Not Logged on
[Register] [Logon] 
Section Image Font Size AdjusterDecrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size  

Off Road Caravan Under 2.5 Tonne

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:43

Lyndi Lou

Article Overview - Off Road Caravans
Similar to the question you may have asked yourself when considering a 4WD vehicle could also be raised when considering an off road caravan – “Will I be going off road? View Full Article...
Does anyone know any off road caravans that weigh 2.5 tonne or under - FULLY LOADED?
Lyndi Lou
Advertisement
ThreadID: 51077 Replies: 8
Views: 1856 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary

AnswerID: 269098   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:19

Gone Bush (WA) replied:

My 16'6" Trakmaster comes in just under 2500 loaded. It was 2170 dry out of the factory.

Click Image to Enlarge
A voice in my head said:
"Don't look back,
You can never look back".
Reply 1 of 8
FollowupID: 531930   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:31

Lyndi Lou posted:

Thanks, will check it out.
Lynda
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 531938   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 13:25

ddr posted:

My 15'6" Trakmaster is under 2t Loaded, with shower Toiler etc.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 532047   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:42

MEMBER - Darian (SA) posted:

Hmmmm ......been researching van options for awhile now .... - whatever the Trakmaster weighs (timber framing), I recon the Kedron might be a bit more (metal frame) and the Bushtracker 2 bits more via HD metal frame...... no ? The latter two both use HD leaf springing as well.
Main street
Click Image to Enlarge
When I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right ! .... the "house" left ? - main corner, main street, Windorah QLD - priceless!
Member: My Profile
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 269099   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:25

flappa replied:

My Parents 16ft Phoenix is just on 2.5 tonne fully loaded. Their's is pretty speced up though.

I believe the smaller Supreme's , 11, 13 & 14ft vans are under 2.5 loaded depending on options.
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 531931   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:33

Lyndi Lou posted:

Thanks, will check this out too!
Lynda
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 269104   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:41

RedGibber replied:

...and another to look at is the Sunland Longreach. At 18'6" and fully loaded comes in under 2.5t as well.

Red
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 269106   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:47

marcus replied:

Hi Lyndi Lou,
Supreme Getaway make vans with either single axle or tandem which have a good reputation for value and off road toughness.
www.supremecaravans.com.au
Another possibly worth looking at is Compass terrain tamer
www.compasscaravans.com.au
Cheers Mark
Reply 4 of 8
AnswerID: 269123   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 14:31

honestjohn replied:

Lyndi Lou,
how offroad do you mean? we have just bought a new Millard Horizon 19'0' offroad pack, full van i took it to the weighbridge and it came in at 2300kgs fully loaded water and 2 80 watt solar panels 2 105amp deepcycles in boot. we have taken it away a few times already,simplicity suspension no worries on dirt and corrugations(where 90% of people go anyway) just an option to look at anyway,works for us.
honest
Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 269153   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:11

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses replied:

Lyndi Lou, I suggest you look at the Kimberley Karavan as one of your options at the Kimberley site. They will come in close to two tonnes fully laden.
Some think it is an ugly duckling, but it has some endearing features like great diesel hot water, diesel stove and heaps of other special features.

My rig pic has ours behind Moses the Nissan, but the one above is well travelled behind Peter's Disco. There are somewhere near 160 on the road so far.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Adversus solem ne loquitor
Reply 6 of 8
FollowupID: 531990   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:31

Member - Bill F (VIC) posted:

Hi John
long time no see

They want a CARAVAN not a pregnant trailer

BillF
Behind Lake Mountain VIC July 07
Click Image to Enlarge
Fay'd away from the crowd
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 532046   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:41

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses posted:

hahhahaha Bill, I know you just want to hear Bonz on the UHF again saying"all I can see in my mirror is a swaying block of flats" with Fay'd Away immediatly behind him.

I always look out for that unmistakeable outfit mate, but not seen you since. Best wishes to Pauline too.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 533013   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 17:33

Lyndi Lou posted:

Hi John,

Love the Kimberly Karavan but have to sleep three adults & think it's a bit of a squash. Thanks anyway.

Lyndi Lou
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 269174   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:31

jdwynn (SA) replied:

Just out of interest, does anyone know the laden weight of a 16-18' Bushtracker or Kedron?
Wonderful Simpson
Click Image to Enlarge
In the wonderful Simpson

Success is getting what you want. Happiness is liking what you get.
Reply 7 of 8
FollowupID: 532107   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:01

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses posted:

Willie was talking 3.5T two-three weeks ago for his and he was adding to it the diesel hot water systems that the Karavan have so there will be quite a few kgs added.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 532135   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:00

MEMBER - Darian (SA) posted:

My Trakmaster brochure states 1960kg (approximately) for an unladen 18' Nullabor. A few options would easily add 200kg or so to that - then add the load for the road - from what others have said here and eslewhere, these figures might be "unhelpfully optimistic" on the part of the builders.
Main street
Click Image to Enlarge
When I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right ! .... the "house" left ? - main corner, main street, Windorah QLD - priceless!
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 532226   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:28

Members - Bow posted:

My 18ft Bushtracker weighs 2400kg including Solar and extra water tanks

Click Image to Enlarge
Gone fishing
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 269209   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 21:40

Keith_A (Qld) replied:

Hi Lindi - Our 19ft Supreme Getaway (poptop) is 2.3 fully loaded.
Tows behind the 4.2 Patrol, and we get about 17 ltr/100 Klms.
Prior to this, we owned a Coromal Corvair offroad - 1.6t fully loaded.

Both very capable (poptop) vans, and well appointed....Keith
Reply 8 of 8

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
WAECO, part of the International Dometic Group, is renowned around the globe as a progressive company with innovative products of high quality and reliability. In Australia, WAECO has made a name for itself in the Outdoor Lifestyle Industry, supplying mobile refrigeration and technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
Evakool Evakool Premium Listing
Australia's largest manufacturer of 12v/24v portable refrigerators and iceboxes. Made in Australia for Australian conditions. Using Evakool's renowned fibreglass insulated ice box as the basis for the fridge coupled with the worlds best compressor (Danfoss), these units offer the serious off-road traveller WORLDS BEST technology and performance at a great price.
16 ENTERPRISE STREET  CALOUNDRA, QLD, 4551
Phone: (07) 5492 7777
More info | Website | Driving Directions