200 cruiser wagon

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:49
ThreadID: 53010 Views:4421 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
A question to you lucky buggers who have one of these, can the second and third row seats be removed, including the stubs that the back ones attatch to?. Are there any other issues worth considering, we tow a Phoenix and have two 40lt. Engel fridges which we put in the back of the current 100 series, along with a 8hp. outboard and the various other items that you carry (recovery gear, tools etc).Just want to arm myself with some knowledge before approching the local dealer.
Cheers, Nev.

Reply By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:04

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:04
Not sure about the 2nd row, but the 3rd row can be removed. Not as easily as the 100 series but it takes about 20 mins to do. You will be left with holes in the carpet where the bolts were.

The dealer will probably tell you they are not removable.
AnswerID: 279208

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:10

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:10
I DON'T have one. The seats are removable, but I was informed not quite as easily as a 100 Series.

You should have already, the knowledge of the 100 Series

Items to consider
- the lack of long range tanks on anything above the GXL.
- Only the GXL petrol has the KDSS suspension
- weight capacity of the range, most likely reason why no long range tanks - GVM easily exceeded
AnswerID: 279210

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:21

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:21
slight corrections if I may.

Items to consider
- the lack of long range tanks on anything above the GXL.
There are long range tanks on all versions except VX diesel and Sahara diesel ( Petrol has them on all specs)

- Only the GXL petrol has the KDSS suspension
All have KDSS as standard, except the GXL diesel where it is an option.

- weight capacity of the range, most likely reason why no long range tanks - GVM easily exceeded
This is a real furfy, see previous posts. Carrying capacity is higher than GU Patrol and similar to 100 series ( they are all pretty low - 500 to 600Kg). Diesel Sahara and VX were close to GVM limit so Toyota deleted the second tank. ANY Nissan GU or 100 series with a bull bar, winch, roof rack loaded, passengers and load of fuel is near or OVER the legal limit. If this stops you go look at your current vehicle's Kerb weight and GVM. You may get a big shock.
FollowupID: 543394

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 20:45

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 20:45
Bobook, thanks for the change in perspective. I missed a word in one place but had understood that the petrols had the smaller capacity fuel tanks too.

- "Only the GXL petrol has the KDSS suspension" should have been "In only the GXL, petrol has the KDSS suspension."

I wonder why you say it is only a Furphy Boobook, as Toyota have excluded the long range tank in what would normally be the long range tourer? They have stuffed the formula.

I am aware of mass issues in vehicles mate, having challenged a Nissan for some years with firstly a tray to remove, than boost the capacities.

It is good to take out the 3rd row seats with Landcruisers as when you put them up high in storage, you realise the weight.
FollowupID: 543401

Follow Up By: Pavo - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 20:49

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 20:49
It's not a furfy - the GVM can easily be exceeded. Just because the GU Patrol has less load capacity than the 200 series doesn't mean anything.

A Prado and Discovery 3 can carry more realistic weights. Which is interesting given Toyota's claim of "Earth's Greatest 4WD" for the 200 series. Seriously. It says so on their website.

All jokes aside, if a Hilux and Prado can be engineered to carry a little more, why couldn't the 200 series?

Pete
FollowupID: 543601

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:42

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:42
Nev

I've had two 120 Prado's, and the first thing that comes out of the car are the back seats.

It's takes about 20 minutes and is very simple. I can't see the 200 being any different.

If your carrying two frig's in the back, there is a new slide that drops down to provide easy access to the contents.

Kim

Kim
AnswerID: 279239

Reply By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:42

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:42
The major concerns I had /have are

1)The departure angle sucks. 20 degrees. The upside is that the tow bar is in the bumper and doesn't affect the departure angle like normal. I think the equiv of a 100 series with a tow bar is 23 degrees. I hope this is addressed by a rear bar. ( at least the scrapes wont be as bad).

2)Wheels are 17" with 285/65R17 tyres. ( about 31.5"). Availability of 17" tyres is still not great. Also the clearances will be tight for a 33" tyre. I think it will need diferent offset rims for 33" plus a bit of cutting on the front mudflap.

3)6th gear, looks like it cuts in at 110 - 120kph!!!!

Apart from that $$$ of course.

Otherwise the diesel is sooo sweet. You cant tell it is a diesel and it is quicker that the 100 series. Overtaking is a real pleasure, pity it only lasts a few seconds.

It is very very quite. Wheels said the diesel was the quietest vehicle of any they tested, at any price for car of the year.
AnswerID: 279258

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:24

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:24
According to "Ask Smithy" in the Carsguide (Herald Sun on 28th December) the V8 Diesel doesn't change into 6th gear until 130km/h. The reader asked the question and Smithy obtained/confirmed this info from Toyota.

Assuming that's true, the 200 series is clearly not designed for AU, only the German Autobahns. What's the use of a 6 speed box if you will NEVER use 6th gear?

Putting 33" tyres on will change that a bit, it won't go into 6th until 140km/h.........and 5th might just switch in at 110, giving you a 4 speed gearbox effectively. So you'll never lock up the converter unless it is programmed to do so in 4th gear.....

FollowupID: 543420

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 00:17

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 00:17
Next time I've got mine out on the open road I'll check that out using the tiptronic selector as well.

Will advise.

FollowupID: 543439

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 22:10
My 200 changes into 6th gear at 100km/h on flat ground.
FollowupID: 543625

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 07:25

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 07:25
I called Toyota about this and the response was basically that there are 2 overdrives (5th and 6th), both with lock up for economy.

It will change to 6th at speeds of 100kmph to 130kph or more depending on the driving history and conditions. The adaptive AI auto learns the driving patern and adapts for maximum efficiency. 6th will generally come in below 110 kmph allowing most freeway runs to be at 6th.

In a nutshell I guess what they said was 6th definitely won't come in below 100kph, but 130kph is high.

The Ask Smithy letter and a similar one in 4x4 both look like they were test drives. If so they probably had been driven hard, (I know I do on a test drive) and the Auto adjusts accordingly. Gregs is his so he drives it normally so it changes at a lower speed. It would be interesting to see if this hold up with other owners.

FollowupID: 543651

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 09:35

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 09:35
Since it appears to be correct that the change into 6th is at a stupid speed even for a transmission that has learned for a "lazy" driving style, this raises another question - I'm not sure if this is correct, but an auto will not lock up the torque convertor at the same time as the gear change. If you are lucky and your change is at 100, when does the convertor lock? Would you be better off if it stayed in 5th locked up or in 6th hunting? The slightest throttle pressure or road incline would cause it to hunt in and out of lockup.

A pity for those whose driving style (ie who use the grunt of the engine for pleasure) means they only really have a 4 speed box - ie, adaptive learning sees 6th at 130 which would probably mean 5th at 110 and no lock-up.

Can someone advise what engine revs they are seeing at 100ks - the "ask Smithy" article said it was revving like a 4cyl at 100ks but did not specify what that was.

FollowupID: 543665

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 13:27

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 13:27
From memory 100k = 1700 RPM
120k= 2000 RPM
The slightest throttle pressure or road incline does not cause it to hunt. No matter how hard you drive it sits between 1600 RPM and 2500 RPM unless you press the Auto power switch.
FollowupID: 543711

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 16:20

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 16:20
Greg, that's what one would expect to see for a vehicle with lots of torque at low rpm. Based on the fuel economy you are getting, it sounds as if everything is running nicely locked up in 6th at 100k.

So that raises a new question - how come yours works "properly", and other people say theirs doesn't, and those reports are confirmed correct by Toyota?

FollowupID: 543739

Reply By: sjp - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 20:17

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 20:17
hows the front diff,is it the same as the 100 series
AnswerID: 279270

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:23

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:23
Lets hope not, the weak diff has been a major problem in the 100 series. Lets also hope they have put a less flexible fan behind the radiator, another major problem up here. I will be very iterested to get fuel consumption reports from you guys when fully loaded and cruising at hiway speeds. We have seen scarey fuel consumption figures up here. As bad or worse than v8 petrols. Maintenance costs, parts, insurance, load capacity and rego are a worry too. Toyota begun testing this motor in Australia nearly ten years ago in that time technology has well and truely passed them by, some of the smaller lighter hi tech motors have nearly as much power and torque yet are far more economical. I hope this motor doesn't turn into a major lemon for Toyota. I certainly won't be rushing out to buy one from what I have seen so far. Cheers Rob Berrill.
FollowupID: 543428

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 06:26

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 06:26
The front diff is different and bigger, the rear diff is exactly the same as a 100.
FollowupID: 543442

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 22:16
Brisbane to Sydney returned 9.8L per 100k. No load, two up with luggage
FollowupID: 543628

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 01:27

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 01:27
I reckon Toyota have probably followed the same testing regime since the Snowy Mountain Scheme and none of their Cruiser engines has been a lemon yet.

How can rego be a worry to the 200 series and, by your implication, not a worry to other vehicles of similar specs?

Maintenance costs: Toyota have introduced a standard service cost so every purchaser knows before signing what those costs will be.

Rob, with all due respect your post is one big furphy.

FollowupID: 543645

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 22:47

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 22:47
Toyota are pretty good at hushing things up, they had lots of trouble with bearings in the 1hdt motors as we all know. They had so little confidence in their turbo motors the 100 series was released for over 3 years before the factory turbo was finally released. On Cape York diff and radiator problems are par for the course. My reference to rego was that v8 insurance is more expensive than for a hi tech v6 that puts out nearly as much power and torque and is lighter and far more economical. Insurance, have you looked at your insurance premium for a twin turbo v8? Do you have kids under 25, have you checked out the excess if they come to pick you up from the pub after you have had 1 drink to many and they happen to have an accident. You are aware you have 8 injectors that are not serviceable and cost nearly $1000 per. Another example of how out of touch they are, fold up rear seats, even the Discovery came up with realistic seating for 7 full size adults and make them lay flat out of the way. I have been driving Toyotas for over 35 years now but have always been realistic about their abilities. Like I said I will sit back and wait and see. I personally am very disappointed in the 200, Toyota really had an opportunity to set a real bench mark specially in the interior seating requirements. This could be a golden opportunity for Nissan to come out with a well thought out practical interior layout and a powerful hitec economical motor.
FollowupID: 543805

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:14

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:14
Rob, you seem to post a lot of hypertheticals and fud. If you don't like the 200 that's ok and your opinion, but..

The V8 is not in any way related mechanically to the 1HT so it doesn't really make sense to compare it. But your point of course is that Toyota didn't release the turbo because of reliability. EXACTLY..... They released it when they were happy with a turbo design so whats your point re the V8 reliability? Based on your example it would not be released if it was unreliable.

Re the insurance. Have YOU looked at the Insurance Premium. I got a Quote ( GIO) for $720.00 for a TD Sahara worth $113k. $110.00 cheaper than my V6 Pajero worth $32K ( same company, address etc). RE the excess, for kids, this applies to ALL vehicles.

Re the seats, yes one way to store the seats in like the LR. Nice, however I would rather store them in the Garage and use the extra space for stuff so it doens't worry me.

Did you get a quote from Toyota re the injectors, or is the $1000 from a forum a few days ago ( which wasn't even for a Toyota)? I would be interested to hear where you got this figure. ( BTW all scheduled services are $175 for the warrantly period inc parts, oil and labour).

There are some legit issues ( for me ) with the 200 but please get your facts right.

FollowupID: 543839

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:58

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 20:58
I think we are missing each others intentions a bit here. I am criticizing Toyota for not doing as much as they could have or should have on a brand new model. I am not having a go at you personally for spending $113,000 that is your privilege. Relax and enjoy your car
I can certainly see why you are so defensive after spending such an amount. All the best Rob
FollowupID: 543994

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:29

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 21:29
Fine to criticize, however where do you get your information. It seems to be "inflated"

For example where did you get that Injectors were $1000 ea and non serviceable. ( second request)

Did, I say I spent $113k? Didn't think I said that. Oh Perhaps you just had *another* reliable quote.
FollowupID: 544000

Reply By: Member - Terry D (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 22:33

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 22:33
Neville G et al
A relevant issue - I recently heard - that removing 2nd row seats is not legal. Something to do with compliance? Whilst a vehicle might be registered to carry X people, I don't see what safety standard would be at risk by removing a seat (unless people were sitting on the floor)? I was told that a policeman in NQ pulled someone over and issued a defect notice or an order not to drive it as the 2nd seat had been removed - fact of fiction?
TD
AnswerID: 279634

Reply By: Member - neville G (QLD) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:28

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:28
Thanks for all the information, had a quick look at one yesterday while the 100 was in for service. Apart from the purchase price there are quite a few other issues which will cost,new bull bar, boat loader etc. as none of these extras change over. They have deleted the overhead "filing cabinet" which we use and it looks as though the three sockets for van and trailer will be a challenge to fit, we have the large ?pin socket as well as a small one for box trailer and the Anderson socket. Much further investigation required.
Cheers, Nev.
AnswerID: 279681