Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

I am Back Online :))

Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 19:53

Kev & Darkie

After about 7 weeks of living with the "Outlaws" we have finally arrived in Calliope.
We actually arrived last week but had to return to Cockroach land to pick the 2 kids up (we left them there while the furniture was delivered).

So far the area is fabulous, the Diggers Arms pub will more than likely become a 2nd home (Sam has been offered a job there already).
I intend to do a day trip out to Springsure soon to meet Dave AKA "Tourboy". I met Nev G yesterday (he runs a Jewlery store in Gladstone).

I have already scored a Barra fishing charter at Lake Awoonga for a very good price :) a full day for less than the usual half day rate. Also have a neighbour that has a boat and trailer but no vehicle to tow it must see what he is up to next weekend :))

I finally found the computer in the packing boxes this morning and set it up as I was getting withdrawals from EO LOL

If anyone is travelling through the Calliope/Gladstone area let me know so we can meet up.

PS
Due to John R and Lyn nagging I am still trying to work out where we can go for a QLD Gathering LOL
When I work it out I'll allow a few months so you can organise yourselves to get up here.
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Advertisement
ThreadID: 54129 Replies: 7
Views: 1834 FollowUps: 12
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 284994   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 19:57

Wayne (NSW) replied:

Kev,

Good to have you back on line again.

Canning Stock Route 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

VKS Mobile 2292
Reply 1 of 7
FollowupID: 549789   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:07

Kev & Darkie posted:

Wayne,

I don't think I missed much, just the Wild rivers trip LOL

Kiwi, Lyn and Doug have been in touch regularly so there was not much chance of missing much.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 284995   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 19:59

Member - Tour Boy (springsure replied:

woo hoo. The fish are going ballistic running up the creeks here at the moment. Saw a barra jump over a causeway on the Tambo rd on Tuesday heading upstream.

Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 549788   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:05

Kev & Darkie posted:

Dave,

They are reportedly pulling 1m + Barra out of the Lake regularly ATM

Will organise a trip out there soon, probably after I start work.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 549795   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:17

Member - Tour Boy (springsure posted:

no worries mate I still have to find a guaranteed barra spot in the bush with out getting lead poisoning..LOL
Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 285017   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:05

Willem replied:

Yeah...your girlfriend was quite worried about you....lol

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 549816   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:16

Kev & Darkie posted:

So I noticed, she was worried that I didn't post a funny this week LOL

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 549882   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 10:19

Kiwi & "Mahindra" posted:

seeing that my "boyfriend" was with another woman (aka his wife...and I know how crazy that sounds)...I had to pay him out!!!! ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you were missed kev!!lol
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
'Why be difficult when with a little extra effort you can be bloody impossible'
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 549904   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 11:56

Kev & Darkie posted:

It's OK Kiwi,

Your only Human after all LOL

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 549905   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 11:58

I am???? !!!!
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 285019   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:28

Trevor R (QLD) replied:

Yeah allright, I'll probably beat you to your place rather than you to my place (if that makes sense LOL). See you on my next trip.

Curtis Island. Ideal spot if you can organise it with the property owner over there, George was his name many years ago on a property called Monte Cristo or Monte Christo ??? something like this. Need the local barge to drop you there and real 4wd to get right up the island to some untouched beachfront camping, we used to do it in a very well setup beach buggy but plenty of pushing at times hehehe.

I will drop you a line one day soon.
Regards, Trevor.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
Reply 4 of 7
FollowupID: 549853   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 06:22

Kev & Darkie posted:

Trevor,

We were in Brisbane about midnight on Tuesday night, got up here at 6am LOL

I actually scored the fishing charter through Steve a previous Curtis Island caretaker??

Once I get settled in I'll see what dates suit and organise a Gathering.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
2 Hour Helicopter Adventure - Whitsunday Unlimited 2 Hour Helicopter Adventure - Whitsunday Unli
The Whitsundays - QLD
Be left breathless as your panoramic flight takes you over all the high spots in and around the beau
Beer & BBQ Cooking Class - Sydney Beer & BBQ Cooking Class - Sydney
Sydney - NSW
If you enjoy Great Boutique Beers & a Hearty Gourmet BBQ then this is the class for you!
Hot Stone Massage & Facial - 2 Hours Hot Stone Massage & Facial - 2 Hours
Sydney - NSW
Experience a hot stone massage therapy and feel completely relaxed in your mind, body and spirit.
Sydney Classic Cycle Tour Sydney Classic Cycle Tour
Sydney - NSW
We provide fun, entertaining guided bicycle tours of Sydney to international and domestic visitors.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 285028   Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:45

Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD replied:

Kev

In your backyard you have Kroombit Tops and in there is the bomber wreck "betsy". Easy and interesting day drive from Calliope

Upgraded camper trailer
Click Image to Enlarge
Just passing through
Reply 5 of 7
FollowupID: 549854   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 06:24

Kev & Darkie posted:

Thanks Alan,

It seems I have a lot of exploring to do in my weekends off :))

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 285064   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 07:15

Al & Mrs Al - Al & Lyn, Romsey replied:

OY!....are you accusing me of Nagging?..LOL..

glad to see you're online again...

Lyn

Click Image to Enlarge
"Life isn't measured by the breaths you take but by the things that take your breath away"

Reply 6 of 7
FollowupID: 549861   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 07:39

Kev & Darkie posted:

Got it in one Lyn LOL

Darkie should become a Queenslander this time next week all going well. May just need to get a mod plate fitted.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 549884   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 10:22

you got numbers first up there in toadland hey???

647kie

001drk

007kev

007sam

iri78d

001wik
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 549906   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 12:00

Kev & Darkie posted:

Kiwi,

Only if you want a cheap number plate.

DARKIE has been taken but D4RKIE isn't, the only problem ATM is the cost ($2295) I may have to save up for that one :)
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 285274   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 09:31

Bros 1 replied:

Kev,
Welcome to the local area.
Bros.

Click Image to Enlarge
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website