Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Missan X Trail Auto

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 19:49

Kev & Darkie

SWMBO X Trail has started to become very abrupt in changing up from 1st to 2nd no matter what RPM you are doing.
Is it possible that the transmission fluid is in need of a change and if so which one should I use??
It wasn't doing it from memory when we lived in cockroach land so would the increase in ambient temp cause the problem.

It is an 04 Ti model in marvellous Queensland Maroon colour :))

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Advertisement
ThreadID: 54159 Replies: 5
Views: 872 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 285203   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 20:03

TD100 replied:

Hey Kev,

i wouldnt think the trans fluid would be that buggered in an 04 model vehicle.most trans services have 80k intervals(80k,160k,240k etc)and even 150k intervals.i think the auto in SWMBO adventra is 150k.my cruiser is 80k.how many Ks has the "Z"trail done?unless it has a problem which is possible cos its a Missan LOL.you can try a service on it and see what happens.as for fluid type it should be on the sump plug,dipstick or in service manual,could be DXIII or DXIV.cheers Paul
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 550026   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 20:12

Member - Fred G (NSW) posted:

Only there five minutes and canetoads are your new second best friends....your loyalty to the cockaroaches is underwhelming...:-(((
Maybe it just wants to come home....:-)))

Click Image to Enlarge
See Australia First.
FollowUp 1 of 8
FollowupID: 550064   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 06:39

Kev & Darkie posted:

Fred,

I will never be a cockroach fan, Once a Queenslander always a Queenslander :))

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 8
FollowupID: 550138   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 11:58

Gramps (NSW) posted:

"Once a Queenslander always a Queenslander"

Thank God for that. Stay up there in the shallow end of the gene pool.

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 3 of 8
FollowupID: 550141   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:05

Kev & Darkie posted:

That's enough out of you Gramps LOL
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 8
FollowupID: 550146   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:13

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Hahahahaha glad it's all going well up there

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 5 of 8
FollowupID: 550148   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:16

Kev & Darkie posted:

The only problem I have now is owning a Missan ha ha ha
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 6 of 8
FollowupID: 550298   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:59

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath posted:

Just buy her a 200 Series, don't short change Sam
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
FollowUp 7 of 8
FollowupID: 550304   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 20:11

Kev & Darkie posted:

I was thinking of a 120 for Sam and not a 200, if I get a 200 Al will have to design a gig for the chop ;))

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 8 of 8
AnswerID: 285218   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 20:43

Willem replied:

Methinks its running too hot in Sunny Queensland, Sonny..lol

Probably needs the filter changed in the gearbox.

Our 2003 base model runs sweetly

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 285223   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:17

Member - Axle replied:

So it appears the cockroach land is going to be less hassle with vechiles than the turbilant north ...lol, Just change the oil and clean the filter, if that dont work chuck the job in and return to the land of cockroaches!!, hahaha.

Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 550063   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 06:38

Kev & Darkie posted:

If that doesn't work I'll sell the Missan and Buy another TOYOTA, then it's a win-win situation

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 285260   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 08:43

Member - Tour Boy (springsure replied:

Hi Kev,
The Corolla started to get a bit grumpy once we got up here as well.
I disconnected the battery, then turned the ignition on to remove any power left in the system. Then I got a piece of wire to bridge the + and - terminals. This resets the computer and then re-connected the battery and presto sweet as.

A mechanic mate of mine told me to do this when ever a modern computerised vehicle starts playing up. It works well on common rail diesels when the fuel isn't of a great quality (woollies)
and the computer will then allow the vehicle to run as well on crappy fuel as good stuff.

Give it a try costs nothing and it sometimes works also when you think your injectors need doing (electronic injectors).

Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Millionaires Walk for 2 Millionaires Walk for 2
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Take an exhilarating walk from Sorrento to the stunning cliff top'Millionaires Walk' with experience
The Great Australian Bush Ride in Perth Hills The Great Australian Bush Ride in Perth Hills
Perth - WA
Enjoy the tranquility of the Perth Hills exploring the heritage bridle trails on horseback.
Shiatsu Massage - One Hour Shiatsu Massage - One Hour
Sydney - NSW
Shiatsu is based on traditional Chinese medicine and works along the meridians (energy pathways) of
Super Premium Tour at Penfolds Magill Estate Super Premium Tour at Penfolds Magill Estate
Adelaide - SA
Tour the historic winery of Penfolds Magill Estate before being led by your Penfolds Wine Educator t
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 285318   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 11:50

Member - Phil G (SA) replied:

Gday Kev,
I'd also be surprised if the fluid is the problem. But if you replace it, just go down to Nisssan and buy some. Its well priced and they will give you the right stuff - auto transmission fluids have got too complicated on the new vehicles - theres a million sorts to choose from these days.

Does it do it in both in and out of overdrive??
Mt Finke
Click Image to Enlarge
LandCruiser HDJ79
Reply 5 of 5
FollowupID: 550142   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:07

Kev & Darkie posted:

Haven't tried it out of OD yet, I'll take it for a spin this arvo and find out.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions