AnswerID: 285354 Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 14:01
replied:
Hi Chris
When re-fuelling and if needing water, we ask if we can fill up our water tanks and check out the hose fittings first. If necessary we will move on to a dearer servo so we can get water.
Some towns have a watering point for tourists.
If in remote and arid areas, i would not object to having to pay for water.
As water quality in different towns varies, we have a separate drinking
water tank to use only if the refills taste bad. That way it usually lasts a long time.
The worst water we got was in
Murray Bridge SA - horrible even in a cup of tea. Best was rain water from an EO member's tank. Second best was from a small river on a farm in Tassie where we stayed. They pumped from it for stock water and we kept our tanks topped up - clear and just like rain water.
Our travels have not as yet taken us into areas where we may need other sources of water. Some caravaners travel with a water bladder or pump and filters for refilling from wells or streams.
We also carry 20 litre cannisters of drinking in the tow vehicle.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| Home to reality - The dream trip is over |
Reply 4 of 15
FollowupID: 550346 Submitted:
Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:48
Willem posted:
Hi Motherhen
>The worst water we got was in
Murray Bridge SA<
Hahahahahaha!!!!
I was about to fill my plastic jerry from a tap in a park when a 'local' shouted at me "Hey Cuz, that water is S...... cos it comes straight out the river. Go down the laneway next to the NAB and behind the bank there is a rainwater tank, That be plurry good water, mate!"
Talk to the locals... you might just learn something....lol
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| Willem
There is more than one way to get a rabbit
|
FollowUp 1 of 3