Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

LPG freezing

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 13:57

Member - Royce

LPG system in the F350 is playing up. The converter [?? is that what it's called?] is freezing up.

I have checked that the coolant is full in the radiator.

Any suggestions? Maybe water pump?
Mt Wellington Tas.... a long ago van.
Click Image to Enlarge
Royce
Advertisement
ThreadID: 46215 Replies: 7
Views: 666 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 244359   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 14:08

warfer69 replied:

Gee your having a great run mate !

I always thought it was to do with the water not flowing properly..

There is always Mick @ Auto Gas Connections in Carrum Downs....

Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 244370   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 14:50

barney rubble replied:

Gday royce check the 2 hoses in/out of converter fairly sure they should be same temp as radiator hoses as im sure ive seen these hoses block up with crud and cause this fault
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 244378   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:27

Dallas from Team Green Autogas replied:

G'day Royce,

The guys are right mate, the converter needs good FLOW through it to stop it freezing up. Quick & Easy to take both water hoses off the converter (carefull not to break the plastic elbows) & simply stick the garden hose in 1 of the water elbows & give it a good blast.

Converters will also freeze up if they let go internally & completely by-pass, dropping their guts basically.

Happy Tinkering
Dallas Green
Team Green AutogasTeam Green Autogas
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 244402   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:08

blue one replied:

Mate get a qualified tech to check that the orifice in the gas line is the right size. Had this happen to me (same prob compressor turned into a block of ice) and after 6 weeks of trials the culprit was found.

Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Stand Up Paddle Surfing Lesson Stand Up Paddle Surfing Lesson
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Stand up paddle surfing has hit our shores.
V8 Race Ute Challenge - SA V8 Race Ute Challenge - SA
Adelaide - SA
These utes raced in the national 2007 V8 Race series. They're the real deal.
Astronomy Experience Broome Astronomy Experience Broome
The Kimberleys - WA
Experience a night of fun stargazing with powerful telescopes and laser beams to view the moon, plan
V8 SUPER DRIVE - NSW V8 SUPER DRIVE - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 244404   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:22

Ianw replied:

Had it happen once in a Mitz. If the heater hoses are paralleled with the converter hoses and in the cold weather you use the heaters, you will take all the heat from the converter and it will freeze up!! Simple mate, just turn off the heaters!!!!
Reply 5 of 7
FollowupID: 505531   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 23:05

Member - Royce posted:

aha! using the heater... you might be right
Mt Wellington Tas.... a long ago van.
Click Image to Enlarge
Royce
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 244422   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:18

SA_Patrol replied:

You might need to bleed the system, leave the radiator cap off let the motor run until the thermastat opens up, approx 80 to 86 degrees lots of bubbles would come out and put the cap back on.
Before doing this check to see if there is a bleed nipple somewhere just in case the cap/filler is below the nipple
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 244430   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:33

Steve replied:

used to happen with my LC100 lpg conversion when I was towing and nearly always going up those long hills on the Pac Hwy around Buladelah/Taree. Always ended up having to switch to ULP.

Eventually got pi$$ed off and went back to diesel
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website