Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Normanton to Coen via Kowanyama Feedback

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 23:00

Mark99

Article Overview - Normanton to Coen via Kowanyama
This trek traverses through the beautiful Gulf Savannah region which extends from the Great Dividing Range in the east to the Northern Territory border in the west. View Full Article...
Drove this route regularly for work, one rough trip took 11 hours from Pormpuraaw to Kowanyama. Need to check with Kowanyama Land Office of Pormpuraaw Council on conditions
ThreadID: 52248 Replies: 1
Views: 696 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 275066   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 08:28

Rosco - Qld replied:

G'day Mark

It's still rough and slow. I went through there late August. The Mitchell is OK for depth but the sand can be a bit tricky. Had to drop pressure to drag the CT through.

Reply 1 of 1
FollowupID: 538749   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 09:06

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

Yeh, and some of those cattle grids are a bit tricky too!

I also liked the way the track would fork-out into about 12 different tracks at various times. Trying to pick the "best" one to take was a bit of a lottery, but they all seem to converge back together eventually.

(we did it in 2004, heading in a southerly direction)

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 538752   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 09:15

Rosco - Qld posted:

The grids were something heh? I reckon they were designed by Evil Kanevil (spell?)

And the way the track diverged like the fingers of your hand. Amazing how the only time you came across a road sign was when there was actually somewhere else to go.
FollowUp 2 of 2

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website