Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

HF Radio to purchase

Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2003 at 18:49

Member -BJ (Sydney)

Looked on EBay for HF radio 1 is Kenwood TS50 other ICOM ic720a are these any good for the bush

thanks in advance
BobWish i was still here / Gulf in July
ThreadID: 4740 Replies: 3
Views: 535 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 19189   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2003 at 19:28

Old Soldier replied:

G'day BJ,

Both these transceivers are generally accepted as being Amateur Radio [HAM] sets, and normally require quite exhaustive licence testing to operate.

Not sure on the current regulations, but at one time if you were caught operating an amateur transceiver without a licence it was a "hanging" offence :) :)

As to whether they would be OK for 4WD use in the bush - the short answer is possibly yes - with some modification. Whether this would be legal is another matter entirely.

Anyway, the technology of both transceivers is pretty old hat - both having been around since the early 90s or possibly earlier.

Having said that they are both excellent brands.

A lot of stolen sets are quite often offered for sale in the strangest places [Ebay ????] Caveat Emptor.

Stick with the Barretts and Codans mate - you generally know what you are buying.

enjoy the bush

DennisN

Reply 1 of 3
AnswerID: 19190   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2003 at 19:45

Tuco69 replied:

Both sets that you mention can be modified (illegally) to operate on frequencies outside the Amateur bands - and will work OK. Use of either is not approved for the Outpost Radio Service. HOWEVER neither have either selcall or more importantly, the two tone access to trigger the emergency response from the RFDS. You will find that most RFDS bases no longer respond to voice calls and it is necessary to use the "Emergency Button" to attract their attention.
If you want HF outback communications get yourself a Codan or Barrett.

Tuco in Cairns
(Barrett 550R)
Reply 2 of 3
AnswerID: 19193   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2003 at 20:34

Dozer replied:

Hi BJ
I have a good remote Codan that i may sell for the right price.
Andrew limo4b@yahoo.com.au
Reply 3 of 3
FollowupID: 12054   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2003 at 21:02

Member - Wherethefugawi posted:

have sent email to your yahooCheers
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website