Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Performance upgrade for Patrol

Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2001 at 00:00

Dave Bailey

Has anyone had any engine mods done to a GUII 4.2 litre Turbo deisel Patrol, any feed back would be appriciated as I am looking into it for mine.

Advertisement
ThreadID: 500 Replies: 4
Views: 753 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 1318   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2001 at 00:00

Joe replied:

Dave,

Motsons in Brisbane have done some work in boosting the performance of the 2.8 and 4.2 turbo diesels. They claim by up to 30 or 40% depending upon the tuning stage you choose.

Given how lowly stressed the big diesel is this seems reasonable.

Call them!

Joe
Reply 1 of 4
AnswerID: 1319   Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2001 at 00:00

Tim Nivison replied:

Dave,I have a standard 4.2 turbo ute, but have just driven my brothers ute that has a safari intercooler. It is much more relaxing to drive in hills,with heaps of torque. I C now on top of motor is much simpler than in front of radiator.
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 409   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2001 at 00:00

Andrew posted:

Is Safari now mounting their IC on top of teh engine?
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 1337   Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2001 at 00:00

Andrew replied:

Tim

Are Safari now mounting the IC on top of the engine?
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 441   Submitted: Friday, Nov 16, 2001 at 00:00

Tim Nivison posted:

Yes Andrew. Safari IC as fitted by Capitol 4WD Tamworth is now on top of the motor, and uses a bonnet scoop similar to 3.0 litre factory motor.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 1357   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 08, 2001 at 00:00

Roger Lowry replied:

Dave,
I had Motson's do the full 2 stage upgrade of my GUII and at first was unhappy with the result only to find that I had a bad lot of fuel but when the filter was changed and the vehicle had done another few hundred k,s after putting in PROMA diesel treatment for the injectors the machine now goes well, with approx 35% more power & torque. The hills that I lugged over in 4th gear are now cruised over in 5th gear. However the decrease in fuel consumption is a bit fanciful as mine now uses 13.5ltr per 100klm a decrease in consumption of only .5ltr/100.
All in all I am now happy with the result. Suggest you ring Motsons. The alternative others have used is to change their turbo to a larger one and have their exhaust also altered. Most seem happy with this but it is a little more expensive than Motsons.
Dodg.
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
14,000ft Tandem Skydive - Cairns 14,000ft Tandem Skydive - Cairns
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
The Great Barrier Reef provides the backdrop for this exhilarating tandem skydiving experience over
White Water Rafting on Barron River - Half Day White Water Rafting on Barron River - Half Da
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Feel the rush of white water rafting! Join us for some true fun and excitement on the Barron River.
Japanese Cooking Classes Japanese Cooking Classes
Melbourne - VIC
Learn to cook Japanese - home style!
Kids Surfing Day Camps Kids Surfing Day Camps
Sydney - NSW
Head to the beach this holiday and fill your days with waves, bbq lunches, beach games & laughs!
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website