Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Mass back-burning planned for Easter

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 15:59

Truckster (Vic)

BRILLIANT TIMING!!!

Mass back-burning planned for Easter
April 3, 2007 - 1:22PM

Victorian fire authorities will conduct a mass burn-off of bushland across the state during the Easter long weekend to take advantage of the current mild weather conditions.

Kevin Monk from the Department Sustainability and Management, told theage.com.au that fires will burn Victoria-wide in the coming days as firefighters hope to use the "window of opportunity" provided by cool conditions.

"We've got a window of opportunity at this time of year. With the weather conditions that we've got we're going to be doing significant burning in various parts of the state," Mr Monk said.

"Milder conditions across the state give us an opportunity to do our prescribed burning program, after the hot summer and before the wet winter that we hope we're going to get."

The effects of the fires are likely to be seen throughout Victoria over the long weekend but are, at this stage, are unlikely to disrupt the plans of holiday makers.

Possible holidaying areas that may be affected by back-burning include the Grampians, East Gippsland and the alpine regions bordering NSW.

"We want to let the community know they're not wildfires and there will be a fair bit of smoke around.

"A lot people will be travelling around the state over the Easter period and might see smoke depending on where they go from East Gippsland from north of the state to south of the state.

"There's lots of burns planed from east to west across," Mr Monk said.

The bushfires that swept through Victoria over the summer were among the worst on record.

One man died, several people were injured, and homes were lost.

More than 20,000 firefighters and support staff were called into action - including 14,000 Country Fire Authority volunteers - and more than 31,000 people attended community meetings in fire-affected areas.

theage.com.au

ThreadID: 43954 Replies: 4
Views: 727 FollowUps: 6
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 231451   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 16:25

Gramps (NSW) replied:

LOL damned if they do, damned if they don't.

So what if people miss out on one easter holiday in the affected areas. If it offers some preventative action for the future, why not ?

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 492392   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 16:57

Truckster (Vic) posted:

doesnt worry me :D Im not going anywhere :( :( :(
although waz is talkin of a drive to Woods and back thru walhalla... might be keen

was supposed to be going to tractor pulls at Quamby, and stayin at mates place but his parole was revoked, adn he didnt let me know, so I got nowhere to stay now so that idea is bleep ed.
FollowUp 1 of 6
FollowupID: 492396   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 17:12

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Aaagh Truckie, looks like you've still got some options available. If all else fails, you'll probably find something that needs doing on the 4by :))))

Al

FollowUp 2 of 6
FollowupID: 492399   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 17:13

Truckster (Vic) posted:

oh theres plenty to do.. but none is fun :P
FollowUp 3 of 6
FollowupID: 492400   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 17:20

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Hahahaha I know what you mean. Walhalla's looking good then :)))

Al

FollowUp 4 of 6
FollowupID: 492405   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 17:48

Gob & Denny posted:

where did you get to saturday or shouldnt i ask

does this mean that the cfa volenteers have to forego a break at easter and be on standby to put out the fires the dept of stupidty and entertainment create ????
steve with beard & hair???
Click Image to Enlarge
currently in broken hill for a week or so
FollowUp 5 of 6
FollowupID: 492482   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:05

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Poor CFA people.... they will suffer again...

Steve.. found out a mate is leaving for bleep ney... went to see him. only known 38yrs... :(
FollowUp 6 of 6
AnswerID: 231545   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:08

lifeisgood replied:

Why dont we do some major roadworks on many freeways , block off a lane or two and add plenty of work related speed reduction signs then see what other ways we can stuff Easter up for the Holiday travellers.

Those who do venture out - please drive carefully and come back to your families in one piece (but not in a box!)

Have a good and safe Easter.
Reply 2 of 4
AnswerID: 231590   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 08:40

Oz Travellers replied:

You would'nt have had that problem if you had'nt left Kurnell. Sparky

Click Image to Enlarge
Where to go and what to see next........?
Reply 3 of 4
AnswerID: 231644   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 15:52

Leroy replied:

I really can't understand why they have to do it at Easter. Why not wait until after? DSE seem to do it every year at Easter or school holidays when you are trying to attract the tourists.

Leroy
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
Hunter Vintage Winetasters Tour Hunter Vintage Winetasters Tour
Hunter Valley - NSW
Journey by mini coach or 4WD through the peaceful Watagan Mountains, looking out for wildlife, to th
Aromatherapy Massage and Facial Aromatherapy Massage and Facial
Sydney - NSW
Completely unwind with a relaxing and calming aromatherapy massage followed by a blissful facial.
Paintball - For Ten People - WA Paintball - For Ten People - WA
Perth - WA
Do you have nine friends or workmates?
Ripple Relaxing Russian Pamper Massage  - 1.5 hour Ripple Relaxing Russian Pamper Massage - 1.
Brisbane - QLD
Save $60! Russian massage is a unique, beautiful relaxing style of massage.
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website