Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

walkers crossing

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 04, 2003 at 20:51

alex

Can I tow my jayco off road camper along the walkers crossing track, public access route 16. What condition is this track in ? Any information will be appreiciated. cheers.......
ThreadID: 5289 Replies: 6
Views: 325 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 21871   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 04, 2003 at 20:56

Ruth replied:

The Walkers Crossing Track is in very good condition at the moment, well-marked, which means that no-one has "lifted" the markers for souvenirs, as yet! Yes, you can tow your off-road trailer carefully across there. Happy & safe travelling.
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 14322   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 05, 2003 at 10:08

Member - Mal posted:

Ruth,
Are you still at Birdsville or have you moved East?
Mal T.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 21909   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 05, 2003 at 12:05

Ruth replied:

Still here Mal, they haven't managed to run me out of town yet - only 4 - 10 years to go! Left your card east. Going that way about 6 october as sparky will wire the shed and we begin the house, hopefully. Be east for a couple of months. Ring me.
has anyone seen Happy Trails Mike - just want to thank him for the Anniversary Dinner we are having on 14 June at the Birdsville Pub (only 6 years of wedded bliss and it feels like 60). Weather is great out here - just geting cooler now so the flies will buzz off. Desert good - soft and sandy. Fishing has been excellent - going to be better at Diamantina Lakes when the water goes down and we can get in again.
Plenty of camels down the K1 and even brumbies and foals also.
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 14355   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 05, 2003 at 16:01

Member - Bob posted:

I agree with you about the flies Ruth. They were shocking at Easter (not just Birdsville). Everyone looking like a dork with those big $8 fly nets. I bought a set of tyres at one of the garages - are you associated with any of the businesses there?
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 21930   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 05, 2003 at 16:16

Ruth replied:

Hi Bob, from one dork to another! Even I wore a fly net this year. Noticed a number of visitng dogs who wore them as well. Yes I am connected to a business here but I don't sell $8 fly nets!! The visitors were telling me that in a town well east of here the price went up to $15 for a fly net. Other visitors have reported their fly nets being stolen from their hats. The pesky little things did not appear until nearly 10:00 a.m. today - was little too cool and tomorrow should be cooler.
Safe travels.
Reply 3 of 6
FollowupID: 14418   Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2003 at 12:20

Member - Bob posted:

We found the fly nets could be left on most of the time but consuming anything other than clear liquids leaves an unsightly residue in the netting.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 21978   Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2003 at 10:43

Mike replied:

Hi Ruth, glad to hear from you. So happy you are going to enjoy a night out, if the folk here knew what you did for us, I'm sure they would agree that it was precious little reward. Once again thank you for your hospitality last trip, I'm still trying to fit in another trip up there.

Happy trails, Mike.
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 14410   Submitted: Friday, Jun 06, 2003 at 10:44

Mike posted:

Oh! BTW, happy anniversary.

Happy trails, Mike.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
BBQ Charcoal Cooking Class-Sydney BBQ Charcoal Cooking Class-Sydney
Sydney - NSW
Do you fancy yourself cooking steaks and roasts on the BBQ?
Hospitality Cooking Classes - Sydney Hospitality Cooking Classes - Sydney
Sydney - NSW
This is the closest you can come to receiving "chef" training without booking yourself int
Lotus Exige Hot Laps Lotus Exige Hot Laps
Brisbane - QLD
Lotus are renowned for building some of the best handling cars in the world, strap into the passenge
V8 Rally Taster - VIC V8 Rally Taster - VIC
Melbourne - VIC
A bit like a wine tasting in concept!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 22042   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 07, 2003 at 17:39

Ruth replied:

Thank you so much Mike. Have been wondering where you were and if you had been having happy trails. I can't find your details in my black book - must have left them east with Member Mal's. In case we ran away from here and went south for a few days look at something other than Desert. Went to check Big Red today because there had been a number of complaints about being unable to get over any part of it. Well, well it was not easy but I had some fun - not my car but a Nissan Navarra ute, gee they bounce. The western side of "little" red (where the road goes - I use road lightly) has the main dune and a secondary dune with a dog leg. People insist on travelling the Desert without reducing their tyre pressure so cannot get over "little" red, "big" red, chicken run or another one they aren't supposed to know about. One fellow who has written letters of complaint refused to change his tyre pressure lower than 29 psi for the whole of the Desert, when he finally got here had some tyres fixed and then pumped all road tyres to 60 psi to hit the dirt home in his Toyota. Can you believe it? Yes I can. I had several conversations with him - I tried to. Needless to say, the approaches are really rough and cut up but people still think they need speed. There were a number of very fizzy stubbies on the western side just left there. Esky lids, sunglasses as well.
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 22100   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 23:43

Jurgen replied:

Walkers Crossing track. I've just been on it following a trip across the Simpson. The Walkers crossing track on 30/5/03 was in very good condition. No problems with a camper trailer.
Reply 6 of 6

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website