMBU) as well as a type called "Dealer Re-Sale" (SALE).

The nearest to PVF in that document are,
PVN = Panel Van
PVW = Panel Van with Side Windows
PVS = Panel Van with Side Windows and Seat/s

I did get to talk to a lady from one of the RTA's Heavy Vehicle Inspection Stations some time back about this sort of thing. That lady was about the first RTA counter jumper that I'd ever met that could give a straight answer to any rego related question I asked!! She said all the large 4wd's are generally registered as PVF body shape. I'm still none the wiser on what PVF actually stands for!!

But hey, next time I'm in the area of the Heavy Vehicle Station I'll drop in and ask her.

FollowupID: 489602

Reply By: Therifleman - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 18:56

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 18:56
To Camper& Chris. My 3 lt.Patrol has "wagon" on the rego & CTP cost me $230 with NRMA.
Surely some one at RTA must know the correct story.
AnswerID: 228851

Follow Up By: Camper - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:15

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:15
Sent another E-mail to RTA registration dept. .........still pending reply via carrier pigion!
FollowupID: 489872